We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't let the heat dissuade you. Opens early and worth seeing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Botanical Garden

Desert Botanical Garden
1201 N Galvin Pkwy, Phoenix, AZ 85008
480-941-1225
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 94 Attractions in Phoenix
Type: Gardens, Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Specialty Museums, Outdoors
Activities: Viewing foliage
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in Papago Park, these gardens offer visitors an opportunity to learn about desert flora.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Ashland, Oregon, US
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Don't let the heat dissuade you. Opens early and worth seeing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

During the summer, the Desert Botanical Garden opens at 7 a.m. so you can still see it before it gets too hot. You can easily spend three to four hours to see everything, so it is worth getting there early.

The park is beautifully located and features a variety of gardens with different themes. You'll see cacti of every shape and variety, and a lot more. During your wanderings, you'll not only see natural desert landscapes with the saguaro and red stone bluffs in the background, you'll see a stream and wetlands, wildflower gardens and gardens featuring plants that Native Americans used, with recreations of home sites showing a traditional garden and a couple of traditional types of shelters.

The restaurant is a nice (air conditioned!) spot for lunch. Service was friendly, food fresh and the menu even had a lot of vegetarian-friendly dishes.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,717 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,029
    568
    88
    22
    10
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A unique garden experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

The gardens were a complete surprise. My husband who is not at all into gardening was truly amazed at the number of different cacti, succulents and other desert dwelling plants. We both thoroughly enjoyed our afternoon in the gardens.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Loving the Desert”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I never knew there were so many types of cactus. You get to see the different varieties as well as where they grow best in the desert. We went to visit the garden in the off season. I would love to see it when the cactus's were in bloom.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Gorgeous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We made a special side trip to Phoenix to visit the Gardens on our last trip to the southwest and were not disappointed. The gardens are well laid out and maintained. The photos we brought back are stunning. The gardens are located not too far from the Phoenix airport (GPS: N33.46238 W111.94421) and you can stop over for a couple of hours on your way to or from the airport. There is a wonderful restaurant on premises with a nice selection of offerings. Be aware that afternoons in Phoenix tend to be bright and hot with all that concrete around. I found that I got better results using either an ND8 or ND16 filters on my camera to stop it down a bit. I wouldn't be surprised if we don't visit again next time we are in the area. There is a modest admission fee but parking is free.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very pleasant walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

My family loves coming here during the non-hot season. It is always so nice to escape the city within this beautiful garden!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Desert Botanical Garden also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Desert Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Botanical Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.