We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, Great building” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hanny's

Hanny's
40 N 1st St, Phoenix, AZ 85004 (Central City)
(602) 252-2285
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #76 of 2,565 restaurants in Phoenix
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Pizza, Eclectic, Bar, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Central City
Buford, Georgia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good food, Great building”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

In town for a conference and a vendor too a few of us out for dinner. This place was recommended and I could not be more pleased with the choice. The descriptions of eclectic and all may not do it justice. This place is a minor fun house shrouded in a department store body that serves food. Confused? No doubt, but I would recommend this place in a heartbeat, maybe faster.

We all ended up having pizzas that came out on a crispy thin crust. Mine was perfect and I can't believe I ate the whole thing. Food excellent.

Now, on to the finer points. This location used to sell clothing and they have artfully converted it into a destination. Look around this place and you will find a few little quirks. There are still signs on the walls indicating designers and such. They have a couple of interesting sculptures of women that can't be missed. They have opened up the freight elevator shaft and put in a glass floor. Test your metal on that! The bathrooms are a house of mirrors just to get too. There is even a small spooky staircase to nowhere at the front.

What a neat place with great food.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    54
    40
    10
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Unexpected pleasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We were looking for place to have a light dinner on a Sunday night in downtown Phoenix, and Hanny's was recommended for us by someone we asked on the street. We were a little reluctant because it looked mostly like a bar, but we loved it! They had a special Sunday Night Dinner menu that was a great value. My wife had a perfectly cooked petite sirloin and I had a tasty and moist grilled pork chop both with potatoes and veggies and washed down with a bottle of very decent California red for under $50. The atmosphere is definitely high end night club, but it has a fun feel. The furniture is made for lounging, and there is a sinuous tongue looking settee that no one braved while we were there, but overall a very warm, intimate space. There is an art installation in the basement (the circular stairs in the corner) that is worth seeing. Assembled with dolls, it is a recreation of ‘The Last Supper’ by Leonardo da Vinci; thought provoking to say the least. Google the painting and compare the choice of doll with each Apostle in the painting. At first glance this installation might be viewed as almost sacrilegious, but when we began to understand the thought and care employed by the artist, we came away in awe.
Overall -great food, excellent prices and a different vibe. I highly recommend it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Trendy place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

The pizzas at Hanny's are very good. The atmosphere is young hip night club-like..service was good. tables were a little close together and we were next to a birthday party that we almost felt part of. Not what we wanted while on a quick dinner out.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Interesting menu but great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Can't remember what I had but we ate there twice during our stay. Nice lounge- like atmosphere without overly loud music. The men was somewhat eclectic but everything I had was very good. Place is quite roomy and does contain a full bar service too. Restrooms are querky-- you go upstairs to the abandoned clothing store, and the restrooms are hidden behind changing room doors. Mens room had the world's smallest sink but fit perfect in the space it was located.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice building and the rest is so-so”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Neat building, average bar but the the dinner menu was extremely weak and then what was delivered was nearly inedible. Note: someone send the pizza was ok, i didn't try

If you are able to get service be prepared for it to be bad.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hanny's also viewed

 

Been to Hanny's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanny's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.