We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So glad we booked this resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arizona Royal Villa Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Phoenix
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arizona Royal Villa Resort
Save
You added Arizona Royal Villa Resort to your Saves list
4312 N 12th Street, Phoenix, AZ 85014 (Encanto)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
NYC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“So glad we booked this resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

This gay, clothing optional resort was great in every way. The owner recommended the apartment since we were staying for 9 days and while it was just a little older in style and comfort, we had a wonderful stay. The pool and hottub are clearly the centerpieces of the resort and they didn't disappoint. Located within walking distance of a couple of the gay bars and a short cab ride from Charlie's. All in all a great place to stay in Phoenix. Can't wait to go back - especially when there are a few more other guests.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    20
    4
    3
    9
See reviews for
Families
0
22
39
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago IL
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

I've stayed at the Royal Villa for several years (even at the predecessor Royal Villa), spending long winter weekends away from the Chicago weather. The facilities and the staff are both top-notch as are most guests who like a drama-free atmosphere. The guest rooms are reminiscent of the small gay resorts in Palm Springs where you can really relax; clothing-optional is a great bonus. It's very conveniently located to Phoenix nightlife of all types. All types. The owners go out of their way to make our stays exceptional. The free high-speed wifi is an added bonus.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

Any place that won't even support the local community...even worse, flat out BANS them from staying at their establishment, is SAD SAD SAD! I will not recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HonestO'Pinyon, Owner at Arizona Royal Villa Resort, responded to this review, June 11, 2010
The Arizona Royal Villa offers day passes to respectable locals who wish to visit. Generally we do not take locals in our rooms,( for various reasons, drunks, druggies, sex addicts, 420, PNP etc. the list goes on) however we have done in the past with pre-arranging with the responsible parties. When a local needs a room ,right here and right now, we have always had a bad experience. The reviewer's signed name "incollege" only exacerbates our reason for concern and quite possible, maybe mommy and daddy were home and there was nowhere else to play. I remember this incident, and let me just say that when local friends come by, and things start to spiral out of control, we step in and our policies take over. You just cannot please all the people all the time. Our guest's safety and comfort comes first.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

Have stayed here twice in the last 5 months. The location is in a residential area but Camelback Road is only a couple minutes by car. Rooms have microwave and full-size fridge, and they now supply shampoo. The pool and in-ground hot tub area is nice and relaxing. Doug and Kenny can advise on restaurants and bars and they can print off boarding passes for you. The rates are very reasonable. If you don't need 4-star luxury rooms, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, ON
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2010

This resort truly is a find! Nondescript location with easy access to great dining & nightlife.Once inside you'll love the the pool and spa ....the gardens are beautiful. The hosts are sweet and attentive......for the price you get a great room with kitchen ....def worked for us. We def will book again & stay longer. (cheers from London, ON)

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calif
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2010

Uppity rule-oriented staff. Rooms need a bad updating. Pool was nice, but that's about it. If you're 70+ and are in bed by 8 (the way the owners prefer you are) then you'll fit right in. Otherwise avoid this place!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HonestO'Pinyon, owner at Arizona Royal Villa Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2010
It is very disappointing when you find a review that is anonymous and you really
do not know if it is real or if the person actually stayed at your establishment. We do not remember having any complaintsofficially voiced about these issues, however, the only way I can respond to this review is to firstly, let the readers know that we are not age restrictive at the Royal Villa. We welcome all ages, as long as they are alive!! Most hotels follow the same policy. It is true, we have a couple of simple house rules to follow. We had to initiate them only after having people stay with us that have no boundaries!! We value our customers, their security and comfort. We have made the Villa a nice place where people can relax, enjoy themselves while they are on vacation on on a work trip without any prejudice or irritation from unruly guests. The truth of the matter here, is that we had to evict this client as he was very intoxicated and started to get beligerant with a senior couple that were here on vacation. He demanded entry to their room and he was denied. We were called and he was thrown out along with a police escort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2010

My partner and I and another friend stayed there over New Year's weekend. The location is not the best, but the resort and rooms were impeccably clean, the staff very friendly, as were the other guests, and it was overall a very pleasant experience. We had a room with a "buddy room" and it was very spacious. The bathroom was small but clean.
I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arizona Royal Villa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arizona Royal Villa Resort

Address: 4312 N 12th Street, Phoenix, AZ 85014
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Encanto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Phoenix
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Phoenix
#6 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centraly located the owners of this mini hotel offers the traveller a quiet, clean and secure place to stay in the heart of Phoenix. Nestled behind 10 foot walls, guarantees a discrete and relaxing vacation. If hard partying and 24 hour action activity are what you are looking for, this is NOT the place for you. Our guest's comfort and security come first and we are here to offer just that! 80% of our clientelle are repeat guests and are our extended family. We invite you to try us out! Thank you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Arizona Royal Villa Hotel Phoenix
Arizona Royal Hotel
Arizona Royal Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arizona Royal Villa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.