We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT FOOD AND STAFF!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maizie's Cafe & Bistro

Maizie's Cafe & Bistro
4750 North Central Avenue, Suite B-1, Phoenix, AZ
602-274-2828
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #337 of 2,668 Restaurants in Phoenix
Cuisines: Bistro
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD AND STAFF!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

On the light rail and near Camelback and Centrai, this local eatery serves yummy food in a conducive, casual atmosphere. When temperatures permit, dining al fresco is a bonus. The wait staff is always terrific, and everything I have eaten on the menu is delicious. It has AMAZING tuna salad!! Saturdays and Sundays, brunch is served.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    22
    3
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plantation, Florida
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“sunday brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

talked hubby into a drive and we ended up coming back for a second time-loved the burgers-we ended up having breakfast breakfast pizza-oh boy delish-sausage cheese tomato and your choice of 2 eggs-$3 bloody marys-our server was friendly and helpful-oh killer blood orange martini!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The tv didn't let us down”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Saw the restaurant on a local PBS food review show and was finally in the area so we gave it a shot. Service was good, our waiter was never far whe needed, had app's and burgers which were very tastey, large wine selection and other drinks as well for what I would say is a fairly small location, maybe 15 tables inside and another 10 out. The staff were all helpful and everything appeared clean. I'm sure we'll stop again if we're in the area.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Maizie's has gone downhill.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

I have going to Maizie's consistently for about a year now on Monday nights. We usually have a good sized group and initially service and the orders were fine. It appears now that we wait over an hour to get in and the orders are messed up or we are not served at all in a timely fashion. i brought this up to the owner and the owners father recently and was told they have a hard time serving larger groups. To top the experience off correct change was not brought back from the bill. I unfortunately will not be returnng for a bit.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“Is Maizie's going down hill??”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

Have been a loyal patron of Maizie's for a number of years and I am wondering why my meal today was so mediocre. And it was cold. And the sorriest thing was we waited 30minutes after we ordered. When I asked where our food was I was told mine was done and they were waiting on my friend's meal. Unacceptable to serve cold food.

What I notice is that when the owners/managers dad is mot there, service is not as good as it should be.
They have great food and I love Maizie's but service has really slipped.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maizie's Cafe & Bistro also viewed

 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Maizie's Cafe & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maizie's Cafe & Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.