We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hurricane Sandy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Phoenix Downtown Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Phoenix Downtown Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Phoenix Downtown Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   340 North 3rd Street, Phoenix, AZ 85004   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #20 of 175 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Hurricane Sandy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

The hotel is a great place to stay if you need to attend an event at the convention center. Our room was large and clean. The carpet was a bit worn. The decor was modern. The bathroom was large. Our housekeeper, Amelia, was outstanding keeping us well supplied with towels. A nice surprise was the free bottled water. Most hotels charge for it. $14.95 for in room internet service per day was a bit steep. However, for me it was worth every cent. We were forced to extend our trip because of hurricane Sandy. And the internet cost was nothing when compared to the peace of mind we received being able to connect to family on the east coast. The front desk staff was wonderful when we needed to extend our stay. Downown Phoenix has some really great places to eat. The nightlife just isn't there. We read many reviews saying there was nothing to do in this city, but didn't believe it. Being forced to extend our stay made us realize that there really was nothing to do but eat after 6pm. It would have been nice if the concierge was present to help with activities, but one was never at the desk. We received all our help from Martin, a member of the bell staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nic_PHX, Director of Rooms at Sheraton Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
First, on behalf of our Sheraton family, we want to say how happy we are to hear that your family on the east coast is well, and that you were able to connect with them right after the storm to hear this news. We are pleased to hear that our front desk staff easily accommodated you in extending your stay at a time when this needed to be one less thing for you to worry about.

Our concierge staff knows the heartbeat of the downtown area very well, and we apologize that you missed their great service pointing you in the direction of activities and events.

Thank you for your business and we hope all was well when you returned home!


Warm Regards,

Nicole Cora
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,065 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    576
    356
    79
    29
    25
See reviews for
67
85
75
744
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The location is ideal if you are coming for a conference. The conference centre is located one minute away. Only the Hyatt which is connected to the conference centre is closer. The Sheraton is trendy and inviting. Breakfast buffet is good and the filet mignon in the restaurant was also very good. The rooms are large and can have a very good view. I was on the 28th floor and it was great. Everything is spotless and the beds are very comfy. There are a few extras I liked in the rooms like shaving cream. Across the street you have a mall that has lit up palm trees at night. Several restaurants there provide an ideal romantic setting (or take a stroll through the park just to relax). You will notice the streets get very quiet after business hours...practically abandoned. The area seemed relatively safer and cleaner than most American cities but very little close by. There is a light rail system that can take you around town not far from the hotel.

The concierge was very knowledgeable about local tours. I suggest "D tours". Do the combined Grand Canyon Sedona tour. It’s almost twelve hours long but you don't feel it being long. Also YOU MUST go on the Apache trail tour if you want to see the cool cacti you are expecting in Arizona. I find that tour is less popular but very worthwhile. If you are short on time there are tour groups that fly you to the Grand Canyon to save time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nic_PHX, Director of Rooms at Sheraton Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
It sounds like you enjoyed your time in Phoenix, and a visit to the Grand Canyon, if you can do it, never disappoints!

You mentioned our great location, and that is certainly a consideration for the price point of staying in prime real estate in the heart of downtown. We love to offer our guests the close availability of our sports venues, concerts, dining, and most within easy walking distance. They love it and we love to point them to the activity and excitement of downtown events and as you mentioned a very SAFE downtown area.

We want to take this opportunity thank you for taking the time to write a review, for your thoughtful feedback about our hotel and most importantly, for your business. We know you always have a choice when you travel and we thank you for choosing us.


Warm Regards,

Nicole Cora
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The District Bar had an amazing happy hour with delicious food! The female Dj that was playing that Wednesday night was amazing and created the perfect ambiance, atmosphere and setting for an enjoyable evening! The staff was friendly and prompt to my needs! I can't wait to return to Phoenix for another delightful experience!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nic_PHX, Director of Rooms at Sheraton Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
And we cannot wait to welcome you back!

Thank you for letting us know that the Happy Hour that we offer here exceeded your expectations. Our Food & Beverage team puts a lot of thought and effort into setting the scene for an enjoyable time for our guests during those gatherings, and we’re thrilled to know that you found it to be the right ambiance for you to have a fun and relaxing evening after your normal business was done.

Thank you for letting us know and we look forward to your return.

