We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing collection of botanicals!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Botanical Garden

Desert Botanical Garden
1201 N Galvin Pkwy, Phoenix, AZ 85008
480-941-1225
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 231 things to do in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Viewing foliage
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in Papago Park, these gardens offer visitors an opportunity to learn about desert flora.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
upstate NY
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Amazing collection of botanicals!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful place to spend the afternoon (when it's not too hot). Amazing collection of botanicals! Beautiful artwork interdispersed with the gardens. Beautiful views. The butterfly tent is really fun.
Quietly bring your own snack even though it is discouraged. We saw a lot of people with their own lunch after we left ours in the car. The snack bar does have some very nice salads. The main restaurant was undergoing renovation when we were there but is open now. I've heard it is very good but pricey.
Definitely a must see, even if just for a couple of hours.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,312
    670
    101
    27
    14
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paso Robles, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“An Amazing Educational Oasis in the Desert!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I really enjoyed the self-guided maps and trails to walk around the gardens. We only had 3 hours available to us, but that was enough time to see just about everything. I learned more about all the different plants, natives, animals of the Sonoran Desert than I'd ever known before. In late March especially, things were very much in bloom. Excellent place to get a bit to eat at the far south side of the gardens (do that and skip the overcrowded restaurant just inside the entrance).

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuyahoga Falls
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

My daughter (8) asked me why we always have to go to Botanical Gardens on vacation. I said because they are beautiful! This is the BEST one we have been to. We spent about 3 hours there and could have stayed longer. There are endless photo opportunities. LOVED IT! This garden is located on the same road as the Phoenix Zoo and the Hole in the Rock. You could spent two days in that area alone! If you have AAA you can get a 20% discount.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
National City, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Desert botanical garden.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Excellent collection of native and exotic desert plants. Good guided tour. Was a little expensive but overall worth it.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
“Photographers paradise and an absolute valley must-see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Being a resident of the valley this is one of my favorite places. Although I have been here several times I never get tired of it. The grounds are stunning and peaceful and you can wander several paths on your own time. In the Spring (the best time in my opinion to go) they have a stunning butterfly exhibit and all the plants are blooming....perfect for shutterbugs! Also, don't miss the fantastic gift shop! Fees are pricey so if you are a resident of the valley becoming a member is the best solution. This is the perfect place to bring out of town guests to spend a couple of hours. Better yet, book brunch at Gertrude's, located in the park, and then plan to spend a couple of hours after wandering the gardens. And some of the paths are a little long and not shaded so definitely bring a hat, sunscreen and water! In my opinion, June - Sept is too hot to really enjoy yourself in the gardens as there is not a lot of shade so try to experience it in the milder months.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Desert Botanical Garden also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Desert Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Botanical Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.