We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for hiking and sight seeing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of South Mountain Park

South Mountain Park
10919 S Central Ave, Phoenix, AZ 85042 (South Mountain)
(602) 262-6862
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 94 Attractions in Phoenix
Type: Parks, Outdoors
Activities: Biking, Hiking, Horseback riding
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This, the largest municipal park in the world, is a popular hiking, biking and horseback riding trail area.
Arvada, Colorado
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great place for hiking and sight seeing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This mountain is an excellent place to hike and see the desert. It wasn't crowded the morning that we went and the views were something to see. I wish we were able to spend more time here and I would like to go back when we visit again.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    133
    21
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Don't miss it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

This is a great place to take in the beautiful scenery of Arizona! We enjoyed a fantastic hike and there are many photo opportunities! There are a variety of hiking and biking trails.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Many trails for all levels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We hiked a couple of the trails prior to a baseball game. The desert preserve center was informative and gave my kids a chance to learn about creatures of the desert along with foilage. The hike was easy enough for all of us city folks to do, but there are many more trails for the more advanced. You can also go horseback riding.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great Outdoors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Great outdoor activity (do-it-yourself) entertainment for free. The park offers activity to hikers, bikers, runners and outdoorsmen alike. There are numerous trails which criss-cross the park in every geographical direction. Whether one climbs to the various summits or simply stay on the lower trails, both and all will afford the visitor sights unparalleled so close to a large metropolitan area. The views from the various peaks are both breathtaking, awesome and spectacular!
Bring plenty of water and pick after one self.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mushroom Capital
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great view of Phoenix”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

What a great way to kill some free time with a drive up South Mountain. The view was awesome, and the price is free.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Mountain Park also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to South Mountain Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Mountain Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.