We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so Clean and Problem after Problem” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Extended Stay America - Phoenix - Airport - E. Oak St.

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Extended Stay America - Phoenix - Airport - E. Oak St. to your Saves list
Extended Stay America - Phoenix - Airport - E. Oak St.
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4357 East Oak Street, Phoenix, AZ 85008 (Formerly Wellesley Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 10% Today!
Ranked #148 of 175 Hotels in Phoenix
Lake Arrowhead, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not so Clean and Problem after Problem”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

I checked in which took what seemed forever. Got to my room used the toilet and it was clogged before I used it. So I spent the first 15 minutes plunging the toilet. The room was stuffy and smelled like pet urine. Then my room key didn't work. I left to run some errands got back to my room to find that my door was open. You had to pull it really hard to make sure it was closed. The room was dusty and looks like a blind person cleaned it. The microwave's turn table plate was missing. The shower had mold growing between the tiles. I don't think I would stay here or recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherTM, Manager at Extended Stay America - Phoenix - Airport - E. Oak St., responded to this review, May 4, 2012
I recently received a copy of your review of the Extended Stay America Phoenix - Airport - E. Oak St. Our company prides itself on providing great service and great rooms at great rates, which is why I was so disappointed to read your post. Please accept my most sincere apologies.

We know that our guests have multiple hotel choices, which is why our mission is to provide clean, comfortable rooms at an affordable price that guests want to come back to. The room condition you describe is totally unacceptable to me and not at all representative of our quality standards. In response to your post, I have met with our hotel staff and used your review to help coach them on room cleaning and inspection policy.

It's not common that we get the sort of feedback you provided, and although it is discouraging to read, it will help us make our hotel even better in the future. Let me apologize again that your stay was not completely satisfying, and assure you that we will continue to listen to our guests in forums like this one or directly (please visit our website and click the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page). I hope we have addressed your concern satisfactorily, and that you would give us the pleasure of having you as a guest again at this hotel or any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) brand location in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    10
    7
    14
    32
See reviews for
12
13
8
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

Unfortunately we stayed 2 nights at this motel. Bout a hour in to our stay the toilet over flooded, the room furniture was run down, scratched, the room had a disgusting odor, the bed was hard & very dirty, the door lock was loose & the air conditioner was missing the cover. <- this was all in the first room we had until the toilet incident they switched us rooms. The 2nd room was a little better, but the bed was a lot dirtier. Stains were on the mattress & mattress box. There was crumbs under the bed and sofa. The air conditioner was dirty. The next day we were gone all day & by the time we got back to the room we were tired & worn out. But then our keys didn't work which meant we had to walk down to lobby & wait for the front desk staff to open door & re scan our keys. Once we opened the doors to our surprise the room was still dirty. The housekeeping staff had not come by to our room & neighbors. for 2 nights we paid 181.62 in hopes we were getting a nice hotel. Before our trip we looked at the hotel photo gallery online & chose to stay here because of the way the motel was presented. Turns out this was the biggest mistake & a waste of our money! Your better off staying at a Red Roof Inn or any other hotel. I wish we got our money back but that was a long stretch of happening. Save your money & go for a nicer hotel experience!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

We booked our room through Priceline and were very excited by the price we received. We contacted the hotel directly to request (2) beds in the room. We were informed that there was a $10 upgrade fee for that type of room. We were also informed that there was a sofa bed in the room we had, so it could accomodate our party without the upgrade fee. When we arrived to check-in, we were asked if we needed sheets for the pull-out bed and we were handed a fitted sheet and a flat sheet. We made the assumption that there would be blankets/pillows in the room. When we opened the door to our room, there was an overwhelming odor of cooked food. We turned on the fan immediately to help circulate the air and hopefully lessen the smell. The smell was still noticeable upon check-out the following morning. In the shower, when you pull up the button on the faucet to make the water come out of the shower head, a fairly steady stream of water continues coming out of the faucet, making the water pressure pretty pathetic from the shower head. When we pulled out the sofa bed, there were crumbs and dirt under the mattress. If you are unfortunate enough to be on the door-side of the room when you pull out the bed, you must literally crawl over the bed to get back to the other side of the room. Once we put the sheets onto the bed and crawled back to the other side of the room to look in the closet for blankets and pillows, we could only find one pillow. There are only 2 pillows on the standard bed, so you cannot borrow from there. We called down to the desk to request a blanket. We were told they ran out of blankets and we were offered a mattress pad or additional sheets. All in all, I have to say that the room was clean and it was very nice to have a full-size refigerator in the room. However, the mattresses on the pull-out, as well as the standard bed were terrible and the amenities are non-existent. The only thing in the bathroom is one hotel sized bar of soap. Be sure to bring all of your own toiletries! For $29.00 per night, which is the rate we received through Priceline, you cannot expect the Ritz, but you should at least be able to get a blanket, a shower that works properly, an odor free room and a path around a bed.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

Staff was very nice and helpful, but the place is very run down and dirty. If you want to save a few bucks, it's OK. I wouldn't stay here with kids due to the other guests this place attracts. Vans full of magazine "salesmen" were there obviously drunk or high. Cigarette butts and beer cans littered the walkways and parking lot. We felt unsafe and did not sleep well.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Good place if you want to make a quick overnight trip to Phoenix. Business trips only pls. Average room quality. But was at a convenient location w.r.t my place of work. Close to the airport, so you can afford skipping the rental car.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights with family....On 1st impressions outside of the hotel looked good.
Our room however looked well lived in, furniture was scratched and looked old. Carpet was dirty. Some of the untensils in the kitchen were also dirty. A few of the electrical fittings were broken. One light switch in particular was loose and hard to switch off. Was wary of my kids touching it.
It seems this is more of a cheap short term lodging rather than a weekend getaway hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

The area was safe, and just across the street from shopping and restaurants. Staff was friendly and willing to go above and beyond. Our room was clean and ready on time for us to check in (as promised @ 3:00pm). The pool was great also!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Extended Stay America - Phoenix - Airport - E. Oak St.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Phoenix - Airport - E. Oak St.

Address: 4357 East Oak Street, Phoenix, AZ 85008 (Formerly Wellesley Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 175 Hotels in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Phoenix - Airport - E. Oak St. 2.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Extended Stay, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Extended Stay America - Phoenix - Airport - E. Oak St. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay America Phoenix
Extended Stay Phoenix
Phoenix Extended Stay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Extended Stay America - Phoenix - Airport - E. Oak St., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.