We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, clean, and well managed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Phoenix Downtown Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Phoenix Downtown Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Phoenix Downtown Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   340 North 3rd Street, Phoenix, AZ 85004   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #24 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Westport, Connecticut
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Quiet, clean, and well managed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I was here for a conference and expected the usual long lines for check-in.... but that was not the case. A staff member was stationed in the reception area to greet guests and to help the line move smoothly and quickly. There plenty of check-in staff members and they were friendly and efficient. I had no problem when I requested a quiet room away from the elevator, and other high traffic areas.

A key was needed in the elevator to access the upper floors- a feature I like- but I could not get my key to work when I tried to go to my room after check-in. The staff was very attentive when I reported my difficulty and not only made a new key but also had a security team member go with me to my room to make sure the key would not be a problem there - and it was not.

The room was spacious, odor free, very clean, and colorful in a tasteful, non-gaudy fashion with a modern touch and good lighting. There was a large chest with more than ample hangers and an iron/ironing board. The chest had drawers on the bottom to allow all clothes to be unpacked and kept in the same location - very handy.

The bed was perfectly made with crisp, snow white linen. It was very comfortable without a mountain of decorative pillows (which get tossed back on the bed from guest to guest/stay to stay!) The room was quiet as promised and I slept well for my entire stay - not only because of the cozy bed and the quiet location of the room in the hotel, but also because there was very little street or outside noise.

There was a refrigerator, a well stocked free coffee (Starbucks) and tea bar, and a complimentary bottle of water each day.

The bathroom was clean and spacious but the water in the sink got MUCH too hot - nearly scalding - and I had to be careful to not get burned. It was difficult to blend the cold water with the hot water to get the right temperature both in the sink and in the shower. The shower seemed to have pressure problems - the flow fluctuated making for a somewhat aggravating showering experience.

The lighting, phones, and internet all worked well. The elevators were quiet and fast - not leaving you waiting either on your floor or in the lobby.

The hotel also has an option that allows guests with more than one night's stay to decide if they want housekeeping daily. For each day you decline housekeeping, you will be given a $5 food voucher for the restaurant or points will be added to your membership card if you belong to the Sheraton rewards program. Great green option!!

Getting transport to the airport was easy - even at an early hour.

This is a great place to stay. I will recommend it to my friends and would definitely come back again with my family.

Room Tip: Ask to be placed away from the elevator or high traffic areas - the staff seems to know their facili...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nic_PHX, Director of Rooms at Sheraton Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for providing such an in-depth and well balanced review. While your stay was not perfect, we appreciate knowing both the positive and for-improvement feedback, so that we can learn from it and do any necessary course-correcting afterwards.

I did so enjoy hearing so many positives about your stay and I think the most gratifying one to hear from a busy business traveler such as yourself is that you rested well while staying with us. Bravo.

Thank you for partnering with us in our Green efforts by participating in our “Make A Green Choice “program, we are thrilled that you saw the value in this program.

As for your recommendation to others on our behalf, we are grateful and very appreciative. Until the next time….

Warm Regards,

Nicole Cora
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    322
    70
    29
    25
See reviews for
64
78
74
688
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Medina, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The housekeeping at this hotel is awesome! My housekeeper Amelia DeGueiroz was really attentive, offering extra towels, extra coffee, extra service. Really great!

The housekeeping at this hotel is awesome! My housekeeper Amelia DeGueiroz was really attentive, offering extra towels, extra coffee, extra service. Really great!

The housekeeping at this hotel is awesome! My housekeeper Amelia DeGueiroz was really attentive, offering extra towels, extra coffee, extra service. Really great!

The housekeeping at this hotel is awesome! My housekeeper Amelia DeGueiroz was really attentive, offering extra towels, extra coffee, extra service. Really great!

The housekeeping at this hotel is awesome! My housekeeper Amelia DeGueiroz was really attentive, offering extra towels, extra coffee, extra service. Really great!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nic_PHX, Director of Rooms at Sheraton Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
We love to hear all of the compliments about our very special Ms. Amelia in housekeeping. It never gets old hearing about her caring and warm nature, and her high standards when it comes to her room cleaning responsibilities. If we could clone her several times over – we would!

Thank you for letting us know how special she made your stay.


Warm Regards,

Nicole Cora
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

This is a very nice modern hotel in the heart of downtown Phoenix. Walk to convention center 2-5 minutes. The pool area is nice as well as the workout room. The rooms were very nice and modern recently renovated I think. My negative’s are the bar in the lobby charges more for the drinks then the bar restaurant 30 feet away in the same hotel. Also the elevator system is stupid you need your key to use the elevator this can be very annoying. They need to hire a security guard to check guest keys instead. I will stay at this hotel again if I have the opportunity.

