We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WE love this hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Phoenix

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Phoenix to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Phoenix
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   320 North 44th Street, Phoenix, AZ 85008 (Camelback East)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Upgrade for WiFi & Drinks
Ranked #33 of 175 hotels in Phoenix
Phoenix, United States
1 review
“WE love this hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Everything about this hotel is first class. We stay here every chance we get. Both my husband and I have worked in the hospitality industry. We have also traveled extensively. We have not experienced a better stay in any hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerphxDT, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Phoenix, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Wow Patricia R., thank you for the high praise! I will be sure to pass your compliments onto our team. I also thank you for your loyalty. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    266
    223
    65
    26
    16
See reviews for
142
143
61
185
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Idaho
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

A well used hotel that has been maintained *fairly* well. The rooms were clean, beds and pillows comfortable, fairly quiet and very spacious. Coffee maker, fridge, bar sink, table in the living room, and wifi.

The front desk had water with lemon slices on tap for the first few days, but wasn't available for the weekend. Coffee was only available during breakfast, which would be nice to have available all the time.

There was a problem with one of the courtyard elevators off and on through weekend. The bar food was great and they accommodating by letting us take our beer, wine and food out to the courtyard to eat. The chairs and tables weren't all that comfortable, but were able to drag them all together for our small group to sit around.

Room Tip: Our corner end room was pretty quiet except for an occasional person dragging their suitcases down t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerphxDT, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Phoenix, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
I hope that your reunion was fantastic! The Hotel met your group's needs and the courtyard worked well for catching up over a snack and a beverage. Visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The hotel was very nice, great design, clean and well kept property. Found the hotel staff to be very friendly, professional and making sure every need was taken care of. The complimentary breakfast in the Belvedere was excellent, the fruit was fresh, food was was warm and tasteful. I would stay at this Doubletree again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerphxDT, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Phoenix, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
I'm happy that you would choose us again if you're in Phoenix. I will pass your compliments of "professional" and "friendly" onto my team. I will give an extra shout out to the culinary team for the excellent breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed at the Doubletree with a group of 15 reunion friends on October 17th through the 20th similar to our stay here 7 years ago. We arrived very early (9:00am) due to our early flight from the east coast. The hotel shuttle picked us up promptly at the airport. Rooms were already available on the 1st floor. We elected to wait for a better room location on a higher floor while waiting for our friends in the courtyard area next to the pool. The concierge held our bags until we checked in after we had lunch at their Belvedere restaurant which had excellent food and service. Check-in was smooth and they gave each person a warm chocolate chip cookie. Nice touch. We were in room 442. The rooms are all suites, very well appointed & clean. We had no problems at all and every staff member that we came into contact with was friendly, especially the shuttle driver who was very accommodating and eager to please. If you wanted to go somewhere local like the CVS pharmacy a mile away, he was able to drop you off and pick you up. Each morning we had their complimentary breakfast at the Belvedere which had a very good selection of hot food, fresh fruit etc. We spent a lot of time at this hotel with our friends sitting around the courtyard area enjoying the warm Phoenix sun and chatting. Kudos to the staff and facilities. We’ll most likely be back again for another reunion. See my photos for a close up look.

Room Tip: 4th floor is the Hilton Honors floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerphxDT, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Phoenix, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
I'm pleased that we got you a suite in the area you wanted. I'm confident that everyone in your reunion group received warm and accommodating service from our team. Hopefully your group decides to meet here sooner than seven years from now. Until then...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

My family and I attended a wedding in the area and we are glad we selected the Double Tree in Phoenix. We rented 2 rooms and the hotel was really accommodating for our family which included 6 adults and 2 children. We wanted to spend some time together since we were all traveling from 4 different locations, so it was cozy but not too tight. Everyone was pleased with the breakfast. The hotel allowed us to check in early, the kids and adults enjoyed the pool. Rooms were nicely appointed.

The negatives were not so bad and quickly rectified by staff. One day the hot water was out but the hotel responded by giving us access to another room where the water was working. We used the sofa bed one night, but realized it was super uncomfortable, the hotel understood and brought us a roll-away instead, which was perfectly comfortable.

