We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super clean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix to your Saves list
Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   402 W Van Buren St, Phoenix, AZ 85003 (Central City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
San Francisco CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Super clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

We stay at a lot of motels and, by far, this was the cleanest with the most amenities: blow dryer, ironing board, lotions, etc. Walkable to two neat bars, Ghost bar and Henny's, as well as, the light rail.

Room Tip: Visit Henny's bar and the Ghost bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    138
    27
    6
    10
See reviews for
52
113
52
130
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

My wife and I stayed here overnight in December 2011 while enroute to LA. The hotel was extremely clean, well kept, and the manager was extremely friendly and receptive (and also gave a great recommendation for a Thai restaurant for dinner). We were very comfortable and felt safe in the location. The room was quiet and we were not disturbed by noises from neighboring rooms or outside. The hotel is within walking distance of downtown restaurants/pubs, Hard Rock Cafe, and most importantly, Starbucks. Since the price just absolutely couldn't be beat for all the amenities, we stayed again on our way back to Texas. This place is highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

This is a clean, affordable option to the other downtown hotels. The manager Dan is very pleasant, and the rooms come with a refrigerator and microwave, nice TV with most standard cable channels, and comfortable beds. Very close to the Comerica Theater, and also a short walking distance from everything downtown and the light rail. You will save money and be pleasantly surprised!

Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windham, Maine
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

My family and I stayed here in December 2011, during our visit to Phoenix. The hotel was clean and the personal was nice. The beds were comfortable, the bathroom and shower were clean. Furthermore, the price was excellent for a hotel so close to downtown.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

My husband and I stayed here in December 2011 while visiting Phoenix and the surrounding area. This hotel is very well located for Sky Harbor International. It is very clean and comfortable with pleasant staff - and the price is great! Our room was spacious and contained almost everything we needed - microwave, fridge, iron, hair dryer, fantastic shower - the only small thing it lacked was the facility to make tea and coffee. In addition, a more than adequate on-the-go breakfast was provided - juice/coffee/pastry/fruit. Free parking available outside. Should we return to Phoenix we won't look anywhere else

Room Tip: room at the back on the upper floor should be quieter - ours was 212
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

Perfect hotel: cheap, clean, friendly, comfortable bed, good shower. Close to the centre, free parking. The breakfast is not briljant (not terrible either), but what do you expect for so little money. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood, Arizona, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

The host was very polite and kindly put us in a room away from the traffic. The hotel was very clean and neat and quiet. Breakfast (although we awoke too late to partake) was offered from 7-9 am which was a pleasant surprise. We felt perfectly safe and slept very well. Room included small fridge, microwave and wi-fi. Close to downtown. For those looking for a place to sleep and not wanting to pay an arm and a leg for the high priced amenities which are never used, this is an excellent place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for something away from traffic, although there isn't much traffic anyway that late at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix

Address: 402 W Van Buren St, Phoenix, AZ 85003
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Central City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Phoenix
#13 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#26 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#42 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean, newly renovated Hilton quality rooms at half the price located in the heart of downtown Phoenix. Conveniently located to all major attractions Phoenix has to offer. The property is independently owned and has been operated by same manager for the past 10 + years. We offer clean spacious rooms, complimentary breakfast, free wireless internet access, and free basic amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix Hotel Phoenix
Budget Hotel Downtown Phoenix
Budget Motel Downtown Phoenix

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.