We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful birthday dinner with friends!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Different Pointe of View at Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort

Different Pointe of View at Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort
11111 North 7th Street, Phoenix, AZ 85020-1176 (North Mountain)
602-866-6350
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Different Pointe of View at Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 2,564 Restaurants in Phoenix
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: North Mountain
Cross street: 7th Street, 3/4 mile south of Thunderbird Rd.
Description: Poised 1,800 feet above the Valley of the Sun, Different Pointe of View offers guests breathtaking views second only to the outstanding regional American cuisine that features fresh local and organic ingredients. The restaurant's mountaintop location and floor to ceiling windows provide stunning views of the desert landscape, the city's twinkling lights in the distance and Arizona's brilliant sunsets. No restaurant in the state has a longer streak of consecutive AAA four-diamond awards and Sunset Magazine named it one of the top 10 mountaintop restaurants in the nation. Valley residents have come for years to celebrate birthdays, anniversaries, romantic evenings or just treat themselves to one of the most unique Arizona experiences. The Terrace Room Lounge, next to the restaurant, features one of the largest patios and a nine foot fire pit on the cliff side
Gilbert, Arizona
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A beautiful birthday dinner with friends!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed at the Resort for a long weekend, and had dinner at the restaurant, celebrating my birthday. The food and service were excellent - presentation was wonderful, serving staff really great, and the views are stunning! This is a super place for special occasions! We will be back!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    61
    19
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Odessa, Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Amazing View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This restaurant sits atop of the Pointe Hilton Resort overlooking the Phoenix valley below. The view was amazing in the early evening ; and the sunset was spectacular to watch. Our food was very good; though the service was a bit slow. The restaurant was not that crowded either. I defiantly would come back just for the view to bring company as it is a one-of-a-kind.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Vista, Arizona, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Dessert only”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Loved the dessert it was like a frozen chocolate banana so good. The view is amazing though. We could see the whole city and watched a storm roll in.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“What a view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We got there early for our reservation and had drinks on the patio. A fantastic view as the sun sets. We requested a window table and we're accommodated with the best table in the house. After sun set, the city lights make for a very romantic dinner. Make reservations and go early.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great View, Average Food, Non-Existant Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Nine of us sat outside at the Different Pointe of View for a good-bye party for a friend and colleague.

Although drink orders were taken right away, they took a while to come out, and our food order wasn't taken until we'd been there for nearly an hour. The server just disappeared. It took another hour for our food to come out after ordering,

The portions were small, and the flavor was OK. We finally had to track down our server to get the bill. Since there were nine of us, they tacked on a 20% gratuity which is not a surprise. What was a surprise was that they divided the gratuity evenly nine ways based on the total bill. That meant the person who only ordered a $9 small salad paid the same $5 gratuity as people who ordered entire meals with drinks. That's just wrong.

Great view, but not worth a return visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Different Pointe of View at Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Different Pointe of View at Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Different Pointe of View at Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.