We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to learn about Desert plants & more!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Botanical Garden

Desert Botanical Garden
1201 N Galvin Pkwy, Phoenix, AZ 85008
480-941-1225
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 129 attractions in Phoenix
Type: Gardens, Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Specialty Museums
Activities: Viewing foliage
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Located in Papago Park, these gardens offer visitors an opportunity to learn about desert flora.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great way to learn about Desert plants & more!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

This is definitely a must see if you are interested in learning more about the Sonoran Desert and the plants that inhabit it. Beautiful vistas, interesting tours by docents and a great way to spend some time. Plan to spend atleast 3 hours to see it all. Great for all ages.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,793
    481
    74
    20
    10
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“All about desert southwest plants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Been there many times. Love to take visitors from the midwest there. They are amazed at the variety of plant life in the desert. It's more than just dust and saguaro's. A must see for visitors.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Delightful any time of the year ! We Love This Place !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Educational, relaxing, restorative, this garden is one of the best attractions in Phoenix. From my first visit here in 2003, I knew that I would always come back for more. The butterfly cage is the thrill for the kids, changing exhibits are inspiring, seasonal displays are tasteful and culturally significant. The setting, the trails, the botanical markers, the intricate displays, the friendly staff, the excellent food, all help make this a place to remember. When my most sophisticated friends
visit Phoenix, I always take them here to impress ! Not to be missed. It will not disappoint.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Fabulous Day at the Garden!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

The weather cooperated to give us a wonderful day at the Desert Botanical Garden. Enjoyed the special art exhibit by Philip Haas and the sculptures by Carolina Escobar. Lunch at Gertrude's was a real treat. Took tons of photos throughout the day.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Deepen your understanding of desert plants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My husband and I took a guided tour with a docent. She educated us on the bones of cactus, diverse wildlife and native history. Our Dallas Arboretum membership helped us get in for free. A must see while in Phoenix.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Desert Botanical Garden also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Desert Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Botanical Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Desert Botanical Garden to your Saves list