Warm Regards,

Nicole Cora
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

We were in Phoenix for a convention this past October. We have been many times to AZ for golf primarily andhave stayed away from the downtown area. Given the convention centre is very close, it was very convenient. The hotel was very nice especially the 4th floor exercise and outdoor bar area. Rooms were comfortable but since we were three, a little small for that number. No complaints overall. The food services at the hotel were important as there are few options around the area. There are some known places (Hooters, My Big Fat Greek Restaurant, etc) but not a lot. Hotel is close to ballpark and basketball arena when games are in season. Good corporate hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nic_PHX, Director of Rooms at Sheraton Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for taking a chance on our great downtown hotel, we know there are many choices in the Phoenix area, and we are proud to showcase and anchor this lovely spot in the very heart of Phoenix.

It was especially nice to hear that you spent some time on our 4th floor, at both Sheraton Fitness powered by Core Performance and also our new Breeze Bar next to our outdoor pool. We love to give our guests both options; to keep some control in their daily lives on the road by maintaining their exercise regime, and also to relax at the end of the day with one of our specialty cocktails while watching a beautiful Phoenix sunset. You were wise to take advantage of both!

It was our pleasure to have the opportunity to serve you and please come back again.

Warm Regards,

Nicole Cora
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Attended a conference here and spent 6 nights. We upgraded for Club Access. The room, complimentary water and internet were fine. But Club Room was very disappointing. The Honor Bar was more like a "Dishonor Bar." Empty bottles of wine and beer with a sign saying to check with staff for pricing - but rarely were staff present. Very atypical Club Room.

Cramped room with mediocre breakfast items and poor selection of evening snacks.

Room Tip: Great views from the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nic_PHX, Director of Rooms at Sheraton Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for the valuable feedback you provided on our Club Lounge during your recent stay. We take pride in all of our amenities that usually make Sheraton feel so special to our guests, and our Club Lounge is certainly one of those.

We apologize for the less than desirable way the Club Lounge was operated during your stay – that does not sound like a good value and we can certainly understand why you wanted us to know you were let down in your expectations of it.

You can be sure that we will use the information and feedback you took the time to provide to right the situation. We cannot thank you enough for caring enough to write and let us know.


Warm Regards,

Nicole Cora
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The hotel itself was fine, what you would expect of a Sheraton- that is why I rated it as very good. The rooms were clean and spacious, the gym was well equipped, and the staff was polite. However, it is not cheap, or a deal. It is catering to business travelers, yet, the are still using the archaic system of charging $14 per day for internet service. That is truly unbelievable. A week prior I stayed at an Omni, and guess what- free internet throughout the hotel. I could not even get texts to send in the lobby!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nic_PHX, Director of Rooms at Sheraton Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
It can be very frustrating when you are not able to stay connected it such a connected world.

Although we do charge for internet in our guest rooms you have the opportunity to have 3 devices connected at one time. The next time you join us at Sheraton just ask where the Link at Sheraton experienced by Microsoft© is. This is the connectivity hub of all of our lobbies allowing you to work and access the internet for free. You can either use your own computer or one of the ones we offer at the hotel. It’s also a great place to print a boarding pass prior to heading on your journey home!

Having said that, we hope that the other positives you mentioned: clean and spacious rooms, a well-equipped gym and a polite staff, will make you want to choose us again in the future. We certainly hope so.

Warm Regards,

Nicole Cora
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

we spent three nights here during a conference. Room was very spacious, clean and great bed linens. Bed was a little uncomfortable- maybe the mattresses should be rotated as the side nearest to the nightstand was slightly lower than the other side.

27.00 for valet is a bit pricey... self park was 17.00

Nicely lit lobby in the evenings. Wonderful happy hour in District bar. We had one of the BEST dinners at the District restaurant- nice menu, well priced, good wine list- and the food was fabulous- TOTALY unexpected for a hotel restaurant. Beautiful decor as well! Slightly whimsical menu as well as a traditonal menu- TV dinner cod, whoopie pie dessert and COTTON CANDY as a freebie dessert. Nice evening!

Room Tip: higer floors for a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nic_PHX, Director of Rooms at Sheraton Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for your kind words – we love it when we exceed our guests’ expectations. We are very proud of our culinary team here, they consistently and seasonally update the menu and it is always quite innovative, we hear many wonderful compliments about our restaurant.

We were thrilled to hear that your stay was so enjoyable and that you took the time to tell us about it.

Thank you and we appreciate the information about the mattress as well. We know you have many choices when traveling, thank you for choosing us. Your business is greatly appreciated.

Warm Regards,

Nicole Cora
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Phoenix Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Phoenix Downtown Hotel

Address: 340 North 3rd Street, Phoenix, AZ 85004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#11 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#15 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#16 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Phoenix Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Phoenix Downtown Hotel is conveniently located in the center of the city, adjacent to the Phoenix Convention Center and just five miles from the Sky Harbor International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Starwood, Hotels.com, BookIt.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Sheraton Phoenix Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Phoenix

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Phoenix Downtown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.