We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great time!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hot Air Expeditions

Hot Air Expeditions
704 W. Deer Valley Rd, Phoenix, AZ 85027
(800) 831-7610
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$175*
and up
Ranked #12 of 107 Activities in Phoenix
Type: Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hot Air Expeditions is proud to provide hot air balloon flights in the Phoenix/Scottsdale area. We've been operating locally in the Valley of the Sun for over 22 years and voted the "best ballooning in Phoenix" by Fodor's Travel for 18 years in a row! We provide morning flights daily, year-round and afternoon flights are offered seasonally, November through March. All flights include gourmet catered fare from Vincents on Camelback, along with a champagne toast and flight certificate! The check in site is at The Deer Valley Airport (704 W. Deer Valley Road, Phoenix, AZ 85027), or we can pick you up at your hotel!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Sleepy Eye, Minnesota, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Had a great time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We just returned from the hot air balloon ride and had a great time. Capt. Mike England piloted the balloon and had a lot of information that he shared with us. He definitely made it great experience. We had a great brunch after we landed with champagne and mimosas. The ground crew and van driver were very personable and ready to jump in to take pictures for us. We would do it again and highly recommend it for anyone considering doing it.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    30
    11
    3
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A great time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

My Wife, daughter, and I had a blast with Capt. Mike England today. Treated great from the meeting at the airport to arriving at the balloon, to breakfast, and our return to the airport. Was a little nervous for the experience but would absolutely do it again! What a blast!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, VA
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great first time balloon ride!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

We got lucky with a great weather day. Comfortable temperature for launch around 7am with very light winds. Zakk was our crew chief and van driver and was a lot of fun. Patrick was our captain and is a senior pilot which helped all of us who were first timers. He was entertaining as well as informative. He worked to make sure all of us had a good flight and went home with many good photos.
Landing was fun as we came down gently and the crew manuvered the basket around so that that the balloon fabric wasn't damage when it was deflated. Interesting to watch as the crew worked up a sweat. Then came the gourmet brunch complete with mimosas. Patrick even presented a birthday desert for one of the passengers which we were all invited to share.
The expedition was really a lot of fun even for one lady who was afraid of heights. She said she had no problem with the altitude and we were over 1000 feet at one point.
It was a good time and I'd recommend it to all.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotAirExpeditions, Owner at Hot Air Expeditions, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Zakk and Patrick appreciate your kind words. And please feel free to share your photos on our Facebook page too! We would all LOVE to see them!

The sunset flights are wrapping up for the season in just a few weeks so we’re glad you were able to get one in!

Thank you again for choosing Hot Air Expeditions. We appreciate it very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Experience- highly recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Cameron was our hot air balloon pilot. He was great as was the whole experience. Set up of the balloons and finding the right location to fly from took a bit but once they got out the balloons and starting filling them it was neat to watch and time went more quickly. It was a bit chilly, but once in the balloon it wasn't bad. The balloons were "cozy" with 12 guests on board, but it was still an amazing experience. 5 balloons went up from this company and at least 2 went up from another local company. We were in the air for about an hour. We did the sunset flight which limits the flight time, but it was stunning and fortunately on our flight we also got to see an AMAZING full moon rising behind the mountains. Once landed we were given a champagne toast and some appetizers. Our balloon also celebrated two birthdays so we also shared cake. If you are thinking of doing a hot air balloon ride- do it for sure!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My whole family enjoyed the trip very much. We were actually flying above the clouds. Wonderful views and excellent guide-Tommy! The breakfast was very good too! Love the trip!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hot Air Expeditions also viewed

 

Been to Hot Air Expeditions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hot Air Expeditions, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.