We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty sushi and reasonable prices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hana Sushi

Hana Sushi
602 W Union Hills Dr #3, Phoenix, AZ 85027 (Deer Valley)
(623) 869-7455
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #648 of 2,583 Restaurants in Phoenix
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Neighborhood: Deer Valley
Maine
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Tasty sushi and reasonable prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

My impression of Phoenix is that it is one giant mass of urban sprawl. Hana Sushi is a little Japanese restaurant tucked in one of the ubiquitous strip malls. We arrived around 7 pm on a Thursday and the place was almost empty; by the time we left, it was packed. People were coming and going for takeout orders, too. My husband and I started with two appetizers: vegetable tempura and gyoza, then we shared the sushi/sashimi combo platter. I also had a bowl of miso soup (ordered a la carte, not included with the meal). Everything was tasty and the fish was very fresh. One reviewer wrote that you can bring beer or wine and they will open it for you--that has changed. They serve beer, wine, and sake. Wine by the glass only (no bottles) but at $3/glass it was a bargain! Total price for dinner (before tip) was $49 and that included 4 glasses of wine. A good deal and good food. Definitely worth a visit if you are in the northern Phoenix area. Note: they do take credit cards.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    4
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Great Culinary Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

A delightful restaurant with excellent service, superb food and great value. We read the reviews on TripAdvisor and thought we give it a try while we were traveling in the Phoenix area and like it so much we returned a second time. If you like Japanese cuisine you'll enjoy yourself.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Changyeong
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Surprise from a small sushi restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

This little shop was recommended to my father by a friend who served oversees in Asia. We figured he knew his sushi and tried it out. Boy were we amazed!

The restaurant itself is pretty small, but that is usually a plus for me. The menu isn't too different from your normal sushi restaurant. So, what's so appealing?

The fish.

I love sushi and I can positively say the fish served at Hana is of a better quality than your average sushi shop. We ordered a spicy salmon roll. The salmon, which somewhat hides in your normal rolls found elsewhere, practically leaped out of this roll. Its color, its taste, and the quantity within the roll was amazing considering it cost a little over $7! The specialty rolls were also delicious and prepared with care. Nothing felt rushed.

We ate five rolls and two sushi plates (salon on rice and tuna on rice) with drinks and it came to be roughly $45 after tip. We were so pleased we went back the following night :)

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Maybe the best sushi I've ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

If it isn't THE best, it is in the top 5 - and I've eaten sushi everywhere on this side of the world. High quality, personalized service, creative, Japanese Iron Chef-type creative cuisine, great service. They aren't afraid to charge for it, but to me that means they realize the quality. DO stop by your favorite liquor outlet for some beer, wine, sake etc. before you get there. They will provide the glass and opener, but they concentrate on the food - and that's a good thing!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“What a pleasant experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Small, family owned. Excellent friendly service. Fresh and tasty with very reasonable prices. This was our second visit and we look forward to many more.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hana Sushi also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Hana Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hana Sushi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.