We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat this” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix

Save Saved
You added Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   402 W Van Buren St, Phoenix, AZ 85003 (Central City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 175 hotels in Phoenix
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Can't beat this”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I was attending a medical conference downtown and was supposed to stay at the Sheraton ($199/night) but when I found out there were no rooms available I started looking around. I was shocked when I found the price at the Budget Lodge. This was a great location because it was a 15 minute stroll to the convention center and other downtown happenings. The staff was very friendly and on top of everything. I could tell they put in a lot of effort maintaining the place. I had no problems with the internet and my room was always sparkling clean when I returned. Its hard to find this type of place nowadays. I HIGHLY recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    202
    133
    26
    5
    9
See reviews for
49
109
51
127
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ile-Ife, Oyo, Nigeria
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I had a great time here while attending a conference at the Convention centre. The room was quite clean and comfortable. It had all that you'll require for a short stay. The breakfast was less than I expected though. The location was also great and within walking distance of relevant downtown events.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

The price is definitely right on this downtown hotel. It has a great location, close to downtown stadiums and activities, and the staff is incredibly friendly. I checked in pretty late, and the owner called up to make sure I made it to my room ok and that everything was to my satisfaction. The room was spotless, and included a nice refrigerator. The room was comfortable and I felt very safe, despite being a young female traveling alone.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Rooms not only looks & smells clean, they are spotless! I particularly enjoyed the newly remodeled-like bathroom in our room. The front staff are extremely friendly & always willing to help. Big hotels normally know you by numbers. Every time I walked by the office they greeted me by my name. Lady at the office recommended our last night's dinner at the old town Scottsdale & we enjoyed it. She's got great taste. Thank you for that & giving us directions everyday. We will look no further next year when we visit Arizona. We had a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Parking was full when we arrived and did not realize there is additional parking in the back. Parkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Polite and helpful staff. Clean, spacious room. Good, fast, free Wi-Fi is always a bonus. Free basic breakfast. Walking distance to Downtown Phoenix. Great value for money! Would highly recommend if you're looking for a good place to stay in Downtown.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Clean quiet room. Really close to everything downtown. You can walk just about every where down town. Also a short walk to the tram and buses.
Morning coffee is good but there could be a better selection of breakfast goodies.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

The hotel staff provided great service though not very talkative, The area was interesting, when we woke up in the morning to the unfolding scene, it didn't seem the safest area, but nonetheless close to the city area.

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix

Address: 402 W Van Buren St, Phoenix, AZ 85003
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Central City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Phoenix
#11 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#17 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#34 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean, newly renovated Hilton quality rooms at half the price located in the heart of downtown Phoenix. Conveniently located to all major attractions Phoenix has to offer. The property is independently owned and has been operated by same manager for the past 10 + years. We offer clean spacious rooms, complimentary breakfast, free wireless internet access, and free basic amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix Hotel Phoenix
Budget Hotel Downtown Phoenix
Budget Motel Downtown Phoenix

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.