Room Tip: Higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nic_PHX, Director of Rooms at Sheraton Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We do love to hear that in spite of the items you mentioned, you would return and stay with us again, so we are happy that you found the majority of amenities that we offer to be of value.

We appreciate both your feedback and your business.

Warm Regards,

Nicole Cora
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This was about the 15th time staying here this year and I must admit I have enjoyed every stay. The rooms are nice and the beds are sooo comfortable! The new Breakfast Buffett was very tasty. Of course the front desk staff (especially Brooke) are extremely courteous and helpful! A great place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nic_PHX, Director of Rooms at Sheraton Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
And we are always happy to welcome you here!

We are very grateful for the loyalty you have shown to our hotel. This means a lot to us.
The new breakfast buffet – that is now known as the American Harvest Table – is a testament to the creativity and innovation of our culinary team. We’re delighted that you like it.

Thank you so much for your business, we will never take it for granted.

Warm Regards,

Nicole Cora
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lees Summit, Missouri, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Easy checkin, fast and courteous valet, great workout facility, clean outdoor patio, bar, heated outdoor pool and hot tub which were warm on a cool night, crisp sheets, clean bathroom, Starbucks in the room, a great view. Even a small card with a suggested running route was at the fingertips of the first person I asked.

There are a lot of restaurants and a movie theatre and a well-kept corporate park across the street. Besides that, most of downtown is business or sports franchise oriented.

I'd definitely stay here again for business, and at other Sheraton properties.

Room Tip: I asked for the highest floor available on the north side, looking at the mountains. If you get the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nic_PHX, Director of Rooms at Sheraton Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
We love that your review covers a lot of territory. Thank you for taking the time to write it.

We’re genuinely happy to know that your stay was one that makes you want to come back again, and that you were able to experience many of the unique things about our hotel that make it so special.

To hear that you would gladly stay at other Sheraton properties as well means that we found ways to really exceed your expectations. Thank you again for visiting us and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Until your next visit,

Nicole Cora
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new mexico
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We arrived at this hotel on November 22 and would be staying until November 25. We chose this hotel for location and pool for a 3 year old. Upon checking in we discovered that pool was closed due to renovation that was a huge disappointment. We were told that their sister hotel the Westin 3 blocks away will allow us to swim in their pool. That was a complete no for me. We decided to cancel our stay but since w booked through Expedia we would have to contact them. The manager on duty Carl Perkins advised us he would waive our one night stay since that was the policy to be charged. Expedia needed to speak to manager and they both spoke and things were cancelled. Expedia insisted that the Westin Phoenix Downtown was sold out until Carl Perkins checked and was able to get us a room for our entire stay. Thanks so much!!! We had a good experience with this hotel helping us out and looking for rooms at the Westin. We plan on coming back to this hotel in the future for a stay.

Room Tip: If traveling for pool reason please call the week of travel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nic_PHX, Director of Rooms at Sheraton Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about Carl and how he assisted you while you were in Phoenix. Carl is one of those people who genuinely cares about people, and so it is not a surprise to hear that he came through for you in your time of need – we will however, ensure that he knows about your kind words for him.

We look forward to seeing you again and know that you will enjoy the 4th floor pool area, with its adjoining Breeze Bar, which was just recently added to the area. You may also want to have a look at our herb garden on the other side of the patio, since our culinary team incorporates the herbs and vegetables grown there into the dishes served in the restaurant.

See you again soon.

Warm Regards,

Nicole Cora
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Was here on business, very comfortable room. Also did the $5 coupon for every day without maid service and traded it in for points. Pool a bit cold, but refreshing. Gym well equipped and clean. Nice to have free computer/internet use in the lobby area. Very convenient for conference center, but not much else nearby.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nic_PHX, Director of Rooms at Sheraton Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Your comfort is our business.

We love our business travelers and love that they feel that they can retain some control over their daily lives while on the road, like continuing to work out for instance! We’re happy that you enjoyed Sheraton Fitness programmed by Core Performance here and also found The Link @ Sheraton experienced by Microsoft to be convenient for your internet connection needs. Many of our guests enjoy the aspect of mixing business with a little bit of pleasure in our lobby area. It’s a great place to work, socialize, or a bit of both!

Thank you for choosing the Sheraton Phoenix for your conference needs. We hope to have earned your trust to come and stay again – we promise to make your next stay just as comfortable.

Warm Regards,

Nicole Cora
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Phoenix Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Phoenix Downtown Hotel

Address: 340 North 3rd Street, Phoenix, AZ 85004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#10 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#20 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#21 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Phoenix Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Phoenix Downtown Hotel is conveniently located in the center of the city, adjacent to the Phoenix Convention Center and just five miles from the Sky Harbor International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Starwood, Cheap Tickets, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Phoenix Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Phoenix

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Phoenix Downtown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.