We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mother Daughter Exhibits” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phoenix Art Museum

Phoenix Art Museum
1625 N. Central Ave., Phoenix, AZ 85004 (Encanto)
602-257-1222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 129 attractions in Phoenix
Type: Art Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: One of the largest art museums in the Southwest, the museum houses a permanent collection of some 16,000 works of art spanning the centuries and also includes a popular miniatures collection and a "Please Touch" children's gallery.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator, Wheelchair access
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Mother Daughter Exhibits”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

The display's where beautiful went with my mother so it was special.The art and colorful murals on the wall was awesome learned alot of new information regarding the Indians.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    92
    22
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Essex England
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
432 helpful votes 432 helpful votes
“Wasn't for us at all.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Coming from Europe with galleries with huge exhibitions we found this display rather sparse and overall rather dull. There are some exceptional pieces but overall we wouldn't go again. It might work for you but we left hugely disappointed.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortson, GA
Top Contributor
297 reviews 297 reviews
104 attraction reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
“Outstanding, beautiful museum with wide-ranging, engaging exhibits”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

My wife & I visited the museum on 8/3, arriving first for a wonderful lunch at the onsite Pallette restaurant followed by two excellent one-hour docent tours. We thoroughly enjoyed everything about our 5-hour experience.

The exhibits were done beautifully in a variety of settings, enhanced by docent commentaries & answers to our many questions. A lot of the work was provocative, not necessarily something we could/would live with at home, but nevertheless fun to experience & think about.

We are fond of museums, & this is one of the best we have visited anywhere in the world. By all means take time to visit, include [free] docent tours, and do lunch in the Palette restaurant.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilmington, NC
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Contemporary Art Delight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Once we got over the expectation that the Phoenix Art Museum would try to present a broad spectrum of fine quality art through the eras—or at least a larger collection of Western art—we delighted in its contemporary collection. (In European/American art there was 1 Monet, 1 Delacroix, a Gilbert Stuart, some Remington sculpture, and lesser artists; Western Art was great but there wasn’t enough of it.) Nicely laid out with great elevator access for the disabled. Planned to eat lunch there, but summer hours had it closing early. Easily accessible via Light Rail at the McDowell stop. Stunning contemporary works were:
---“Extended Landscape Model for Total Reflective Abstraction” (Josiah McEtheny, 2004) with some 40 hand-blown glass objects on a large mirrored table that changed images depending on how you moved
---A 30-foot (?) tall woven Philip Glass portrait by photorealist Chuck Close from the 1960s/70s
---“Mike Kelley” (Jennifer Steinkamp, 200?), a constantly changing animated tree projected from 13 digital pieces on a wall some 30-foot square
---a 20- to 30-foot wide painting of a road into the desert (didn’t catch name/artist) that we nicknamed ‘the landscaped Mona Lisa’ for how it followed you as you followed it
---a completely darkened mirrored-wall room full of tiny LED hanging lights of changing colors people could walk through and explore with joy and fear (kids and adults alike intrigued)

Only complaint was that signage did not AT ALL accurately illuminate the works/artists. Curators need to do some BIG-TIME work to get this up to standard! For example, we were up close to one huge painting with a name like “Where’s Bob?” (can’t give you artist.) with no description whatsoever as I commented, “I know we have to be missing something.” When a guard saw us distancing ourselves backwards in confusion, he guided us through an exploration of the work, which turned out to be a depiction of the World Trade Center attack/loss of life. Without his help, we never would have seen and come to appreciate it!!!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Ok, but they don't like children”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

It's an ok museum. It doesn't compare to other museums in Phoenix nevermind places like HYC or Paris or Italy, but we use to enjoy it before we had children. The ONE time I went with my little ones the guards (different ones each time) just jumped all over them. Also they have been remodeling their kids area for months and months now.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phoenix Art Museum also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Phoenix Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phoenix Art Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Phoenix Art Museum to your Saves list