We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view and great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Different Pointe of View at Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort

Different Pointe of View at Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort
11111 North 7th Street, Phoenix, AZ 85020-1176 (North Mountain)
602-866-6350
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Different Pointe of View at Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 2,570 Restaurants in Phoenix
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: North Mountain
Cross street: 7th Street, 3/4 mile south of Thunderbird Rd.
Description: Poised 1,800 feet above the Valley of the Sun, Different Pointe of View offers guests breathtaking views second only to the outstanding regional American cuisine that features fresh local and organic ingredients. The restaurant's mountaintop location and floor to ceiling windows provide stunning views of the desert landscape, the city's twinkling lights in the distance and Arizona's brilliant sunsets. No restaurant in the state has a longer streak of consecutive AAA four-diamond awards and Sunset Magazine named it one of the top 10 mountaintop restaurants in the nation. Valley residents have come for years to celebrate birthdays, anniversaries, romantic evenings or just treat themselves to one of the most unique Arizona experiences. The Terrace Room Lounge, next to the restaurant, features one of the largest patios and a nine foot fire pit on the cliff side
Bowie,MD
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Great view and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Our company rented out the top room for a work reception. The menu was limited to a beef dish, salmon dish, pasta dish, and passed hors d'ourves. All of the food served was outstanding! The view while dining is almost as spectacular as the food.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    166
    58
    18
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Birthday Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

View of Phoenix is spectacular. Food is delicious. Service is top-notch!
Driver who took us to the top of the mountain was skilled. Excellent experience in every way.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Celebrate with Style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Our family decided to celebrate a 98th birthday with a visit to Different Pointe of View. What a fortuitous choice! From the van ride up the mountain to our trio of servers, fabulous food and the specially prepared birthday cake, the night could not be better. The food matched the spectacular night view of Phoenix. All those in our large family party enjoyed the evening and are already planning for a 99th yr celebration at this fine venue.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
1 review
“It was "eh"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Hubby made reservations based on his online research. I have celiac disease and also have food sensitivities to dairy, soy and corn so research is essential to every dining experience. It was our first vacation in 11 years and we decided to kick off the romance at this restaurant. We had 7:30pm reservations. Little did we know that in AZ it's dark at 7:30pm. We walked into the restaurant and it was PITCH DARK INSIDE the restaurant! Forget about the views out the huge windows because as I said, the sun had already set. We had to WAIT even though 90% of the restaurant was empty and then we were stuck in a corner table. The server was very arrogant and treated my questions about the menu items in a very condescending manner. Food was satisfactory. Small portions and nothing spectacular. To be fair, we are from NY so we are not easy to impress. Thankfully our trip only went up from here. Don't waste time or money at this place...at least not at night for sure!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porter, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Breakfast & Dinner Options good choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

They do a really good breakfast, either order off the menu or eat at the buffet which I enjoyed. Dinner was excellent, had a flat iron steak which was great cooked perfectly, suggest you make reservations if the hotel is booked or there is a large golf tournament.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Different Pointe of View at Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Different Pointe of View at Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Different Pointe of View at Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.