We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the tasty, reasonably priced lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of District American Kitchen & Wine Bar

District American Kitchen & Wine Bar
320 N. 3rd Street, Phoenix, AZ 85004
+1 602-817-5400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
District American Kitchen & Wine Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #114 of 2,584 Restaurants in Phoenix
Price range: $9 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Van Buren
Description: District American Kitchen and Wine Bar is designed to meld into the fabric of the downtown Phoenix core, embracing its inherent energy with open-air patio seating, live entertainment, local artwork and First Friday presence. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, District supports local food purveyors, offering a wide selection of sophisticated yet accessible regional fare as well as the best of American wines, micro-brew beers and classic cocktails. Patrons can expect new twists on traditional favorites, wine pairings, and small plates all enjoyed in a comfortable yet metropolitan setting.
Westport, Connecticut
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Go for the tasty, reasonably priced lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I had both lunch and breakfast here since I was staying in the hotel.

The place is huge but has a nice atmosphere with outside seating and a bar/lounge area.

The lunch menu has a variety of items that you would expect but also features a special lunch selection of chicken, fish, and beef dishes priced at $9 or less. I had a cedar planked salmon with risotto. It was just the right amount of food for lunch and cooked perfectly. I was very pleased.

I also had an early morning breakfast buffet here. There was a standard selection of breakfast items - all well presented and cooked well with fresh squeezed orange juice and coffee included in the price..... but at $17.99 it seemed a bit too much to pay but was the best option price wise on the menu.

Service on both occasions was quick and efficient but not overly friendly.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    57
    23
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hinton, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“super nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I stayed in the hotel that is connected to this and went down several times to eat. Great food and very nice staff. The breakfast Buffet was overpriced but very good.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Where to begin - everything about District is outstanding. The wait staff, the bus boys, everyone on the floor are curteous, effecient, and pleasant. Our server Dina Davis was a delight. The chef has created changing menus, each more creative and delicious. This is food that is familiar to you, but with a delicious twist. The presentation is clean and modern. I particularly recommend the $9.00 lunch menu. Imagine sirloin steak and onion rings! And the steak was seasoned and with a light type of au jus. And save room for a sundae.
I am so lucky to live in the Valley of Sun so that I can eat at District on a regular basis.
Don't miss this restaurant for lunch or for dinner. Sharon B

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
“Good Food, Slow Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Wow! We dined the other night for the 1st time with our daughter who moved here for school. The dining room is impressive. Food...wonderful! Service...very slow. If you are patient and are ok with waiting initially for a server, and then for your drink and then for the check, this place is good... food is great.. nice easy menu, well rounded.. but they need to pick up the pace a little bit to take care of their patrons... We left happy and full and loved the ambiance surrounding us... just could have used some extra attention...

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
“SHOUTHEORY- Great Live Band”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I had a wonderful time at District American Kitchen and Wine Bar. I went there for a friend's going away party and had such an amazing time. The vibe was great. The food was tasty and the atmosphere was perfect for a chill night out or a party. It's whatever you make of it.,Above all, the live band that night, SHOUTHEORY killed it! They had the whole crowd singing along. So much Fun!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed District American Kitchen & Wine Bar also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to District American Kitchen & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage District American Kitchen & Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.