We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Buddy Holly Story” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arizona Broadway Theatre

Arizona Broadway Theatre
7701 W. Paradise Lane, Peoria, AZ 85382
623-776-8400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 27 Activities in Peoria
Type: Dinner Theaters, Performances
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Operating year-round, Arizona Broadway Theatre produces major musical theatre productions in its state-of-the-art venue, encompassing a wide spectrum of Broadway favorites. Currently in its eighth season, Arizona Broadway Theatre has become the highest attended live, year-round theatre in the Valley of the Sun. High-caliber performances are accompanied with Arizona Broadway Theatre's excellent dining service; show-only tickets can be purchased if desired. ABT offers a unique, elegant and sophisticated environment for holding a special event such as receptions, employee appreciation banquets, award ceremonies, trade shows, training sessions, holiday parties, birthdays, anniversaries, wedding receptions, showers, rehearsal dinners, and other social and professional celebrations. Call the box office to plan your theatre trip today!
Missoula, Montana, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The Buddy Holly Story”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

My wife and I have seen plays on Broadway, in London and several traveling Broadway productions in Spokane and this play was every bit as good as those if not better. This dinner theater's food was very good and the play was over the top. Very professional in every aspect.
They also had a cabaret session following the play in the lobby with some of the cast. What a hoot! They entertained us with their favorite songs which added a little more frosting to an otherwise outstanding cake.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    38
    11
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
naomimc
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Venue, Great Performance, Food...just so so”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We've been intending to attend a show here for awhile now, so recently took advantage and saw Buddy Holly. I must saying making reservations was beyond easy. We called and got great seats the same day. We attended a matinee midweek, so that may have contributed to the availability. We puchased dinner with our tickets. A couple of recommendations would have been helpful. First, if you are planning on eating, you DON'T have to be there when the meal begins, or you'll have a lot of downtime waiting for the show to start, about an hour to be exact. Second, I wouldn't do the dinner again. It just wasn't my style of food. I ordered the vegetarian choice which was a stuffed pepper, very heavy and rich. My daughter ordered the parmesan crusted salmon and I believe it may have been overdone. She didn't finish it. I think doing dessert and drinks would have been fine, unless you're looking for a four hour excursion. The venue and show was relly good and I would highly recommend it to anyone wanting to see a professional live show.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great evening!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

Attended my first show, "Buddy Holly," and thoroughly enjoyed the show. Performances were great. Did not have dinner but would probably do so on my next visit. Menu looks like it changes with the different shows. Clever menu entries. Drinks and desserts are offered to those seeing the show only. Can't wait to go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Harmony, Indiana
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Very nice venue for live theater.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Was fortunate to attend "Hello Dolly!" in February with my parents. We attended a matinee including dinner. Food was good, service was attentive Lovely space with tiered table seating. Performance was delightful. Would attend again if visiting this part of Arizona.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa Park, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Well performed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is a big step above local dinner theatre. I've been there twice and saw "The Drowsy Chaperone" and most recently "Buddy-The Buddy Holly Story". Both were professionally performed and enjoyable, especially the latter. So far they are 2 for 2.

The dinner part is not the standard buffet but a sit-down menu with Soup or Salad followed by one of four entrees (Salmon is the best IMO). Upgrades to Steak and other upscale choices is available for additional cost. Appetizers Dessert, and Drinks (including wine) are also optional for an additional cost. Service was prompt.

Tip: The tables are for 8 people or for 4. Select seats directly facing the stage, and since they are tiered, towards the front of the table for the best unimpeded view.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arizona Broadway Theatre also viewed

 
Peoria, Central Arizona
 

Been to Arizona Broadway Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arizona Broadway Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.