We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Arizona Grand Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Arizona Grand Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Arizona Grand Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   8000 S. Arizona Grand Parkway, Phoenix, AZ 85044   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
#1 Staycation Spot in AZ!
Ranked #48 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Phoenix
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2008

We expected to have great weekend but we are very disappointed. We stayed at Mountainside. Room was dirty and stinky, very dark, carpet was wet, “coffee table” and “night stands” painted few times and cracked. Rest of furniture same. Blanket on the bed didn’t look clean and was ugliest I’ve ever seen. We didn’t even stay there overnight. Thanks God we live in Phoenix only 30 minutes from there. Water park was ok. Very crowded. Staff was friendly.

Don’t get tempted buy their website. Everything looks great there with taste of luxury, but its only a good pictures.

  • Liked — Close to home
  • Disliked — Room
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    650
    444
    221
    136
    60
See reviews for
799
148
25
308
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2008

We took the kids because we thought they'd enjoy the water park and a nice getaway weekend in nice surroundings, with a great mall across the street. The water park is really the big draw for kids but other than that, this place is really nothing special. It is SO crowded. Parking is almost impossible. We parked on the street (which is still on the grounds) and our vehicle was saturated by the sprinklers. The congestion around the "resort" and mall, as well as on the grounds was a constant hassle. As for the restaurants, Rustler's Rooste is overcrowded, overpriced, and the service was lousy. Room is "OK". Since they cater to families, you'd think they'd have a microwave and fridge, but they don't. Bathroom is very small. Place is noisy, crowded, and a pain to get around. The maid stopped by to clean the room and we were getting ready to leave. She said she'd be back in 1/2 hour. We called housekeeping 8 hours later when we returned to see if we could get the room cleaned. Staff are overwhelmed. The $25 per day resort fee is a joke if you don't use the water park. This place is no resort-- trust me. It's just a massive Embassy Suites without the space, fridge or microwave. Recommended? Only if you get a smokin' deal and are specifically going for the water park. Also, if you don't mind crowds and lots of noise and traffic.

  • Liked — The water park
  • Disliked — Crowds and noise
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEWELL,NJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2008

Our family just returned from the arizona grand . We were an extended family of 23, ages 4 to 82. The rooms in Camelback were spacious, clean and the beds were spotless and comfortable.We liked the food in all the venues and the staff was always polite and friendly. When I plan a vacation , I prefer the name brand quality I can count on. But when I saw the all suite rooms, the water park, and the south pointe mt that provided hiking trails and the horses we wanted to ride , I took a leap of faith and was so glad I did !

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — check in was delayed
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2008

This place was great! It is definitely worth it to pay a little extra for the "resort" suite. We stayed in the Sedona and it was very close to the water park. If you have little ones through the age of about 10, the water park is perfect! We have two teenagers and they didn't care for the fact that you had to stay in a tube while in the lazy river and on top of that, it moved too slowly. The wave pool had very small waves and they got a little bored with that as well. Overall though, our stay was pleasant. We spent more time in the swimming pool than at the water park. At times we had the whole pool to ourselves. The room was very clean and we didn't hear any outside noise. The beds and pillows were awesome and we loved the shutters in the living area opposed to curtains. The bathroom was a little small but at least the sink area was separate. You may want to request a room that doesn't face west to avoid the afternoon sun. We had to leave our thermostat on 60 (the lowest it would go) and I'm a cold-blooded person. All in all, our stay was pleasant and we would definitely recommend it. Don't forget to eat at the Rustler's Roost up on the hill while you are there...we had the t-bone --.the best steak my husband and I haver ever had in our lifetime! Well worth the price and the view was awesome!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2008

Great Resort, Great Prices, Friendly Staff and Fun for the whole family. Just got back from the Arizona Grand Resort with the family (2 yr old & 4 yr old) and we had a wonderfull time. We can assure you that we will return to this Resort. Food prices at the Oasis Water Park are great.

  • Liked — Value
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2008

I recently spent a weekend at the Arizona Grand Resort. We were looking for a local hotel with gas prices being so high we didn't want to travel too much.
We stayed in the Camelback building which just underwent room re-designs. They were very comfortable, clean and spacious two room suites.
The water park is the biggest draw and it was fun for the afternoon. Lots of kids. Overall it was a great way to unwind though. They even had steel drum music before lunch which I love. Reminds me of the Carribbean.
The restaurants were varied. Breakfast was just your standard. Chips and salsa were great at the Mexican place and I was actually suprised at how tasty my steak was at the steakhouse. I figured it would be on par with Outback or something because of the whole cowboy theme but was pleasantly suprised.
It is a big place so there is some walking involved but you could always call the front desk for a ride.
Great gym and spa facilities. And we really enjoyed the horseback riding.
Overall the staff was very friendly and helpful. Other people wrote about the construction and we saw that they were building something but never heard construction noises.

  • Liked — Water Park
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2008

Beware, you will be charged a $25 per day resort fee on top of your room rate wherever you booked it.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arizona Grand Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arizona Grand Resort & Spa

Address: 8000 S. Arizona Grand Parkway, Phoenix, AZ 85044
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Phoenix
#7 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#9 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#27 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#29 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#36 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Arizona Grand Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 638
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Arizona Grand Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arizona Grand Hotel Phoenix
Pointe South Mountain Resort
Pointe South Resort
Arizona Grand Phoenix
Arizona Grand Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arizona Grand Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.