We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located nice and tidy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix to your Saves list
Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   402 W Van Buren St, Phoenix, AZ 85003 (Central City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 175 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Well located nice and tidy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Perfect homebase to explore downtown Phoenix. Reasonably priced place and absolutely properly maintained. Probably the most room we’ve got for the buck on our trip through the southwestern US. Thank you Dan!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    150
    29
    7
    11
See reviews for
59
120
58
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, SC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

This room was a bit on the small side, but pretty much what we needed while on the road. Very close to downtown with neat views of landing airplanes to the airport. One of the cleanest motel bathrooms I've ever seen. Gated entry at night, so feels very safe. The "breakfast" leaves a lot to be desired, so don't bank on that as an added bonus. Overall I would def stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgecrest, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

At the last minute our plans changed but I had heard of the Budget Lodge so I called 2 days before we were arriving in Phoenix and Dan gave us a great rate. The beds were comfortable plus the refrigerator and microwave a plus. The staff was great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I was a little dubious when I first arrived but found this to be a safe, clean, and well run Motel. I always check the tile grout in the bathroom wherever I stay and am pleased to report that this bathroom was spotless! Great value for the money, easy to find, and walking distance to all of downtown Phoenix. If you are a looking for a cost effective, clean place to stay this is it!
Thank you to Dan and his staff ro excellent service and accomodations!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The Budget Lodge is a really great value and is right in the heart of downtown Phoenix. The central light rail station is also very closeby if you're looking to venture outside of the core. Very clean rooms and a very courteous staff. They are also very accommodating and allowed me to stay an extra hour past my checkout time, so that I wouldn't have to wait at the Greyhound Station as long as I would have had to otherwise. Highly recommended.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

This motel is a great find in the very expensive downtown area of Phoenix. The price to value ratio is extremely good, especially when compared to any of the alternatives in the downtown area. Even though it is on Van Buren St. it is very safe and secure. It is very clean, the beds are comfortable, and the rooms have a refrigerator and microwave so you can eat in your room if necessary. It has the basics and nothing more which appeals to me.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, AZ
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Inexpensive, clean, comfortable room. Nothing special, but clearly a value. When compared to the big guys downtown, it is 4 blocks farther away and about 1/3 the price. Very good service. Wireless seemed a bit slow, but I was using my phone so hard to tell.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix

Address: 402 W Van Buren St, Phoenix, AZ 85003
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Central City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Phoenix
#9 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#28 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#38 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean, newly renovated Hilton quality rooms at half the price located in the heart of downtown Phoenix. Conveniently located to all major attractions Phoenix has to offer. The property is independently owned and has been operated by same manager for the past 10 + years. We offer clean spacious rooms, complimentary breakfast, free wireless internet access, and free basic amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix Hotel Phoenix
Budget Hotel Downtown Phoenix
Budget Motel Downtown Phoenix

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.