We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel - Interesting Clientele” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arizona Biltmore, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Save Saved
You added Arizona Biltmore, A Waldorf Astoria Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Arizona Biltmore, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   2400 East Missouri Avenue, Phoenix, AZ 85016   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 175 hotels in Phoenix
Portland, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel - Interesting Clientele”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

The Biltmore is a great hotel - love the pools and workout area. We happened to catch it when there was a large conference with tons of smokers. Additionally, we ordered gluten free menu items and they clearly were not resulting in some unfortunate issues.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,064 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    997
    523
    299
    164
    81
See reviews for
350
566
90
745
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san antonio, tx
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I stayed here for a large conference (4000). This is a beautiful faccility. Our room rate was $99 per night plus tax and the resort fee of $28 was waived. Conference attendees were also given 20 off at the cafe (a take out facility). The hotel's breakfasst buffet is excellent. The meeting rooms are separate from the sleeping rooms and required us to walk outside in the intense heat to get to them. When my bill showed a charge for the minibar which my roommate and I didn't use it was promptly removed. I would recommend this facility for anyone holding a large conference since it is such a beautiful facility.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Went here on the 4th of July weeked for a business meeting and a bookend of a couple relaxing days... so I thought! This was a rough experience.
First the positives. The property is beautiful. The quality of the food and beverage was good. The room price was good.
Now the negatives: This placed was packed to the gills with little kids. Yelling, sreaming, unaccompanied and dominating all the common areas including every pool on the property. Apparently they open up the hotel to Biltmore area homeowners. There was not one quiet moment in the common areas.
Another negative was that management was very unconcerned that some guests didn't want to have every common area filled with kids.
The prices on everything except the room were very high. I've stayed at most resorts in the Scottsdale area and this is a common practice in the summer to price the room low and then overprice everything else. That is the case here too. Parking is $30 per day.
The older buildings are very far apart. I walked miles to carry my luggae to the room. Literally. Room service is delivered on a bike due to the distance. There are Bell Porters around but they want to hold luggage outside until called at it was 112 degrees.
Few electric outlets in room and none at desk level. Only one elevator working in building where I stayed. Undefined "service fees" for room service.
I won't be back.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in a room where there is parking near the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_ArizonaBiltmore, Manager at Arizona Biltmore, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Paulie66,

We regret that we were not able to provide you with the quality of service you deserve and expected during your recent stay. We strive for unparalleled service delivery at our hotel, and we are always looking for ways to ensure that each guest experiences the very best we have to offer. We believe that very best service experiences are genuine, anticipatory and personalized and we will continue to work to ensure our guests find that level of service at our hotel. Your feedback will help us to continue to improve our level of service, and we hope you will return to stay with us to experience the results of that work firsthand.

Kind regards,
Chintan Dadhich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodinville, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The hotel is a work of art. The architecture is from a grand era. The setting of the grounds is worth viewing. The staff will bend over backwards to assist their guests. The hotel as a whole is outstanding .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, ca
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I stayed there during a conference. The room rates were cheap - about $100/night. I would be more upset if it were more expensive than that & I wouldn't stay here if I didn't have the group rate. The building and architecture is amazing. The grounds are nicely maintained. However, the bungalows were hot, humid, and super outdated. No central air in the bungalows (I moved into the Terrace - which looked like a run down apartment building in Los Angeles). In fact, it looked like the place hadn't been updated in 20 years. The staff was pleasant and friendly and accommodating. However, they also screwed up my bill & charged me about $150 extra. Just getting my hands on the bill itself was a hassle - you have to call them, sign a release form, and wait for them to send it to you - took 2 days! Ridiculous. Again, the exterior grounds were very nice but not worth much more than the group rate I paid.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I have stayed in 5 star resorts in 3 countries; all across the USA, Canada, and in Mexico. My experience at the Biltmore Resort was - with no reservations - the finest of my life. From the moment I arrived, the staff was attentive and personable. The grounds were exquisite. The pools were incredible. The room was clean, well furnished, comfortable, and spacious. The bathroom was wonderful. The towels were to die for. I had the best meal of my LIFE at the on site, Wright's.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The Arizona Biltmore is a wonderful, classic hotel with so much potential, but certainly not a 5 star hotel anymore (I'm a travel agent and would NOT send clients there looking for a 5 star experience!). This was my second stay this summer (the rates are great!!) and some of the issues were: Trash can was left on the toilet when we got into the room; we forgot our toothbrush, called down to the front desk, and after about 30 rings, it was answered and we were told to come down and get one. We did go down...only to be told they were out and they'd have housekeeping send one up; at check-in was told the breakfast buffett was at 6:30 (wrong...it is at 7 and we needed to leave the hotel at 7....we did go into the cafe to check that out, but didn't feel like spending $4+ for a cup of coffee or can of soda); terrible, non-existant food service out by the pool. We finally did get in to see the breakfast buffett and it was pretty limited for about $20 per person. Yes, these are all minor issues but must be addressed to be a 5 star hotel. That being said, the staff are friendly, the room was nice and in good condition (other than not being able to get the shower to stop dripping water). I hope management will pay attention to the details and bring the place up to a better service level ...there are lots of luxury hotels in Phoenix/Scottsdale and sadly, the Biltmore is not up to the competition.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Arizona Biltmore, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arizona Biltmore, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 2400 East Missouri Avenue, Phoenix, AZ 85016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Phoenix
#5 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#8 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#16 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#26 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#35 Business Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Arizona Biltmore, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arizona Biltmore,a Waldorf Astoria Resort has been a destination of inspiration for over 85 years. 39 Acres of lush gardens, 8 swimming pools and iconic architecture stir a city to life, provide safe haven to celebrities and presidents, and play muse to guests' whims and wishes throughout this historical luxury resort. Championship golf, a 22,000+ square foot spa and fitness center, multiple restaurants, and a variety of amenities await you. Experience the unrivaled grace of this timeless treasure with a spirited soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Arizona Biltmore, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arizona Biltmore Hotel Phoenix

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arizona Biltmore, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.