We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Desert Oasis” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arizona Biltmore, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Arizona Biltmore, A Waldorf Astoria Resort to your Saves list
Arizona Biltmore, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   2400 East Missouri Avenue, Phoenix, AZ 85016   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Seattle
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Desert Oasis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

It's been 10 years since my last Biltmore stay. We suggested it to our friends when we all weto Phoenix for baseball spring training. It was a happy choice for us. The Biltmore exceeded my memories of it being a grand hotel with spacious grounds. Frank Lloyd Wright was a consulting architect on the creation of the Biltmore in the late 1920s. His influence resonates throughout down to the mission furniture and the exterior building blocks with geometric designs. Throughout its 85 year old history, various owners have added and updated while being true to the Lloyd Wright style of architecture. Owners have brought Wright designed stained glass panels and sculptures as additions to the original hotel property. The lighting, rugs, furniture and artwork throughout, were all Wright designed or influenced.
There's a private resort feeling to the extensive grounds. There are multiple swimming pools and a complete exercise facility. There's a spa and golf course which we didn't have time to try. The Biltmore was a welcome refuge to regroup from the desert sun with a cool beverage on the terrace. Terrace service at the Wright Bar was attentive. Curiously the front desk seemed understaffed for a Waldorf Astoria Hilton/Biltmore, as we had to wait or did not receive a response when we called down on occasion. Our friends enjoyed the additional amenities offered at the Ocatilla Villas. There's a reason why every American president since the Biltmore’s creation has stayed there. Presidential elegance. Admittedly some furnishings could use a refresh. There are other luxury facilities in the area, with better service, but without the history and extensive grounds.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    46
    33
    14
    5
See reviews for
53
67
10
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
White Rock, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My family of four had a beautiful long weekend at the Biltmore. From arrival to departure we all found our hotel experience delightful. The history, architecture and gardens of the Biltmore make it into a monumental hotel that one must stay at! Johnathon at the front desk was more than professional and made our entire check-in experience fantastic, jovial and stress free. I did specifically request a renovated room and was easily provided with a lovely, beautiful, recently renovated room. We stayed from Wednesday to Sunday and did find the weekend busier but found the right activities and quieter pools easily. All of the staff were happy, cheerful and had just the perfect demeanor to them. We have stayed at Mandarin Oriental hotels and resorts and I will confidently say that my recent experience at the Biltmore Arizona was very comparable in service, quality and overall resort experience to our experiences at the Mandarin. I believe that the vintage nature of this hotel is a dramatic component of why people stay here and perhaps some of my fellow reviewers need to embrace the history and timeless qualities of this amazing property.

Room Tip: Simply ask for one of the recently renovated rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

. . . offering high quality accommodations, excellent customer service, and old fashioned resort ambience in a modern setting. The fountains, floral landscape, and plush furnishings remind you that it is a destination, not merely a hotel.

Room Tip: High floor, terrace building was quiet with a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My family stayed her in March, 2015. The hotel grounds are really beautiful but it lost it luster as soon as we checked in.. we didn't feel welcomed, the room felt modern and sterile but not welcoming.. we had to send one of our dishes back at dinner as it was not cooked and waited, what seemed like forever for another dish..

For me it felt just like any other Hilton hotel..

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

STAY AT THE PHOENICIAN OR SAVE YOUR MONEY AND STAY AT THE HHILTON. But for the Biltmore, the rooms are OLD (not antique and historic) like decor of the 70s with run down furniture. The front desk answers the phone after about 20 rings when onsite and sometimes not ever if calling from off-property. The electrical outlets and USB port chargers are few in the room and if found, not working. The amenities were minuscule just like the shot glass bottles of water that wouldn't quench ant's thirst. The gym did not have any bottled water or amenities for anyone really working out. The instructions to use the Internet are wrong. The front desk staff humiliate guests into making them believe they are wrong. The window sills in the room have chipped paint. The bellmen drop off luggage in the wrong rooms. The front desk associates do not check the reservation and call the room and greet you by the wrong name. (Happened three times by three different people)

Room Tip: Stay at the Phoenician and save your money! This is a 5 star hotel worth 3 day minning..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I was expecting more from a Waldorf Astoria property. This hotel isn't fully renovated yet. For example, we were told by the front desk that we were "upgraded" to Ocatilla suite bit when we got there it looked dated and we were facing a wall. We moved to Valley wing and it was better. I loved Frank and Albert's breakfast buffet and food overall. The hotel has nice pool but it was always too busy and crowded that we didn't even go there. It was not a relaxing place. I don't think I will be returning to this property. I'd rather stay at Westin or the Boulders.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

I stayed for the 1st time to attend a 3 day conference. I thought the property was very nice. Well groomed and very pretty to look at. Just sorry it was a quick trip for business & I could not enjoy the property to the fullest. Our meals were very well done with good food and even better service. The room was larger & very nice. Looks like it was recently remodeled. The lines were long at check in as only 3 clerks were there to assist. Very nice staff just not enough to handle the guests timely.
Frank & Alberts was nice to eat at. A little pricy but given the resort not surprising.

Helpful hint. Sign up for their Hilton Honors reward program to get the points for future travel stays. Ask for a room in the main building if you want to be close. The cottages looked nice but some are a long walk to the main building.

Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arizona Biltmore, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arizona Biltmore, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 2400 East Missouri Avenue, Phoenix, AZ 85016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Phoenix
#5 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#8 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#9 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#29 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#29 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Arizona Biltmore, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 738
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Polished and refined, the Arizona Biltmore,a Waldorf Astoria Resort shines brighter than ever following a grand restoration. This historic luxury resort has been a destination of inspiration for over 85 years spanning over 39 acres of lush gardens, 8 sparkling swimming pools and iconic architecture. Championship golf, the 22,000+ square foot Spa Biltmore and fitness center, multiple restaurants, and a variety of amenities await you. Experience the unrivaled grace of this timeless treasure with a spirited soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Arizona Biltmore, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arizona Biltmore Hotel Phoenix

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arizona Biltmore, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.