We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always good food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of On The Border Mexican Grill & Cantina

On The Border Mexican Grill & Cantina
7873 W Bell Rd, Peoria, AZ 85382-3803
602-247-7606
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #67 of 242 Restaurants in Peoria
Cuisines: Mexican, Grill
Restaurant details
Peoria, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Always good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We've eaten at this OTB two or three times in the last six months. The food is always good although not always served as hot as it could be. We have always had good service except once when our waitress had to help out with a large party that came in and I think she was overwhelmed and we're the ones that got forgotten. (The manager was hard to find also that day, but when contacted later we were reimbursed for our meal with coupons.) We like watching them make the tortillas fresh and the chips and salsa are always good. Even when the place looks busy the wait is not usually very long so that is a nice plus for this area.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    14
    10
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Tastey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

I had the grilled chicken tacos. They had a fajita flavor to them and were quite good. The chips came warm, which was a plus. The servers were very pleasant although towards the end of the meal it was tough to get the attention of ours. There were three of us in the party and nobody had anything negative to say about the food. Slightly altering one of the orders was no issue. We were accomidated graciously.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utica, New York
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent wait staff! Food made in front of you!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We all liked watching the tortillas being made in front of us, the Waiter made us all feel comfortable describing our selections as to the degree of heat of each dish, although a franchise, you felt like you were in a 5 star restaurant!!! Enchiladas, Tostados, and Fresh salsa made daily, Salsa has a kick!!!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Very good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Looking for a place for dinner & saw the building. Very pleasantly surprised at the good quality of the food. Would eat there again anytime.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern WA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Always get great food here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

This is the one place we can count on for great Mexican food! Food with flavor, and plenty of it! Our waitress was attentive and kept our drinks full; also plenty of chips and salsa. The salsa has a little bite to it, not the bland stuff you get at most places!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed On The Border Mexican Grill & Cantina also viewed

 

Been to On The Border Mexican Grill & Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage On The Border Mexican Grill & Cantina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.