We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic? No. Tasty? Very.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bombay Spice Grill and Wine - CLOSED

Bombay Spice Grill and Wine
10810 North Tatum Blvd., Phoenix, AZ 85028 (Paradise Valley)
602-795-0020
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Paradise Valley
Cross street: E. Shea Blvd.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Authentic? No. Tasty? Very.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

It's a build-your-own kind of deal: pick a starch, pick a sauce, pick a protein, add a vegetable. If you like it hot, vindaloo is the sauce of choice. If not, any of the remaining choices will be a good one, but I recommend the tikka masala. There are some appetizers, too. The seared tofu is our favorite; the wings are unappealing. The lamb chops, listed as an appetizer, are also good and can serve as a small meal. The claim to fame here is the "healthy" cooking style: little or no fat, low calorie counts, etc. They still manage to make it taste really good, though. Parking can be a challenge. There is a convenient lot facing Tatum, but it's small and fills quickly. Save some hassle and park on the north side of the building.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    14
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“regular patron”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Very tasty and nearly guilt-free since it is healthy-style Indian food. I particularly love that quinoa is offered as a sub for the usual basmati rice.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
302 reviews 302 reviews
252 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Low Fat Healthy Indian Style Food reasonably priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I really like coming here! Last time I enjoyed the bottomless weekend lunch special. It's $11.95 and all the appetizers, entrees and dessert you want from a selected menu. This time we shared a sampler plate of four items. Everything was flavorful and yummy and they were fun to share. We also shared the Chicken Vindaloo over quinoa and it was very good and really spicy. I like that most of the food is low fat and they have healthier options like quinoa and brown rice. They also offer vegetarian and vegan meals. This is Americanized Indian Style food but tasty anyway.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Very good indeed.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Surprised to find this small very busy restaurant in a small strip mall. Good sign when there are lots of people, and queues for take-aways. Had two Groupon deals, one for me and one for my husband - but I did not realise that we could only use one at one sitting and we were there on the last day of promotion. The manager was most accommodating, in accepting both coupons = which we really appreciated. The waitress was very helpful and efficient, despite there being only two servers, the service was fast. We enjoyed the food thoroughly - being a vegetarian, there were many items to choose from - even though the menu was not huge there was more than plenty to eat. Mild flavouors, not too strong that one gasped !! Will definately go there again - and highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Outstanding dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

I can't wait to write review of this resturant . Now I am inside I just had appetizer . Chicken kabab , samosa , lamb seek kabab and lentil soup . Though I used to work in Indian resturant in Las Vegas for last three years . Service is outstanding ( friendly and attentive ) This one is very nice resturant I ever visit . now , it is the time having dinner which is very delicious . Thank you for your hospitality and good flavour of food .

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bombay Spice Grill and Wine also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bombay Spice Grill and Wine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.