We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family get-together” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Drury Inn & Suites Happy Valley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Drury Inn & Suites Happy Valley to your Saves list
Drury Inn & Suites Happy Valley
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2335 W Pinnacle Peak Rd, Phoenix, AZ 85027 (Formerly Drury Inn & Suites Pinnacle Peak) (Deer Valley)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Albuquerque
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Family get-together”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We needed a hotel for family to gather for a benefit golf tournament for the Arizona Transplant House associated with the Mayo Clinic. The price was right and the 5:30 Kickback with free drinks and food was perfect for our family to visit before going out to dinner. The hot breakfast the next day was extensive. After the golf tournament, several folks enjoyed the pool. The rooms are extremely comfortable with good beds, microwave and refrigerator. This hotel provides a lot of value for the price! The free popcorn in the lobby is a nice treat after a long day's drive and it was easy to find. Nearby is a large outdoor mall with lots of dining options.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    55
    12
    4
    6
See reviews for
85
73
11
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed two nights at this hotel prior to going from the airport to Sedona. We liked the room. The bed was fairly comfortable. There was a travel soccer team in the hotel during our stay. They were loud in the halls, and we could hear them, especially in the morning, but you could not hear others in the adjacent rooms. Soundproofing room-to-room, good, but space around exterior door allows noise in. The hotel seems well maintained. Freebie happy hour with alcoholic beverages and junk-food-type snacks. Breakfast includes a belgium waffle maker. Not too many options on either end for gluten-sensitive folk. Considering the food we got here, the price of the room was very economical.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights during Spring Training and had an "oversized" 2-queen suite with separate living area with sofa sleeper. The 5:30 Kickback® (with complimentary food and drinks) is a pleasant bonus!

Located in the northernmost part of Phoenix. Neighborhood area is suburban, new, clean, and spacious. However, there is a juvenile corrections facility located just on the other side of the freeway (but this did not cause me any concern). Very easy access from freeway (I-17); somewhat difficult egress during rush hour to access I-17 (making a left turn across traffic), but there are wide-open surface streets for easy alternate routes.

Just about 1 mile away from new shopping plazas with Wal-Mart, Buffalo Wild Wings, Pita Jungle, Coldwater Creek, Lowe's, Olive Garden, Barnes & Noble, TGI Friday's, Sport Chalet, Dick's, PF Chang's, Chipotle, Best Buy, and many more shops and eateries.

All staff members were friendly, helpful, and professional.

Plenty of hotel parking. Hotel is 7 stories high.

Large lobby area, pleasant and comfortable. Seating area with two couches, four chairs, large ottomans, and a fireplace. Large breakfast and snack area with ample seating and TV; coffee and soft drinks available around the clock.

Indoor/outdoor pool with plastic separating the two areas. Hot tub (indoor). Exercise room (which I cannot comment on as I did not use it).

Room 600: Huge two-room suite, two queen beds in bedroom (with door); living room area with sleeper sofa, two club chairs, two side tables, desk and office chair; living room and bedroom both have large flat-screen TVs and large dressers with an abundance of drawers for storage; small closet in bedroom. Beds were very comfortable, although I would've preferred mine to be a tad firmer.

There is only one window in the entire suite and it is located in the far end of the bedroom. This makes the rest of suite pitch black when the door is closed and no lights are on. This design seems odd to me, because the suite is located on the corner of the building.

Kitchen/dining area with mini fridge and microwave, one-cup coffee maker, bar sink, small dining table with 2 chairs. Mini fridge is very small and does not have any controls – it was a little warmer than I would like. If you buy room-temperature drinks, you'd do better with a cooler and ice to get them cold.

A/C in the bedroom did not work well at all. In fact, it felt like it was humidifying the room instead! It ran constantly but never did get the room down to the selected temperature. However, the A/C in the kitchen/dining/living room worked quite well and kept that area very cool.

Bathroom with single sink, shower/tub with curved shower curtain rod and multiple option shower head, and an eco toilet which has two different flushing mechanisms – one for liquid and one for solid – in order to conserve water. Shower has wall-mounted dispensers of shampoo, conditioner, and body wash (brand and type unknown). Shower water pressure was pretty strong.

Downside is that the bathroom door is at the far end of the bedroom, so depending on your travel companions and relationships, it could be awkward for the living room sofa-bed occupant(s) to have to walk all the way through the bedroom in order to use the bathroom.

Housekeeping seemed overworked, but then again, our stay was during spring break and the hotel was fully booked with spring breakers, spring training baseball fans, and numerous youth sports teams in town for tournaments.

