We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice accomodations, great breakfast, okay area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Phoenix Airport South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Phoenix Airport South to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Phoenix Airport South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4234 South 48th Street, Phoenix, AZ 85040 (Formerly Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix Airport South) (South Mountain)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
skat94
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice accomodations, great breakfast, okay area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2006

My husband and I stayed at this hotel in January 2006 for the Fiesta Bowl. This Hampton Inn was very reasonably priced compared to other hotels in the area. The hotel itself was in very nice condition. The rooms were modern and very comfortable. I don't expect much with a complimentary breakfast but this breakfast was good. The selection changed every day but it always included bagels/muffins/danishes as well as eggs/bacon/ham/pancakes etc.. There's also free parking and complimentary coffee all day in the lobby. There isn't much to do within walking distance. It's about a 5-10 minute drive to Arizona State's off-campus area for restaurants and shopping. Overall, I thought this property was a great value.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    56
    28
    12
    5
See reviews for
50
55
18
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
LARGO
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2005

Stayed here start of Dec. for 2 nights. Easy freeway access. Not many restaurants in area except for Del Taco and the British Pub (good happy hour, expensive food). Very nice staff and shuttle service. Good breakfast with hot entrees and tasty coffee. Clean good sized rooms, nice bathroom. Slightly noisy through windows. Small useful fitness room and computers to use, also high-speed internet. Felt safe but area could be better. Pool looks inviting. Not in a tourist zone.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL, USA
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
206 helpful votes 206 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2005

I stay at a lot of Hampton Inns for business and I would rate this property as "O.K." The airport location is quite good and the British Pub next door is quite a trip. However, we had all sorts of problems checking in because we had two rooms with two separate reservations with the same last name and that seemed to throw off the desk clerk. This immediately followed being approached by a person in the parking lot begging for money--not all that comfortable when you are wheeling luggage and expensive computer equipment. We were told by the front desk clerk that they had been having problems with people accosting guests in the parking lot asking for money and they were working on upgrading their security measures. Until they can confidently control this, I would not recommend this property for a woman travelling alone.

  • Stayed November 2005, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, az
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2005

I really enjoyed my stay. I was not sure what to expect, but the rooms were great. The beds were very nice and the location of the hotel was perfect. Right off the freeway, close to arizona mills mall and mills avenue.

The staff was very friendly. The only thing I did not like was the elevators, they seemed to make lots of strange noises, but they worked just fine.

I will stay here again in the future!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, VA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2004

Located south of the airport (10 minutes drive away with comp shuttle). Hotel gets traffic from those driving in to fly out next day as well as passengers from cancelled flights (AmericaWest). Normally hotels with large # of 1 night stays gets worn down quickly. This property though is well maintained in better than average condition and rooms tidy and clean. Despite proximity to various highways relatively quiet. There is an English pub/rest next door where food is good -- unfortunately no other restaurant choices within walkng distance. Recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingley,UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2003

This is a really excellent place to stay close to the airport. The staff are excellent and very helpful and the rooms are clean and tidy and very well maintained. Added to that the complimentary breakfast was very good.I would have no hesitation in staying at The Hampton Inn again and would thoroughly recommend it as a good place close to the airport.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, AK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2003

The staff was very helpful in giving directions to area attractions and shopping! The room was great and the morning breakfast was excellent! A great place for the corporate traveler and families. I look forward to another visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Phoenix Airport South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Phoenix Airport South

Address: 4234 South 48th Street, Phoenix, AZ 85040 (Formerly Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix Airport South)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > South Mountain
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#45 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Phoenix Airport South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Country Inn & Suites(R) hotel in Phoenix-Airport South is the perfect choice for hotel reservations near the Sky Harbor Phoenix International Airport. Our hotel is just minutes from the PHX Airport just off Interstate-10 and 6 miles from Downtown Phoenix. Our Country Inn & Suites(R) hotel in Phoenix-Airport South is near everything you want to visit while in the Phoenix area surrounding the PHX Airport. Of course the educational institute of Arizona State University (ASU) is easily reached from our hotel. Shopping is plentiful in Phoenix and Tempe with Arizona Mills Mall and Tempe Marketplace amongst the nearby choices. Other nearby attractions and points of interest around our Phoenix hotel are: Chase Field (Downtown) The Phoenix Art Museum (Downtown) Old Town Scottsdale University of Phoenix Big Surf Waterpark (Tempe) Nearby companies located in the area include the Cotton Center Business Park, Honeywell, ACS, Motorola, Emerson, TDK, PPG, Desert Willow Center, Swift Aviation, Pepsi, Coca Cola, 3M and more. For the golfing enthusiasts there are several public and private courses in the nearby area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Carlson, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, AAA Travel Services, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Phoenix Airport South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix Airport South Hotel Phoenix
Hampton Inn And Suites Phoenix Airport South
Hampton Inn Phoenix
Phoenix Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Phoenix Airport South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.