We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not stay again” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Arizona Grand Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Arizona Grand Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Arizona Grand Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   8000 S. Arizona Grand Parkway, Phoenix, AZ 85044   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Resort Credit Offer!
Ranked #39 of 175 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Puyallup, Washington
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Would not stay again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Room card didn't work at least 3 days in a row, had to drive to office. Drove back they said securtiy would be right there, 45 min later they showed up. It was 115 degrees out side. Third time I drove to office they said we had requested a different room.WRONG!! Locked out again. 118 degrees outside. They didn't get door fixed until 4th time. Said they'd give us a night free, we already pre-paid, they'd give us a free resort fee. That never happened. Pool areas were filthy, garbage everywhere, chairs and tables very dirty. Food exhorbantly priced. Had to eat off site. Maid service sporadic. Management didn't care or couldn't be bothered and this was off season. Water park better. People in entry very friendly and so was wait staff. Food mediocore. Lounge chairs and tables filthy. Water in pool and shorelines always looked cloudy and dirty.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    715
    486
    248
    146
    62
See reviews for
862
169
25
341
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

the property was great but very spaced out regardless of your room type, however the hotel made up for this with excellent spot on shuttle service for mountainside suites but this was still somewhat bothersome due to the heat. The restaurant at the base of the resort called aunt chilada's was GREAT and i HIGHLY recommend eating there.

Room Tip: there all the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This is a very popular hotel due to the great pools, lazy river and amazing water slides! The rooms are all beautiful and the service is outstanding! They are a very busy hotel so do expect to wait a little while at check in but even if your room is not ready you can enjoy the pool early. They have fun activities for the kids and many great places to eat nearby. Our favorite is AuntChilada's for mexican food! If you just want to stay at the pool they have great pool service, kids menu and fairly large portions on the adult menu. This is a fun hotel for the whole family!!

Room Tip: They also offer suites with two bedrooms and a beautiful full size kitchen!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is an extremely popular and busy hotel and water park. I try to leave honest reviews as we are frequent hotel travelers. They work very hard at this resort to provide exceptional service and their staff at the hotel and water park are amazing. My best advice is that during the summer you need to know that your room will not be ready until check in time. We go every year for our daughter's birthday and this was our fourth visit- we had 4 rooms total. Here is my best advice, you are able to go to the front desk before check in time and they will give you passes to use the water park the day of your arrival, before you check in. They gave us a card with a number to call back after 4pm (check in time) so that way you would know if your room was ready. This was a great system. I can not imagine having to clean 700 rooms in one day. We were saddened to see a few other guests trying to check in who were being disrespectful and yelling at the front desk staff. The staff was very professional and friendly and I hope that a few of these guests came back to apologize later for their rude behavior (or I hope so anyways!). Our experience was exceptional and the staff were friendly and accommodating!

This year we decided to take advantage of their new offering- Cabanas at the water park. Marissa helped us with the details and it was very easy to book. She also helped us make reservations at Rustler's Rooste- you must go to this restaurant if you stay here! We will never go to the park without renting a cabana again. It made the day so comfortable and amazing. They brought us a huge fruit tray that was ice cold- we had 12 people and we had so much left over. Neil, our cabana attendant could not have been any nicer. He checked on us throughout the day, provided complimentary water bottles and buckets of ice all day and then they sent cookies in the afternoon. My husband is not a huge water park or "sun" fan. He loved being able to sit inside the cabana - shaded from the sun and cooled by the personal evap. cooler in the cabana. It really made my daughter's birthday celebration awesome. They all said happy birthday to her and made her feel so special. That is why she decides to have her celebration here each year (she is 7).

We sent a note because monsoon storms were predicted for our day at the water park. The Manager of the water park Jimmy answered our questions personally. That was also a nice touch.

I saw a few of the complaints about the price of food at the water park. The portions are HUGE! We ordered chicken nachos and yes while they were $16, they also fed 3 hungry adults. We ordered chicken fingers and fries for the kids and there were 6 very large pieces of chicken. We could have easily ordered one for every 2 kids - the portions are that large. We thought it was very reasonable for the amount of food you get. The food was also delicious!

Every staff member, from check in, to housekeeping, to room service, to Oasis staff - they all exceeded our expectations and made our stay and our daughter's birthday a special experience. It is the little touches such as the staff saying happy birthday to her at check in and at the water park, cookies and milk in the room with a happy birthday note that make such a difference- especially to a 7 year old. Priceless.

