We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Phoenix Desert View at Mayo Clinic

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Phoenix Desert View at Mayo Clinic to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Phoenix Desert View at Mayo Clinic
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5665 E Mayo Boulevard, Phoenix, AZ 85054 (Desert Ridge)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #30 of 174 hotels in Phoenix
Las Cruces, New Mexico
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

My husband and I travel to Mayo Clinic at least twice each year and we have stayed at this hotel on nearly every visit since it opened. The staff is always friendly, helpful, and makes one feel like a special guest. The rooms are great and the hotel is quiet. Great place to recuperate after a minor surgery when you need to be in the area of the hospital. Great place to celebrate and relax when the news has been good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle J, General Manager at Residence Inn Phoenix Desert View at Mayo Clinic, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Let me begin by saying congratulations on your good news! With our close proximity to Mayo Clinic and Hospital, our guests are here for more than the usual business or pleasure trip. Like you, many are patients as well. Our team works hard to convey a helpful and compassionate manner for each of our guests. We are pleased you sensed how special you are to all of us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    31
    16
    0
    3
See reviews for
24
24
17
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington state
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

My husband and I have stayed here three times now. We come down to Arizona for the sun in January. This hotel is quiet, friendly and relaxing. We have always had the king suite. It is like a small apartment! We buy groceries at the Whole Foods store down the road, and enjoy healthier food than if we ate out all the time, and we save money. The hotel also offers a shopping service, which i believe is complimentary, but so far we have not used it. A good idea though!
They have a shuttle which will take you anywhere in a 2-mile radius. One day when my husband was watching football, I took it to the nearby shopping area. So handy when you don't feel like driving in an unfamiliar area.
We also enjoy the breakfast, the pool area (in the winter, the sun is only on it in the morning...), and the gas fire pits to sit around in the evening.

Room Tip: A king suite on the top floor is awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle J, General Manager at Residence Inn Phoenix Desert View at Mayo Clinic, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let others know how you feel about your visits to the desert and our hotel. Your description of the suite is quite true and our guests enjoy both the suites and the amenities. Yes, it is a great place in the winter when the weather is colder in other areas. You can easily maintain your healthy lifestyle by cooking your own meals as you do, or enjoying our evening reception and breakfast which are both complimentary.
We are happy to provide our shuttle to the nearby Marketplace which includes shopping, dining and a movie theater as we know our guests appreciate not having to drive everywhere. We look forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

A 3 day business trip to Phoenix brought me to this hotel. What a pleasant experience all around. Check in was fast and easy, and staff was friendly and accommodating. My King room was surprisingly roomy and well-appointed. I really appreciated the Paul Mitchell shampoo and conditioner....what a nice change from the cheap stuff usually offered at other like hotels. The free hot breakfast was wonderful....very good variety and lots of seating in their large lobby. I would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle J, General Manager at Residence Inn Phoenix Desert View at Mayo Clinic, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Your comments about our hotel go to the core of our Brand! We pride ourselves on creating an inviting suite and including the upscale products that mirror your personal choices. We are happy you enjoyed the breakfast and the ability to dine in comfort! Thanks for letting others know how pleased you were with your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

My buddy and I stayed here a couple of nights while at INC 500/5000. It was convenient to the conference and the room was great. The breakfast selection in the morning is also quite good. The fitness center is small but definitely adequate. They have a great pool and there never seemed to be mobs of people around it which was nice. The hotel itself was extremely clean and comfortable. I can't speak to the price because we were put up by a foundation, but it definitely is a great place to stay if you need to be in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle J, General Manager at Residence Inn Phoenix Desert View at Mayo Clinic, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
How great it is to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and took advantage of the amenities during your stay. The fitness center does allow our guests to keep up their workout program. Others may choose to enjoy hiking on nearby beautiful trails or in the mountains. Our housekeeping team is pleased to know you noticed and appreciated the cleanliness. Everyone works hard to maintain the Marriott standards of good service and cleanliness for all of our guests. Thank you for letting us know you enjoyed your visit to the hotel and please plan to stay here again should you return to the desert!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for nearly a month while visiting a family member at Mayo Clinic Hospital. Staff were friendly and attentive. Common areas bright and pleasant, but hallway carpets are long overdue for a cleaning. Room was clean, comfortable and well serviced each day. Short walk from hotel to hosptial. Convenient free shuttle to nearby shopping centers for groceries (Whole Foods), restuarants (nothing special), movies, and extra clothes. Pool area limited but pleasant patio with firepit for evenings. Breakfasts plentiful, but would have liked to see more healthy options.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

An unexpected need to stay overnight in Phoenix brought us to the Residence Inn at Mayo. We have stayed at other RI's and were pleased to see this property has all indoor hallway room access, more like a regular Marriott. Check-in was smooth and staff asked if there was anything at all they could do to help us get settled or answer any questions about the area. We asked about finding a nice bottle of wine to bring back to the room and they guided us to Total Wine at the Desert Ridge Mall not five minutes away! Desert Ridge has a multitude of great stores and restaurants for every budget (http://www.shopdesertridge.com ) .

Our room was a one bedroom suite with a fully equipped and full size stainless steel kitchen (range top, fridge, microwave and dishwasher). Closet space is more than adequate, even for a long stay. The bedroom is separated from the living area by doors and the shower/toilet is separated from the vanity sink area, so privacy is possible. The door to toilet/shower is a little tight when closing, so those in a wheelchair may find it a little challenging (though other fully ADA rooms are available in the hotel). Bed was very comfy and the living room furniture included a recliner.

Breakfast had something for everyone...from a simple continental format to hot bacon and eggs. the dining area overlooked a nice size pool (no hot tub by the way). Near the pool are BarBQ's for guest use...a nice touch if staying more than a few days. There is also the usual Sundry store near the front lobby. We were humbled at breakfast to realize how many people dining near us were being treated at Mayo, their families at their sides.

The hotel is located next door to Mayo clinic and is not walking distance to any "sights or attractions". As mentioned earlier, Desert Ridge is five minutes away on HWY 101 for shopping and golf and North Scottsdale is about a ten minute drive.

We would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I stayed at this property with my husband and daughter for a soccer tournament in early November. This was a Stay to Play hotel for the tournament, so the team chose this property. We were pleased because the hotel allows dogs for an additional fee (which is costly, but worth it to have our dogs with us). The hotel is beautiful, clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful and very pet friendly. If a pet had ever stayed in our room previously, it was not obvious (no "pet room" smell!! Maybe that pet fee goes to deep cleaning!!). We had a 2 bed suite on the first floor (convenient to get the dogs in and out). The pool was nice and the breakfast was good (my daughter loves the wafflemakers at those places). Kitchenette was convenient and saved us money on eating out. Beds were ok comfortwise. Hotel is hard to get to - can see it but have to know to turn into Mayo Clinic entrance to get to hotel. Have to drive to restaurants and grocery store (nothing within walking distance). I recommend this property for its friendly staff, cleanliness and pet friendly policies.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Phoenix Desert View at Mayo Clinic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Phoenix Desert View at Mayo Clinic

Address: 5665 E Mayo Boulevard, Phoenix, AZ 85054
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Desert Ridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#45 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Phoenix Desert View at Mayo Clinic 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Residence Inn Phoenix Desert View at Mayo Clinic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Phoenix Desert View At Mayo Clinic Hotel Phoenix

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Phoenix Desert View at Mayo Clinic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.