We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't take small children here!!!!!!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Phoenix Art Museum

Phoenix Art Museum
1625 N. Central Ave., Phoenix, AZ 85004 (Encanto)
602-257-1222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 129 attractions in Phoenix
Type: Art Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: One of the largest art museums in the Southwest, the museum houses a permanent collection of some 16,000 works of art spanning the centuries and also includes a popular miniatures collection and a "Please Touch" children's gallery.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator, Wheelchair access
Riverside, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Don't take small children here!!!!!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This museum is not kid friendly. My husband will not be back again. We took our small children to the museum during the video game attraction, which was alright. However, we had a personal "security" guard follow us throughout the museum. It was very embarrassing! I felt like they were waiting for our children to do something wrong, so they could admonish us for bringing them in the first place. They have a small kid station upstairs with a color center, books, and puzzles, but we were even "stalked" there. PLEASE...take your children to a museum where they will actually feel welcomed!!!!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    92
    22
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Top shelf art museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Moved here from New York City, bit of a culture shock however my family was living here for years. Never went to the Art Museum until last fall. I have been back 3 times. Exhibits change and are refreshed. I went here for a few events too.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Good museum that's worth the visit...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Liked the selection of works and architecture of this museum. My wife and I have been to many and feel that this one is a good value for the admission. Recommended if you like museums in general.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Firefly room!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Typical museum, but the firefly room was worth the visit. Traveling arcade exhibit was cool too (my husband loved it). Check their website for free days/times to visit the museum.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Ooops!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Recently, on a short visit to Phoenix I had hopes of visiting a number of museums over a few days. Frankly, I was put off by the Phoenix Art Museum. Yes, it's easy to get to and parking is free, but they made the decision to put the bookshop after the fee entry station and that's just dumb. I like to use a visit to a museum shop to give me a better idea of the content of the collections and time I'll need to visit them. The free admission day - Wednesdays - may be the way to go. The staff I encountered seemed unfriendly; at least, they were unwilling to stop talking among themselves to ask if I needed information or assistance. I liked the grounds, but I went elsewhere.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phoenix Art Museum also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Phoenix Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phoenix Art Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Phoenix Art Museum to your Saves list