We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, Friendly Staff...Perfect for Mayo Patients/Family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Phoenix Desert View at Mayo Clinic

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Phoenix Desert View at Mayo Clinic to your Saves list
Residence Inn Phoenix Desert View at Mayo Clinic
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5665 E Mayo Boulevard, Phoenix, AZ 85054 (Desert Ridge)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sleep In & Save 20%!
Ranked #29 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
arizona
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Comfortable, Friendly Staff...Perfect for Mayo Patients/Family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

An unexpected need to stay overnight in Phoenix brought us to the Residence Inn at Mayo. We have stayed at other RI's and were pleased to see this property has all indoor hallway room access, more like a regular Marriott. Check-in was smooth and staff asked if there was anything at all they could do to help us get settled or answer any questions about the area. We asked about finding a nice bottle of wine to bring back to the room and they guided us to Total Wine at the Desert Ridge Mall not five minutes away! Desert Ridge has a multitude of great stores and restaurants for every budget (http://www.shopdesertridge.com ) .

Our room was a one bedroom suite with a fully equipped and full size stainless steel kitchen (range top, fridge, microwave and dishwasher). Closet space is more than adequate, even for a long stay. The bedroom is separated from the living area by doors and the shower/toilet is separated from the vanity sink area, so privacy is possible. The door to toilet/shower is a little tight when closing, so those in a wheelchair may find it a little challenging (though other fully ADA rooms are available in the hotel). Bed was very comfy and the living room furniture included a recliner.

Breakfast had something for everyone...from a simple continental format to hot bacon and eggs. the dining area overlooked a nice size pool (no hot tub by the way). Near the pool are BarBQ's for guest use...a nice touch if staying more than a few days. There is also the usual Sundry store near the front lobby. We were humbled at breakfast to realize how many people dining near us were being treated at Mayo, their families at their sides.

The hotel is located next door to Mayo clinic and is not walking distance to any "sights or attractions". As mentioned earlier, Desert Ridge is five minutes away on HWY 101 for shopping and golf and North Scottsdale is about a ten minute drive.

We would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    34
    17
    0
    3
See reviews for
26
26
17
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Durango, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I stayed at this property with my husband and daughter for a soccer tournament in early November. This was a Stay to Play hotel for the tournament, so the team chose this property. We were pleased because the hotel allows dogs for an additional fee (which is costly, but worth it to have our dogs with us). The hotel is beautiful, clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful and very pet friendly. If a pet had ever stayed in our room previously, it was not obvious (no "pet room" smell!! Maybe that pet fee goes to deep cleaning!!). We had a 2 bed suite on the first floor (convenient to get the dogs in and out). The pool was nice and the breakfast was good (my daughter loves the wafflemakers at those places). Kitchenette was convenient and saved us money on eating out. Beds were ok comfortwise. Hotel is hard to get to - can see it but have to know to turn into Mayo Clinic entrance to get to hotel. Have to drive to restaurants and grocery store (nothing within walking distance). I recommend this property for its friendly staff, cleanliness and pet friendly policies.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lake havasu city
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I recently booked a stay here using points, as I am a nearly 30-year Marriott customer. I intended to stay with my family over Thanksgiving, while visiting relatives. I called in advance to check on availability of rooms, and was assured there were plenty unbooked. When my family and I arrived, we were told that we would not be upgraded, but that we could purchase the upgrade with cash. It wasn't an issue of the room type we desired being unavailable, but simply management's discretion. After much conversation with the Assistant Manager, we requested that they call the Tempe location and check availability there. Instead, we were given the number and called ourselves. Tempe location was more that happy to accommodate, so we packed our bags back into the car and drove to the Tempe location. Our stay there was perfect, they could not have been more welcoming. Tempe will be our destination of choice from here on out. Special thanks to their Front Desk Supervisor, Christine H. for making our Thanksgiving a wonderful experience. Marriott has a gem in this employee.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I stayed here off and on for more than a month and the staff was extremely helpful and friendly.
The hotel is in perfect condition. The rooms are nice and the beds are very comfortable. Wish all Residence Inns were this quality.

Room Tip: If you are visiting Mayo hotel, please ask for Special Mayo rates
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Pleasantly surprised when arrived and stayed for two nights when the nearby JW was booked. Several others in our party were also impressed with the cleanliness, size and value of the location. The only drawback was the location itself. Not much around within walking distance...except for the Mayo Clinic.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Virginia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

The folks at front desk were pleasant and helpful. The room was tidy, clean. Its very close to Mayo and they have a shuttle that goes there. I'd stay again if need be. The buffet breakfast was awesome! There were real eggs and potatoes.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I can’t say enough good things about the Residence Inn Desert View. After our hot water tank bit the dust we needed a place to stay with our 6 year old 6 pound dog so that we could have a hot shower. I had suggested the above since our company has numerous folks also staying there when they come to town. From the moment we checked in on August 24th to our check out on August 29th it was perfect. Our room was on the first floor (by request) right next to the door out to the dog area.

The room was beautiful with a full kitchen, large refrigerator and microwave. The layout was also great – we could close the door from the living space into the bathroom/bedroom area so the dog didn’t wander during the night.

We didn’t do any cooking, but we did take advantage of the complimentary breakfasts in the morning. The whole grain make your own waffles were the best. We also had the eggs/sausage/potatoes with a number of toppings you could put on your eggs.

Our room was always immaculate when we returned to shower/sleep and we had plenty of towels. The bed was exceptionally comfortable (we have a memory foam at home so we are really picky) with soft linens and feather pillows – just like home! Although we didn’t take advantage of it they have a beautiful salt water pool.

Now I know why our folks that are here for more than a couple of days at time insist on staying at the Residence Inn Desert View. I highly recommend it for travelers that are doing business/visiting in the North Scottsdale area.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Phoenix Desert View at Mayo Clinic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Phoenix Desert View at Mayo Clinic

Address: 5665 E Mayo Boulevard, Phoenix, AZ 85054
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Desert Ridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#34 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Phoenix Desert View at Mayo Clinic 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Phoenix Desert View at Mayo Clinic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Phoenix Desert View At Mayo Clinic Hotel Phoenix

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Phoenix Desert View at Mayo Clinic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.