The location is a little out of the way, but we had a rental car, and they have free Parking. Phoenix seems more like a driving city anyway so we were okay with that.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerphxDT, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Phoenix, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
I'm happy that our hotel worked well for you while in town for a wedding. I apologize for the few areas we fell short but our team reacted well to the challenges. We hope that you stay with us again the next time you visit sunny Phoenix.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caye Caulker, Belize
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I found nothing wrong with the layout, as a matter of fact it was a nice change. Beautiful, spacious clean rooms. The pool area was very enjoyable, even though neither of us had a bathing suit, we just sat out there and read. The staff were very helpful, especially Rosalen,helping me get to the hotel from the airport, by free shuttle. The food from the restaurant was very good, especially the tortilla soup, which I had twice in the same day. It was a wonderful end for a very stressful day.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Doubletree Phoenix

I stay in so many hotels. With Hilton alone, I've stayed in a variety of properties with some 35 stays this year alone. When I run across an exceptional property, like I did at the Doubletree Suites at Phoenix's Sky Harbor Airport, I am delighted to write a review.

First, let my qualify exceptional. Value for the money was the most exceptional feature. But this property is truly unique.

It's extremely well managed. The shuttle driver told me it's had the same owners for about 20 years and they run a tight ship. It shows. While we are talking about the shuttle, it runs every half hour to the airport. Great, courteous and helpful driver who said they will even give you a lift to nearby locales.

I'm surprised no other reviewers mentioned the architecture. With so many boxy hotels, it's so nice to see one with design integrity. It's a series of low rise southwest- style buildings (six stories) connected by sky bridges. For those with fears of heights, you don't have to take a sky bridge if you take the elevator bank nearest to your room. The room doors open into "al fresco" halls. It's very safe since each entrance to the property is secured. These open air hallways double as great view spots. The one outside my room had an amazing view of the Camelback Mountain. My room also had a view of Camelback. Stunning.

It has all the expected amenities of a Doubletree. The gym is small, but has free weights, three treadmills, and a bike. An elliptical would have been nice. The pool area is lovely. Centered is such a way that it captures a good part of the days sun. There are terminals for printing flight coupons...all of what one expects. All of the staff were helpful and friendly. I understand many of the house keepers have been on the property for 15+ years.

I enjoyed lunch in the bar and grill. The menu was fairly limited to salads, burgers and sandwiches. The server recommended the pastrami, which was very good. Served with steakhouse fries, I only wish they had the alternative of shoestring fries. Bloody Mary's are tasty. The dinner menu was more expansive, but I didn't try dinner.

Location, location, location. I took the lite rail to see the city since I didn't have a car. One trip took me to Mill Ave in Tempe the other to downtown PHX. The station is one long block from the hotel and rides are $4/day. On my downtown trip, I stopped at Hulas Modern Tiki. What a great spot. It's a fantastic system that is easily understood.

The rooms are nice with nice views. A little on the modest side in terms of decor, but very clean and attractive. High on function, low on panache. Small bathrooms. The little kitchens are handy and there is a convenience store across the street.

For you Hilton Honors folks, the extras are nice. Two bottles of water in a bag with a nice array of snacks plus the famous chocolate chip cookies upon check in. Two free drink vertices yes at the bar. Free wireless. The housekeeper kept my room supplied with two bottles of water/day. I think all guests receive this.

I obviously loved this hotel and plan to make it my little getaway given it's proximity to PHX, extraordinary staff and value for the dollar.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Phoenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Phoenix

Address: 320 North 44th Street, Phoenix, AZ 85008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Camelback East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#23 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#41 Business Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Phoenix 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Start every day in style when you choose from our complimentary breakfast buffet at Belvedere's American Grill. A complimentary shuttle service connects you to the Phoenix airport, while the Metro Light Rail System is only one block away, making getting around while you are here stress-free.Make yourself at home in your spacious two-room suite at this Phoenix Airport hotel. A private bedroom and a separate seating area with sofa bed give you more flexibility for work or for the whole familyOur Business Class Technology Suites feature connectivity to most electronic devices for movies, music and computer monitor.DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Phoenix•Best Overall Customer Service Scores – Arizona DoubleTree By Hilton Hotels 2012•Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence – 2013 & 2012•Tripadvisor Greenleader Bronze Level•DoubleTree by Hilton Excellence in Quality Award – 20th Consecutive Outstanding Quality Assurance Evaluation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Phoenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Suites By Hilton Phoenix Hotel Phoenix
Doubletree Hotel Phoenix
Doubletree Phoenix

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Phoenix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.