We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Temporary Office” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Phoenix Desert View at Mayo Clinic

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Phoenix Desert View at Mayo Clinic to your Saves list
Residence Inn Phoenix Desert View at Mayo Clinic
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5665 E Mayo Boulevard, Phoenix, AZ 85054 (Desert Ridge)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sleep In & Save 20%!
Ranked #30 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Glendale, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Temporary Office”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We have been utilizing the Residence Inn Phoenix, Desert View while our office is being prepared. The facilities and staff have been excellant and supportive of our every need.
Although I have used other Residence Inns across the country. I have been very impressed with this particular location.

Great Facility, Great Staff.
Mario Caridi
General Dynamics

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz V, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Phoenix Desert View at Mayo Clinic, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you sincerely for your review of our hotel. A big part of our Marriott culture stems from a commitment to providing excellent service. We are pleased you and your team felt that during your stay. Our hotel is in a great location with many shops and dining options nearby plus we have the beautiful desert views for our guests to enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    31
    16
    0
    3
See reviews for
24
24
17
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

But I was in Phoenix for work, and the Residence Inn Phoenix Desert View is right across the street from where I was working. I didn't have high expectations, but I absolutely loved my stay at this Residence Inn. The front desk staff were all very helpful, warm and friendly. The rooms are very well appointed. The free breakfast bar is quite good, well stocked and good quality. There are regular social nights in the foyer, with a great vibe and good food. The bed was comfortable, and it is a fairly quiet hotel even when staying during spring training. I've since stayed two more times, both when in Phoenix for work. The housekeeping can be a bit patchy, but that would be my only real complaint. I can highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz V, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Phoenix Desert View at Mayo Clinic, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Nothing pleases us more than to learn you liked the hotel so well on your first visit and returned a couple more times. Repeat business is what we strive for and we look forward to seeing you on a future trip! We are proud to be a part of the Marriott family of hotels and proud of our Residence Inn culture. Our guests enjoy the complimentary meals in our comfortable gatehouse or on the patio overlooking the sonorant desert. The team will be pleased to know that you were impressed with their warm and friendly service as that is the core of our business. Your comments on the housekeeping will be discussed with our team to determine how to improve that part of our service to our guests. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This could be a nice residence inn, but they seemed woefully unprepared for spring break during spring training. The hotel was at capacity and it really impacted the stay. First, there were 7 chaise lounges at the pool (+200 rooms). They ran out of blankets, body wash, and body lotion. Kitchenette was not stocked with essentials (2 spoons, no dishwasher detergent, 2 bowls (should be stocked for occupancy of 4). Breakfast was the same two days in a row (we'll see what's there tomorrow.)

The staff was very nice, but it didn't make up for the lack of supplies for the week.

Room Tip: 2nd floor has a beautiful view of the roof and your room spells like breakfast from the vents about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle J, General Manager at Residence Inn Phoenix Desert View at Mayo Clinic, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Let me begin with an apology for your stay not being an exceptional one! Sometimes the best of plans do not achieve the intended goal. Spring break coupled with Spring Training games does test our staff and supplies. Thank you for letting us know where we fell short so we can make adjustments for future times when we know we will be at capacity. Please give us another opportunity to WOW you and your family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Stayed for a week for business. This is a newer property with tasteful decor, but not upscale. The rooms are all suites with a full kitchen. The room was comfy, the bed was amazing, very nice tempurpedic type of mattress. The staff were helpful, the breakfasts were nice as we're the weekly dinners. Outdoor fire pit was nice and the pool was great too? I was able to do my laps without interruption. Will definitely use this hotel again.

Room Tip: This is a busy business and hospital traffic hotel. Don't get a room next to the stairwell or it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle J, General Manager at Residence Inn Phoenix Desert View at Mayo Clinic, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you sincerely for your review to let others know how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We are proud of our hotel and the team strives to be helpful for every guest, every stay! We find our pool and patio are great places for guests to congregate, enjoy the beautiful views and keep up with their exercise routine. In addition, our guests enjoy the indoor exercise room for that energy boost! We look forward to seeing you on another visit to Phoenix.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights for Spring Training trip with our family of 5. Very nice Residence Inn with lovely pool and fire pit area with a view o the mountains. Had a one room suite with very comfortable queens and pull out sleeper. Bathtub did not drain which was gross but it was finally fixed on second day (requested fix early on first day). Maid did not figure out we needed 5 sets of towels so kept having to call for more. Hotel was full so I cut them some slack. Close to ton of good restaurants and big shopping area. Not close to baseball fields but would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle J, General Manager at Residence Inn Phoenix Desert View at Mayo Clinic, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
We are pleased you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and I apologize for the lack of communication on the towels and the slow drain. Like you, guests find our rooms are comfortable for families and added to the great view and peaceful place, they return every time they find themselves in the Greater Phoenix Valley of the Sun. While we serve our evening hospitality hours and breakfast, we also enjoy the many fine restaurants in our neighborhood. Thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

My husband and I travel to Mayo Clinic at least twice each year and we have stayed at this hotel on nearly every visit since it opened. The staff is always friendly, helpful, and makes one feel like a special guest. The rooms are great and the hotel is quiet. Great place to recuperate after a minor surgery when you need to be in the area of the hospital. Great place to celebrate and relax when the news has been good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle J, General Manager at Residence Inn Phoenix Desert View at Mayo Clinic, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Let me begin by saying congratulations on your good news! With our close proximity to Mayo Clinic and Hospital, our guests are here for more than the usual business or pleasure trip. Like you, many are patients as well. Our team works hard to convey a helpful and compassionate manner for each of our guests. We are pleased you sensed how special you are to all of us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington state
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

My husband and I have stayed here three times now. We come down to Arizona for the sun in January. This hotel is quiet, friendly and relaxing. We have always had the king suite. It is like a small apartment! We buy groceries at the Whole Foods store down the road, and enjoy healthier food than if we ate out all the time, and we save money. The hotel also offers a shopping service, which i believe is complimentary, but so far we have not used it. A good idea though!
They have a shuttle which will take you anywhere in a 2-mile radius. One day when my husband was watching football, I took it to the nearby shopping area. So handy when you don't feel like driving in an unfamiliar area.
We also enjoy the breakfast, the pool area (in the winter, the sun is only on it in the morning...), and the gas fire pits to sit around in the evening.

Room Tip: A king suite on the top floor is awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle J, General Manager at Residence Inn Phoenix Desert View at Mayo Clinic, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let others know how you feel about your visits to the desert and our hotel. Your description of the suite is quite true and our guests enjoy both the suites and the amenities. Yes, it is a great place in the winter when the weather is colder in other areas. You can easily maintain your healthy lifestyle by cooking your own meals as you do, or enjoying our evening reception and breakfast which are both complimentary.
We are happy to provide our shuttle to the nearby Marketplace which includes shopping, dining and a movie theater as we know our guests appreciate not having to drive everywhere. We look forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Phoenix Desert View at Mayo Clinic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Phoenix Desert View at Mayo Clinic

Address: 5665 E Mayo Boulevard, Phoenix, AZ 85054
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Desert Ridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#30 Top resorts Hotel in Phoenix
#46 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Phoenix Desert View at Mayo Clinic 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, AAA Travel Services, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Phoenix Desert View at Mayo Clinic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Phoenix Desert View At Mayo Clinic Hotel Phoenix

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Phoenix Desert View at Mayo Clinic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.