We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy with good veggie sushi”
Review of Moira

215 E McKinley St, Phoenix, AZ (Central City)
602 254 5085
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #542 of 2,535 restaurants in Phoenix
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Sushi, Chinese
Neighborhood: Central City
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Central City
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    4
    6
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Moira
See the most recent reviews
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Trendy with good veggie sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We had a large group when we visited the restaurant, and the waitress we had did a fantastic job.

It's a small, trendy and hip establishment, seemingly in the middle of nowhere. The restaurant is dim lit, with blue lighting along the bar area.

The drink menu was definitely interesting. There were none of your basic go-to's, and a lot of Japanese inspired drinks, which was fun. The cocktails also had strange infusions, like sweet potato. The beers ranged for the Lucky Buddha (super cool bottle) to sake and sake bombs.

I am nearly a vegetarian, so I ordered the sichuan garlic edamame to start. It was absolutely delicious; the best edamame I have ever had! Be sure to try this!

For the sushi, I split the rainforest (veggie) and the zero sen (veggie) rolls with a friend. Both were delicious.

I would recommend this place to others in the area.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“dry and bland”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

So sad to be disappointed, dinner started with fantastic tea and appetizers. Then the sushi. Cardboard, yes thats what I think of. I am a sushi lover, we tried 4 rolls and found all of them dry to the point I almost couldn't swallow them without a drink.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Their Happy hour is good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Small but trendy sushi place with happy hours Monday through Thursday, 5 to 7pm, with reverse happy hour Friday from 10:30pm till close and Saturday from 9pm till close. It's usually pretty quiet when I go.

I wasn't too impressed by the food (tofu nuggets, edamame gyoza). The udon was standard and the lemon grass dish was pretty good, it can be really spicy though so beware!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
providence
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Excellent sushi in a great space”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Very fresh, tasty, and expertly prepared sushi (maki and nigiri) and sashimi. Menu also offers cooked and grilled foods with a full bar license. As others have mentioned this is kind of a hip, urban room with good background tracks and a colored, smooth-concrete sushi bar. Located in a nondescript office building on E. McKinley, between 2nd and 3rd Sts. downtown. Service was attentive and smooth. Recommended.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Inexpensive and delicious sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

Yummy sushi and very inexpensive. Great vibe, cool music. An easy walk from downtown hotels.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moira also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Moira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.