We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Venue for Kids” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arizona Science Center

Arizona Science Center
600 East Washington Street, Phoenix, AZ 85004
602-716-2000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 94 Attractions in Phoenix
Type: Science Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A museum with over 300 hands-on exhibits that keep visitors involved.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Cave Creek, Arizona
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great Venue for Kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

My wife & I took our 6 year old grand daughter to the Arizona Science Museum on 6/20/14. This museum is a great experience for young people as they have an exposure to science they may not get in school systems. We got there about 10:30 & had a 25 minute wait to get our tickets. Lots of kids with quite a few of them lacking control by parents or supervisors of kids groups. Although our granddaughter was able to work many experiments she had difficulty trying to get on some of them.
We think the museum is worth a trip particularly for children but adults can learn from the many exhibits. We were surprised to see that some of the attractions were extra cost which was disappointing, however the general admission is fine for a 2 -4 hour visit.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    108
    41
    6
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Georgia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
64 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Way too many unsupervised kids!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This science center is not bad - definitely a KIDS science museum with lots of hands-on exhibits and plenty of good explanations of why this works like it does, etc. We were there on a Friday with, it seemed, every child care facility in the greater southwestern USA. There were kids everywhere and not enough adults to supervise them. We couldn't look at any exhibits or test out any of the hands on activities without a child jumping in to bump our children out of the way. The museum should limit access for these groups to not allow them to take over - or close the museum to the public. I felt like I had wasted my money because of the interference of unruly kids.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“What an interesting place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I hadn't been here in years and had forgotten how amazing it is. There is something for every age. The kids particularly loved the outdoor water interactive feature and the true life sounds of the stomach!
Well worth the price of admission

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Science Center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The Arizona Science Center is one of the best we have been to. There are interactive displays that all ages will enjoy. You could spend a whole day here and not get bored.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fun for the whole family!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We have always enjoyed the Science Center. This year we purchased a year pass, which has already paid for itself. My kids enjoy learning and there are so many hands on activities. On the weekends there are alot of extra activites for learning. My son was able to interview a few scientist for a project he was doing for the Cub Scouts. They were very helpful and could tell they really enjoyed what they do.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arizona Science Center also viewed

 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Arizona Science Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arizona Science Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.