We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Scenery, Limited Parking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Phoenix Mountain Preserve

Phoenix Mountain Preserve
Phoenix, AZ (Camelback East)
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 94 Attractions in Phoenix
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Offers more than 23,000 acres crisscrossed with trails.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
66 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Beautiful Scenery, Limited Parking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stopped here to hike before heading to a spring training game. Once we entered the preserve, it was extremely difficult to find a parking space. We had to drive all the way to the back of the preserve to find one. Since we were so far back, we just hiked one of the trails near the parking lot, although we would like to go back and try the summit. The scenery and wild life were beautiful They do a nice job of marking the trails as well. The hikes seem to be a little more strenuous than they appear on the maps, especially if you aren't used to hiking on loose rocks.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    17
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A surprisingly lovely preserve”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

We came here for a morning hike before going to a spring training game. There are many trails to choose from. Since this was our first time here, we decided to hike the closest trail to the parking lot. Since the weather can get up to the high 80's and 90's, it's best to start early. There were many people here at 8am, some with their dogs. It's too bad we only had a few hours to explore the Preserve.
We will be back next year to hike and explore more trails on the Preserve.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotopaxi, Colorado
Top Contributor
382 reviews 382 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
“Mountains in the middle of town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We like this park since it near out house. There are a variety of mountains and trails to hike, Piestewa Peak is a separate entry so check it for more details. Lots of trails and some benches with nice views. Right now there are lots of wildflowers so bring your camera.

Several notes, bring lots of cold water, sturdy boots, sunscreen and a hat. Also remember where you parked in case you need to ask for directions back. Be safe and enjoy.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

In what other major city can you get out of your car and hike paths lined by multiple species of cacti and other desert vegetation? The Preserve is what makes Phoenix unique. It's our Empire State Building, our Golden Gate Bridge and, for you midwesterners, it's our arch on the Mississippi. Go in the spring and see the desert flowers. Go in the winter, and watch the rain stir up the desert. Go in the fall and enjoy the weather. Go in the summer, but go early. If you're not back in the shade before noon, you'll regret it. There are lots of birds, only rare sightings of rattlesnakes and scorpions, an ocassional coyote, and a good number of friendly folks on foot, riding bikes, or on horseback, many of whom will tell you that the Preserve is the recreational hub of the city. I've been here 20 years and the multi-armed saguaros never cease to amaze me.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
109 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“For beginners”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

This is a good place for beginners like me.I consider this place less challenging than piestewa.Dont forget your camera for pictures once You make It To the top u'll have a great view ! Also this place have a variety of ramadas for picnics and a playground.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phoenix Mountain Preserve also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Phoenix Mountain Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phoenix Mountain Preserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.