We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good sushi, fun drinks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moira

Moira
215 E McKinley St, Phoenix, AZ (Central City)
602 254 5085
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #561 of 2,583 Restaurants in Phoenix
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Sushi, Chinese
Neighborhood: Central City
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Central City
portland, OR
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
256 helpful votes 256 helpful votes
“Pretty good sushi, fun drinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The drink menu was interesting, in a good way. Service was good, very quiet when we were there. The avocado salmon app was tasty. The sashimi was good, and presented well. The rolls we had were ok, not great, not as bad as some reviewers indicated. Kinda pricey for good (not great) sushi, but it did have a nice atmosphere and was an easy walk from our hotel.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    7
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Trendy with good veggie sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We had a large group when we visited the restaurant, and the waitress we had did a fantastic job.

It's a small, trendy and hip establishment, seemingly in the middle of nowhere. The restaurant is dim lit, with blue lighting along the bar area.

The drink menu was definitely interesting. There were none of your basic go-to's, and a lot of Japanese inspired drinks, which was fun. The cocktails also had strange infusions, like sweet potato. The beers ranged for the Lucky Buddha (super cool bottle) to sake and sake bombs.

I am nearly a vegetarian, so I ordered the sichuan garlic edamame to start. It was absolutely delicious; the best edamame I have ever had! Be sure to try this!

For the sushi, I split the rainforest (veggie) and the zero sen (veggie) rolls with a friend. Both were delicious.

I would recommend this place to others in the area.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“dry and bland”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

So sad to be disappointed, dinner started with fantastic tea and appetizers. Then the sushi. Cardboard, yes thats what I think of. I am a sushi lover, we tried 4 rolls and found all of them dry to the point I almost couldn't swallow them without a drink.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Their Happy hour is good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Small but trendy sushi place with happy hours Monday through Thursday, 5 to 7pm, with reverse happy hour Friday from 10:30pm till close and Saturday from 9pm till close. It's usually pretty quiet when I go.

I wasn't too impressed by the food (tofu nuggets, edamame gyoza). The udon was standard and the lemon grass dish was pretty good, it can be really spicy though so beware!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
providence
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Excellent sushi in a great space”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Very fresh, tasty, and expertly prepared sushi (maki and nigiri) and sashimi. Menu also offers cooked and grilled foods with a full bar license. As others have mentioned this is kind of a hip, urban room with good background tracks and a colored, smooth-concrete sushi bar. Located in a nondescript office building on E. McKinley, between 2nd and 3rd Sts. downtown. Service was attentive and smooth. Recommended.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moira also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Moira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.