We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & spacious room, good security and convenient location near downtown Phoenix, AZ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix to your Saves list
Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   402 W Van Buren St, Phoenix, AZ 85003 (Central City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Santa Ana
1 review
“Clean & spacious room, good security and convenient location near downtown Phoenix, AZ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2009

I needed an economical place to stay near downtown Phoenix, AZ. I was visiting the city on business and did not want to pay the higher prices at the major hotels downtown. The Budget Lodge was about five short blocks west of the Phoenix Convention Center and I decided to try it out.

I stayed for four nights and found the experience to be a good one. The staff is friendly and helpful. The room was recently remodled and very clean. Coffee was ready each morning at 7:00am. The room access was through a secure hallway and the parking was close to the building.

Overall, I had a great stay at a very good price.

Greg A

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    138
    27
    6
    10
See reviews for
52
113
52
130
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Dakota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2009

We were looking for a place near the Phoenix Convention center that was not as expensive as the main hotels. It was nice and comfortable. Staff was very pleasant and helpful.
Within walking distance to most major downtown areas plus only a couple blocks to the new transit system.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2009

If you want a cheap and convenient place to live, probably you can choose here. It is clean and it provides basic service. But except for these, you cannot expect any more for such a cheap motel. Another good thing for living here is that you will never miss anything important in the morning, because you will be waked up very early by the traffic.

  • Liked — Low price
  • Disliked — Too noisy in the morning due to the traffic
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2009

I was very pleased with this room. I have stayed in hotel/motels all over the country and this one is great. Rooms have TV's, frig, irons and ironing boards. Beds are comfortable and pillows are full. Rooms are clean; even the corners. The price is unbelievable. You can pay over 4 times more for a room 7 blocks away! This is my third different stay at this motel and it is great every time. I have stayed at the Ritz and for the value and results, I will come back here everytime.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — no elevator for upstairs rooms
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2009

This hotel is an excellent alternative to the larger (and 3x more expensive) downtown hotels. I walked 3 blocks farther to the convention center and saved a lot of money. My room was very clean and well-kept, wifi worked fine, and the place was very quiet overnight. I'll book here again on my next trip.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2009

I was in Phoenix for a conference during mid-January. All hotels were booked and very expensive (this hotel cost about 1/3 of the nearby hotels). I had found this hotel by means of Google maps. The place is just 10 minutes walk from the Convention Center, the room was recently remodeled, very clean and comfortable, with fridge and microwave, and the bathroom was new. Furthermore, free internet and cable tv in the room (I did not need any other amenities, such as swimming pool, etc.) The owner is also very kind. I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Liked — Walk distance from center and cleanliness
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2009

The Budget Lodge Motel in downtown Phoenix, Arizona (402 W. Van Buren Street) is a pleasant surprise. Located only 15 minutes walk from the Convention Center, this motel is clean, quiet, and very reasonably priced. So much so that I was initially skeptical that it would be OK. I need not have worried. The room, with two double beds, was clean, large and well-maintained, with plenty of well-positioned lights, a desk and chair, and a nice TV. Everything worked great. Even the coffee at the complimentary breakfast (with muffins and fruit) in the morning was good. This is not a luxury location. Just a good place to stay, really close to the convention district downtown. The new METRO, with a stop only about 4 blocks from the motel is an added plus. It will get you to and from the airport (about 4.5 miles away) for less than a couple of bucks. Just make sure to buy a ticket and have it on you when you are on the train.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix

Address: 402 W Van Buren St, Phoenix, AZ 85003
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Central City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Phoenix
#13 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#25 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#42 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean, newly renovated Hilton quality rooms at half the price located in the heart of downtown Phoenix. Conveniently located to all major attractions Phoenix has to offer. The property is independently owned and has been operated by same manager for the past 10 + years. We offer clean spacious rooms, complimentary breakfast, free wireless internet access, and free basic amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix Hotel Phoenix
Budget Hotel Downtown Phoenix
Budget Motel Downtown Phoenix

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.