We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gym workout - not a hike” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Piestewa Peak

Piestewa Peak
2701 East Squaw Peak Lane, Phoenix, AZ 85016 (Camelback East)
602 262 7901
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 94 Attractions in Phoenix
Type: Mountains, Hiking Trails, Outdoors
Attraction details
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A gym workout - not a hike”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

I don't get the attraction of Piestewa Peak which is why I am giving this an average score. It is just a mountain and there are so many better places to go in and around the Phoenix area to hike. But Piestewa Peak is not a hike - it is a gym workout. If you want a great "hike" do the circumference trail around the peak instead.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    99
    17
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome morning hike!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

we hiked this peak twice during our stay in Phoenix. The trail does get a bit more strenuous as you get closer to the top but is worth the hike if you can do it!

I am not sure who it is later in the day, but parking is at a premium in the morning as everyone heads here before the Phoenix sun starts warming everything up! Just be patient and you will be award with a parking spot.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Bring your hiking shoes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Well marked hiking trails for all abilities. Make sure you bring lots of water . Parking will probably be an issue on weekends. Breath-taking views of the valley.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Piestewa Peak is a great hike with spectacular views. The trail provides a good workout, with some high stepping required in certain sections. I made it up to the saddle but not the very top of the peak. The view from the saddle was gorgeous!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great hike but limited parking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

This is a very strenuous hike. It took us about an hour to get to the top, and we are in fairly good shape. And it took about 30 minutes to come down. Wear athletic shoes or light hiking shoes. The view is worth it. The hike is misleading because at least 5 times it looks like you are about to reach the top, but you turn a corner and there is another trail winding up ahead of you. Parking is limited and the trail is popular - plan to drive around for a bit to find a space. Carry water. There are bathrooms by the parking lot. Climbers going up have the right of way.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piestewa Peak also viewed

 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Piestewa Peak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piestewa Peak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.