Popcorn in lobby every afternoon and evening
- Breakfast every morning 'til 9:30 weekdays and 10:00 weekends: Scrambled eggs, sausage, biscuits & gravy, waffles (make your own), bagels, donuts, muffins, yogurt, cereal, apples & bananas.
- Free drinks every day, 5:30-7 p.m.: Beer, wine, and basic mixed drinks; three per person per day (they do check ID and guest cards); tip the bartenders! Unlimited soft drinks, coffee, tea, milk.
- Snacks/food bar every day 5:30-7 p.m.: Rotating menu including mac & cheese, baked potatoes, hot dogs, chili, tortilla chips, cheese sauce, potato chips, pretzels, mixed greens salad, carrot & celery sticks, ranch & Italian dressing, salsa, chicken wings, vegetable minestrone soup, pasta & marinara sauce, meatballs in marinara sauce, baked potatoes, broccoli cheese soup. Great way to feed the kids for free!

Laundry is a problem. First, there is only one washer and one dryer for the entire hotel, and the laundry room is on the 7th floor. The washer is an “old school” top-loading machine, and when I took my clothes out of the washer, they had soap residue all over them. There was another guest waiting for the washer, and I didn't have more quarters on me, so I was unable to wash them again (which I shouldn't have to do anyway!). Washer costs $1.00, dryer $1.25, and they have a vending machine with powdered detergent, dryer sheets, and color-safe bleach for $1.00 each. The laundry room is open 24/7.

They have a guest “pantry” in the lobby where you can purchase items such as toothbrush, toothpaste, pain medicines, etc., and a few snack items. This is open 24 hours if you need something in the middle of the night, but the prices are excessive ($1.59 for a regular size candy bar, for example).

Overall, a great place to stay, especially for families and groups on vacation or participating in sports. Pet- and kid-friendly!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I've stayed at this particular Drury Inn several times and it is excellent every time. The location is great....close to the 101 and right next to I-17 so easy access to all areas of the Valley. It is close to both the Happy Valley and Norterra shopping plazas. The rooms are spacious and clean and the complimentary, extensive hot breakfast and 5-7 happy hour is a great added bonus. There is a nice pool and work out area as well. Front desk staff is friendly and helpful and you're not paying a fortune. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed here during a trip to Phoenix. This is a great hotel. The hotel location is at Pinnacle Peak Rd. and I-17. The hotel front desk staff were personable and accommodating. We stayed in room 630 which was a large king room with walk-in shower and Jacuzzi tub. We were very satisfied with the room- it was clean, roomy and quiet. The bed was very comfortable and the linens were high quality.
We were particularly impressed with the hotel policy which implements a quiet time beginning at 10:30 pm and the policy which prohibits "partying". This proved to be especially appealing since it was spring break time and there was the potential for rowdy and noisy behavior- there was none.
The hot breakfast was very good- fresh fruit, hot oatmeal, waffles, scrambled eggs, biscuits and gravy juices, milk, breads, etc. This was not your typical hotel breakfast; it was a great start to our day.
The hotel provided free wifi for all guests.
We would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: The rooms at the end of the "T" in the building are secluded and extra quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

What a great option for baseball season during spring break! Very large comfortable rooms with kitchenettes and full living rooms. The hotel offers a full complimentary breakfast and happy hour. Great for all the hungry players! Very friendly and helpful staff.

Room Tip: all seem good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

What a nice hotel, close to the freeway I-17, quiet neighborhood, near stores, gas stations, well, it has everything and the most important is very affordable.
The breakfast was very complete and the personnel very kind all the time.

Room Tip: I'd prefer 3rd or 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Drury Inn & Suites Happy Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites Happy Valley

Address: 2335 W Pinnacle Peak Rd, Phoenix, AZ 85027 (Formerly Drury Inn & Suites Pinnacle Peak)
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Deer Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#17 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#17 Best Value Hotel in Phoenix
#32 Business Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites Happy Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stunning Arizona hotel provides a breathtaking mountain range view, yet is only a short drive from downtown Phoenix. Drury Inn & Suites offers its guests a variety of free extras – take, for example, our free hot breakfast. At Drury, “hot” means scrambled eggs, biscuits & gravy, sausage and make-your-own Belgian waffles. In the evening, join us at our 5:30 Kickback® for free hot food and cold beverages. Our rotating menu features a variety of hot foods, baked potatoes, garden salad, beer, wine, mixed drinks and more! To burn off all of those free extras, Drury has a 24-hour exercise center and a parking lot to jog around. Lastly, Drury’s free wireless Internet and free long distance calls will ensure you can keep tabs on all of your posse back home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Drury Hotels Company, LLC, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites Happy Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn & Suites Pinnacle Peak Hotel Phoenix
Drury Inn And Suites Pinnacle Peak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drury Inn & Suites Happy Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.