We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool and Quick with a Spectacular View” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hole in the Rock

Hole in the Rock
Papago Park, Van Buren St. and Galvin Pkway, Phoenix, AZ
602 256 3220
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 128 Attractions in Phoenix
Type: Geologic Formations, Mountains
Attraction Details
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Cool and Quick with a Spectacular View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stopped here on the way out to Sedona, and I'm glad we did. The view was spectacular. The hike up to the hole in the rock was easy, and the path had stairs carved into it as well. Once on top you had a nice view of camping areas, the zoo and a distant view of down town Phoenix. We went in the morning, so the sun cast a cool relaxing shadow over the viewing area on top. I am glad we went and would go again.

Also, the entrance to Hole in the Rock is off of the same road as the Zoo entrance. If you are taking a trip to the Zoo, this can be a quick side trip that is certainly worth it.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    70
    12
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Enterprise, Alabama, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Free Attraction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We were in Phoenix as part of a weeklong roundabout of Arizona/Nevada. We had a few minutes and decided to go lok at the Hole in the Rock. Don't be frightened when you see it from the parking lot. There's a relativeley easy walk up the backside (even for a 50 year old fat man), Great view, great picture op, my 13 and 11 year old loved it. Wear tennis shoes or hiking boots and it's well worth spending the hour it takes from the time you get off the freeway until you are back on it.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Great view of the city. Fairly easy walk. A great free thing to do. Close to other things to do. This was a great stop on our trip to Phoenix.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldwin Park, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Must see!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This is great FREE outing for kids and adults. This hike does have areas that are challenging for youngsters (3-5 years old) but my 3 year old son, as well as my other 2 kids (7 & 12) and they all enjoyed it! I would wear running/tennis shoes cause this somewhat of a steep hike. The Botanical Gardens and Phoenix Zoo are off the same street/parking area. If you don't mind the walking, I would suggest taking the Light Rail Train that takes you into downtown Phoenix which is not to far down the road. (All day pass was only $4 for adults.)

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Highlight of Phoenix”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We almost missed this park and found it by chance with a few hours to kill. How sad if we had! this free park is anchored by a huge rock formation that has natural caves and holes eroded by the elements. Awesome place to hike, climb, bask in the sun and be one with nature. Super views of the city, picnic tables, small lakes with water fowl and plenty of trails. Make this part of your Phoenix vacation, or as your get away from the city life. Love this place!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hole in the Rock also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Hole in the Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hole in the Rock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.