We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Different Pointe of View at Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort
11111 North 7th Street, Phoenix, AZ 85020-1176 (North Mountain)
602-866-6350
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Reserve with OpenTable
Update
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 2,535 restaurants in Phoenix
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: North Mountain
Cross street: 7th Street, 3/4 mile south of Thunderbird Rd.
Description: Poised 1,800 feet above the Valley of the Sun, Different Pointe of View offers guests breathtaking views second only to the outstanding regional American cuisine that features fresh local and organic ingredients. The restaurant's mountaintop location and floor to ceiling windows provide stunning views of the desert landscape, the city's twinkling lights in the distance and Arizona's brilliant sunsets. No restaurant in the state has a longer streak of consecutive AAA four-diamond awards and Sunset Magazine named it one of the top 10 mountaintop restaurants in the nation. Valley residents have come for years to celebrate birthdays, anniversaries, romantic evenings or just treat themselves to one of the most unique Arizona experiences. The Terrace Room Lounge, next to the restaurant, features one of the largest patios and a nine foot fire pit on the cliff side
Victoria
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

The atmosphere at this restaurant was always nice (particularly outdoors), the wine I was served was always fine and the food – delicious and well prepared. I always felt more like a guest there, not just only a customer!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    150
    53
    15
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“One of the most romantic dinners in the state!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Have a special occasion or just being spontaneous and looking for a romantic dinner then a Different Pointe of View is the place to go.With excellent views of the city, a soothing Jazz lounge down stairs and some elegant dining you cannot go wrong. We have visited the restaurant on several occasions and each time we are left with great memories and very satisfied.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great view, great food, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We just had a wonderful dinner at the Different Point of View restaurant in the Pointe Tapatio resort. The food presentation was exceptional as was the taste. Our server Louis was most gracious and even came outside to take a picture of our family with the fantastic view in the background. We really enjoyed the whole dining experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great View, Good Service, Food OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We asked our hotel for a restaurant recommendation that had a great atmosphere and we ended up at the restaurant at Tapatio Cliffs.

The view was fantasitc and as the sun set, our seating provided a great view of the different colors of the early evening. When the sun was completed over the horizon, the view was different but just as spectacular as we had a great view of the Phoenix city lights.

The people were very nice. They offered to take picutres of our family as the sun set. Our waiter made suggestions and his service was timely and very friendly. The manager was busy rotating from table to table and helping were he was needed.

The food was were we had some issue. Our meat was warn to cold. This included the steak and venison dishes we had at dinner. The starch was sticky/gooey. In some ways the dinner seemed like a TV dinner dish. Equally moderate was the creme brulee, their signature dessert. The dish tasted like something made from a box of vanilla pudding and sugar was burnt.

Great view and good service. Visit the restaurant as the sun is setting and you will not be disappointed. The food and the price you pay for the food was disappointing but offset by the views and service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Different Pointe of View is different only because of the superb view of Phoenix which makes you want to forget the shortcomings of the restaurant. The welcome is cold - even brutal "Do you have a reservation"? The restaurant dining room has a smell - it smells of stale food and unwashed carpet - it is actually horrible. Although the service is efficient it is too fast - I come here to relax, not to be rushed. The food is good, but not extraordinary. The waiter assumed I did not know anything about the wine I was ordering, which was rather an unwelcome addition to the evening. Overall, this restaurant is at best average. I will not consider it again in my trips to Phoenix.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Different Pointe of View at Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort also viewed

 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Different Pointe of View at Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Different Pointe of View at Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.