We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Amazing Educational Oasis in the Desert!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Botanical Garden

Desert Botanical Garden
1201 N Galvin Pkwy, Phoenix, AZ 85008
+1 480-941-1225
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 160 things to do in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Viewing foliage
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Located in Papago Park, these gardens offer visitors an opportunity to learn about desert flora.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Paso Robles, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“An Amazing Educational Oasis in the Desert!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I really enjoyed the self-guided maps and trails to walk around the gardens. We only had 3 hours available to us, but that was enough time to see just about everything. I learned more about all the different plants, natives, animals of the Sonoran Desert than I'd ever known before. In late March especially, things were very much in bloom. Excellent place to get a bit to eat at the far south side of the gardens (do that and skip the overcrowded restaurant just inside the entrance).

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,595 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,655
    773
    121
    31
    15
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cuyahoga Falls
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

My daughter (8) asked me why we always have to go to Botanical Gardens on vacation. I said because they are beautiful! This is the BEST one we have been to. We spent about 3 hours there and could have stayed longer. There are endless photo opportunities. LOVED IT! This garden is located on the same road as the Phoenix Zoo and the Hole in the Rock. You could spent two days in that area alone! If you have AAA you can get a 20% discount.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
National City, California
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Desert botanical garden.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Excellent collection of native and exotic desert plants. Good guided tour. Was a little expensive but overall worth it.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
153 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Photographers paradise and an absolute valley must-see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Being a resident of the valley this is one of my favorite places. Although I have been here several times I never get tired of it. The grounds are stunning and peaceful and you can wander several paths on your own time. In the Spring (the best time in my opinion to go) they have a stunning butterfly exhibit and all the plants are blooming....perfect for shutterbugs! Also, don't miss the fantastic gift shop! Fees are pricey so if you are a resident of the valley becoming a member is the best solution. This is the perfect place to bring out of town guests to spend a couple of hours. Better yet, book brunch at Gertrude's, located in the park, and then plan to spend a couple of hours after wandering the gardens. And some of the paths are a little long and not shaded so definitely bring a hat, sunscreen and water! In my opinion, June - Sept is too hot to really enjoy yourself in the gardens as there is not a lot of shade so try to experience it in the milder months.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, CA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful gardens, don't miss butterfly pavilion!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Beautiful desert garden, nicely displayed cactus and native desert plants, walking paths easy to navigate. Fabulous enclosed area with butterflies that all ages will enjoy!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Desert Botanical Garden also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Desert Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Botanical Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.