We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Prime - Phoenix

Ocean Prime - Phoenix
5455 East High Street, Phoenix, AZ 85054
(480) 347-1313
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ocean Prime - Phoenix is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #175 of 2,429 Restaurants in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $35 - $45
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 56th Street and Deer Valley Road
Gearhart, Oregon
Top Contributor
471 reviews 471 reviews
266 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
236 helpful votes 236 helpful votes
“Everything excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

We had not been here before. We enjoy fine dining and that is how I would describe our experience. I can't think of a way to improve the meal. Warning: dining here is a little expensive but comparable in price or even a little less than steak and seafood restaurants of equivalent quality in the Phoenix/Scottsdale area. We did not order cocktails and chose from an extensive list of wines by the glass. That kept the price down a little. My wife had a shrimp cocktail instead of an entree which was good. I started with a wedge salad which was great...maybe the best I have had. The new York strip steak was wonderful. We shared a baked Alaska and a peanut butter and chocolate dessert both of which were good. Our friends approved of their selections too. We agreed that this a place to enjoy again.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    20
    13
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Nicely decorated restaurant. Food was great. Service promptly. Got good recommendation from waiter. Seasoning in lobsters was perfect. Big portion. No room for dessert. What you order a side dish, you cdm actually share with 2 other people. With your entree, there's more than enough food. Good wine selection.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Business Dinner - Private Room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The restaurant has a contemporary design and really quite lovely. The menu selection is broad enough to please anyone, and narrow enough that everything offered is simply divine. Business casual dress attire is appropriate, although many were dressed in cocktail attire. I deducted a star for public parking only - no valet. Parking on this particular week night was full and difficult to find spot.

We had a party of 8 reserved ahead of time for private dining. We were set up in an absolute perfect private room for conducting business while also enjoying great wine selection (and we are particular), delicious food, and excellent personal service.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“An absolute delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We've been to Ocean Prime three times now, and loved it every single time. The service is impeccable - from the warm greeting at the door to the waiter we felt taken care of all evening. The fit out of the restaurant is modern and comfortable. The food is amazing - we have tried seafood, steaks, sashimi, and more sides than I can count (the creamed spinach, carrots and the lobster mac & cheese all stand out). The desserts are sublime - the chocolate cake is great, and the peanut butter pie is to die for. We will be back again for a great night out.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Twice in a Week”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I enjoyed our experience and food so much the first time we went there a second time with friends all in one week. The food is very good, the atmosphere is great and the overall experience was pleasurable.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Prime - Phoenix also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Ocean Prime - Phoenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Prime - Phoenix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.