We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and very helpful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Phoenix

Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Phoenix to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Phoenix
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2401 E Camelback Rd, Phoenix, AZ 85016 (Camelback East)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #64 of 175 hotels in Phoenix
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent location and very helpful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Standard room is quite small for a RItz compared to other close by five- star hotel. I attended a conference here with around 300 attendees the meeting and conference rooms are great. The nightly negotiated rate was reasonable for a Ritz but did not include breakfast.Food was expensive for my hubby.The continental breakfast served in the conference was fine.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a superior -if you are attending a conference or business with a negotiated price choose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    95
    47
    17
    6
See reviews for
24
53
31
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
USA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

If nothing else, one should expect a comfortable bed and a good nights sleep from Ritz-Carlton.
The king bed in our "upgraded " room had a loose pillow top (not an integral part of the mattress),
which was covered with a flat sheet (not fitted), that was much too small for the bed. The result was a lumpy, movable, generally messy, bed. It was very uncomfortable.

The hotel, as others have said, shows lots of wear and is badly in need of renovation. It appears this property is trying to get by on the Ritz-Carlton name alone rather than providing a substantial experience. Too bad... Another reviewer said the hotel was more like a Marriott than a Ritz. That, I consider, is insulting to Marriott. JW Marriott's are reliably better properties.

We have cancelled our return reservation.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorhees, New Jersey
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Stayed here for a small conference of 200 people. Typical great Ritz service. Rooms are nice and comfortable, but a bit dated. Common areas and conference facilities were great, as was the food. the outdoor pool and deck is small, but pleasant.

Room Tip: All rooms are pretty standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed here as a birthday get away for one night. Shopping, restaurants and theaters are all nearby, plus there's a spa right there in the hotel (2nd floor). Our room was nice, maybe a little dated. Great view from the 10th floor. Parking is quick and easy if you want to pay $29.00 plus tip. There is a garage nearby that is $12.00. for a day and a short walk. I saw a sign advertising 5 dollar happy hour drinks in the bar, so I hung out there during the spa appointment. WATCH OUT! The service was good, but when I told the bartender I didn't care what brand of liquor I wanted in the drinks; she used the most expensive! Instead of the well generic liquor (which is fine for a bloody mary). I expected to pay $20 for 3 drinks and it was twice that. The only other complaint I have is charging for wifi. I don't have an expense account and I never pay for wifi.

Room Tip: Great view from the 10th floor! I requested all foam pillows and was happy to find no feathers in my...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I stayed here one night for business because the conference was at this hotel but I wasn't overly impressed. The hotel itself has a nice enough lobby but the elevators are slow and cramped and the rooms could use a renovation. The bathroom is quite small with a regular sized tub. The worst part of the stay is that the sound proofing is absolutely awful- I could hear people in the hallways passing, maids knocking on people's doors- just about anything above whispering could be heard from the inside of my room. There is no complimentary coffee/tea in the mornings, which many hotels now have, and the "store" (if you can even call it that) had very minimal product selection. The location is good (right across from the mall and many good restaurants). Definitely not on par with the Ritz Carlton name!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We had breakfast here on a previous visit to Phoenix and decided we needed to stay here on the next trip. What a treat. We were there over a long weekend in summer, so the hotel was low occupancy. The room facing the street had a large picture window to enjoy the street scene and hills beyond. Lovely in-room dining, great concierge, well appointed gym and locker rooms. The outside pool was a treat even as the temp approached 105. Plenty of shady areas to duck under to move an umbrella to pool side. Convenient to Biltmore shopping; there's an tunnel under the street. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Rooms on the front of the hotel have views; rooms on the back face the new office building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I am a total sucker for Ritz hotels and stay in them every chance I get. I've stayed at this one a couple of times now and it just feels different. Maybe because you expect a more resort type hotel in Phoenix, and this one is all business. The rooms are fine and the staff is wonderful, but it just doesn't feel like a Ritz to me.

However, they do an impeccable job with events and the meeting I was there to manage was flawless. You can always count on the Ritz to execute flawlessly for meetings and events and this place is no exception.

This is a great business oriented hotel and their customer service definitely does feel like a Ritz.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Phoenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Phoenix

Address: 2401 E Camelback Rd, Phoenix, AZ 85016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Camelback East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#10 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#45 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#55 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#64 Top resorts Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Phoenix 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Tingo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Phoenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Phoenix Hotel Phoenix
Phoenix Ritz Carlton
Ritz Phoenix
Ritz-Carlton Phoenix

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Phoenix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.