We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two nights in a row!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sierra Bonita Grill

Sierra Bonita Grill
6933 North 7th St., Phoenix, AZ 85014
6022640700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Sierra Bonita Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #47 of 2,569 Restaurants in Phoenix
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 7th St & Glendale Ave.
Description: The Sierra Bonita Grill is named after the historic Sierra Bonita Ranch in South Eastern Arizona. Founded by Henry Hooker in 1872, the Sierra Bonita Ranch was known for it’s hospitality and innovative ranching methods. We would like to celebrate the spirit represented by Mr. Hooker and other pioneer ranches throughout Arizona with our restaurant and hope to continue the tradition of great food and hospitality. Our menu reflects the hearty cooking style of Southern Arizona ranches, many of which were started by Spanish and Mexican families. We will continue to explore the ongoing Mexican and Latin influences on this area’s culture and food. Patio seating available to accommodate 30 people.
Arkansas
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Two nights in a row!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We liked this restaurant so much that we returned the very next evening even though it was quite a distance from our hotel. Both nights we split a small order of Hopper's Poppers (jalapeños stuffed with 4 cheeses) as an appetizer. My husband said that the smoked green chili pork with charro beans was the best entree he had the entire trip. My filet was OK, not a wow, but the seasoning was a southwest chili rub which made it unique. On the second visit we had the enchiladas, which were delicious and one of the least inexpensive dinners of the week. Bill for the first time was $127.98 for appetizer, two entrees, bottle of Seghesio zinfandel, and tip. The second night was $93.82 for appetizer, two entrees, wine, and tip. We had efficient and friendly service both nights from different servers.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfpphoenix, Public Relations Manager at Sierra Bonita Grill, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Well two nights in a row is above and beyond! We sure appreciate you visiting us twice on your trip and then sharing your great experience with others. The Hopper's Hoppers are a favorite for many so we're glad you enjoyed them!

We hope you have a chance to visit us again the next time you make it to Phoenix...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    82
    30
    13
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful spot and great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We very much enjoyed our dinner at the Grill last weekend. I guess it was quiet due to the holiday weekend, but the service and food was great... Wonderful cocktails... and Desserts.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfpphoenix, Public Relations Manager at Sierra Bonita Grill, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
SteveandDavid,

Thanks so much for talking time out to share your experience at Sierra Bonita with the Trip Advisor community. We appreciate your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phx arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Margarita Ever!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Went with some friends for a going away party in the late afternoon and just happened to make "Happy Hour" the servers were laid back and cool, almost nonchalant but still proficient. The food was very good and like the title says the margarita was excellent. I can't wait to go back. The location may not be what some people are looking for but this restaurant is the definitely on my return list!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfpphoenix, Public Relations Manager at Sierra Bonita Grill, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Breezzee...We're glad that you enjoyed our Margaritas...Our bartenders make some of the best drinks in town so you'll have to give some of the other drinks a try next time,

Thanks for taking time to let us know about your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marsworth
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great food, service and atmosphere in this popular local restaurant.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband and I, visitors to Phoenix, went here for his birthday, hoping for an authentic taste of the southwest. We were not disappointed.

Atmosphere was bustling and buzzy - obviously a local favourite.

Server was very attentive and provided a little special extra at dessert to mark the birthday.

Food was delicious - spicy for my husband on request, and less so for me, also as requested.

A great success - can't wait to go back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfpphoenix, Public Relations Manager at Sierra Bonita Grill, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
We're glad that you decided to enjoy your husband's birthday with us! We work hard to provide a great Southwestern experience and we're glad that you appreciated it.

Please come hack and see us for your birthday :-) if you are in Phoenix.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cave Creek, Arizona
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Casual but cultural atmosphere, food, service....all very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

As native Arizonans, we often prefer hole-in-wall Mexican restaurants with great authentic food. That said, we often enjoy a variety of other cuisines, gourmet restaurants and many things in between.

This was a very good blend of the many things we enjoy. The green chili was great, as was the sangria.

The prime rib sandwich special with sautéed onions was excellent and filling. I shared part of it with my husband. The bread/bun for the sandwich tasted home baked by a real pro. Skinny fries were crisp and not greasy.

My husband's Southwestern Cobb salad with Poblano Ranch dressing was very fresh and included avocado, carne asada, bacon, spinach, and assorted greens....among other treats. It was served with the biscuit of the day which was a green chili biscuit. The salad was so large that I finished my meal before he did......a 25 year first.

I glanced at the dessert menu (just so I could tell you what they had, of course) but could not pass up the Buttermilk Pie with caramel sauce. It was wonderful unless you are a supertaster who dislikes anything too sweet. The had several other goodies including Bread pudding and Gelato Trio.

The green chili pasta was good, but not quite as good as The Roaring Fork had the last time I was there.

Charming fellow was our server in the "patio." This was a great idea in hot or cold climates. It is fully enclosed and air conditioned, but has the feel of an old, Mexican outside ramada. Everyone should try Sierra Bonita Grill at least once.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfpphoenix, Public Relations Manager at Sierra Bonita Grill, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
retiredandready

Thanks for such a nice review for Sierra Bonita...We're thrilled that you gave us a shot. We try hard to be true and authentic to our root here in Arizona my combining lots of flavors and tastes of the southwest.

Glad you enjoyed the desserts. Not everyone saves room, but they really are wonderful.

Please stop back and see us again when you have a chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sierra Bonita Grill also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Sierra Bonita Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sierra Bonita Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.