We will see you next year! Thanks for another great birthday celebration..... Johnson Family

Room Tip: All rooms we have stayed in have been great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Great rooms, great service, happy staff, clean pools...Can be confusing to get around, but staff very happy to help... Breakfast was good but expensive, poolside food for lunch is what it is, but for Dinner: Aunt Chilada's food (mexican) was below average, but had excellent service, while we had poor to bad service at the Rustlers Rooste, cant tell you about the food, because it showed up 20 minutes later than my parties, and i sent it back! Waitress was pissed! Go eat somewhere else, there are too many "good" and better restaurants in town to waste you time and $$$$.

Room Tip: ask to be Oasis side of any building you stay in to be closer
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Used our travel agent for our trip and got a nice deal. Looked forward to the trip then got there to wait 55 mins in line to check in to find they changed our reservation from 2 queen bed to a king with a sofa couch. Staff tried to blame our agent, wrong!!! Basically they were so booked they changed us to fit in others. Not cool!! We plus adult son and teen so not something we were happy with.
Staff upgraded us to a villa but again just a king and sofa bed. Room was beautiful but the sofa bed was terrible, basically springs with a cover and one side was torn with springs sticking out. Took lots of calls to our agent and hotel manager to get a new mattress, it was as if they didn't believe us about the mattress. Come on its a $500 plus a night room and that's the mattress.
Yes they fixed the problems but we spent half our first day dealing with poor service!! Unacceptable....
Ok for the rest, the resort is nice but does need some updating in some areas plus they charge way too much for everything. The resort is not in a great area so outside of the property is sketchy, and to eat decently priced food you need to drive a ways away (Scottsdale is where we went). We aren't familiar with the area so we drove.
Water park is very nice and our teen loved it. It's clean and well run, glad they don't allow outside drinks and food, but they overcharge for food and drink they serve.

The king bed was very nice and we slept well, very pleasant.

Bottom line call and make sure there isn't anything going on when you plan on going as there was a basketball tournament and cheer leading camp there that took all the rooms hence why they bumped our reservation I believe.

Without our problems this is still a 3.5 star place with a 4 star water park.

Room Tip: Villas are nice since they have full kitchens and are close to water park, pricey though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

What a lovely resort to enjoy. We made very last minute reservations online, and our mid-week trip turned out great! They were able to accommodate 5 of us, we really enjoyed the lovely view of the golf-course, and the kids never tired of the pool, the water park, or the Rustler's Rooste Restaurant, uphill from the resort. We were so impressed with the room cleaning staff. They took it upon themselves to call plumbing out for us, to clear the tub that was backing up - before we had a chance to say anything. Great work. The hotel is right off the freeway, and just 1/2 mile from a huge mall. (Do look in your check-in packet for wi-fi info, we missed this the first time. ) Really enjoyed our room in the Camelback Building. Beds were very comfortable, plenty of room for three kids and two adults, a well-sized safe accommodated our belongings, while the extra wet-bar became our snack center. The building had a lobby of it's own, which was a nice escape for me to read while the kids were watching TV.

The water park definitely could occupy a day or two. Nice themed. Lazy river - biggest misnomer ever - occupied the adults for hours, as the kids dipped between wave pool, volleyball, waterslides, and back. Early in the day the park was quiet and delightful. We took a break to head back to our room for food and sunblock. You can, despite what it says on the sign, take water bottles into the park. And there are cups and water canteens set-up all over. Please be sure to drink lots of water! The prices for other food and drinks are absolutely ridiculous. And so is the quality of the items we tried. It was our only disappointment. The rest of the time, we really enjoyed ourselves. The lifeguards were sharp, towels in good supply, and shaded seats plentiful. Take flip-flops, it's hot out there.

We thought this was a tad on the pricey side, so next year we will look ahead for deals and packages.

The kids can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Arizona Grand Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arizona Grand Resort & Spa

Address: 8000 S. Arizona Grand Parkway, Phoenix, AZ 85044
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Phoenix
#9 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#22 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#27 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#38 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Arizona Grand Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 744
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the base of America's largest urban park and wilderness preserve, Arizona's only AAA Four Diamond all-suite resort features spacious one and two-bedroom suites. Whether meeting with colleagues or vacationing with friends, gracious service, creative culinary delights, and unique recreational activities await. All in the midst of a tropical escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Arizona Grand Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arizona Grand Hotel Phoenix
Pointe South Mountain Resort
Pointe South Resort
Arizona Grand Phoenix
Arizona Grand Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arizona Grand Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.