We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A remote yet full feature getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunglow Ranch - Arizona Guest Ranch and Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Sunglow Ranch - Arizona Guest Ranch and Resort to your Saves list
Sunglow Ranch - Arizona Guest Ranch and Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   14066 South Sunglow Road, In the Chiricahua Mountains, Pearce, AZ 85625   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pearce
Rancho Santa Fe, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“A remote yet full feature getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Birds, birds, birds--everywhere. Including four huge, rather intimidating, domestic guard-geese. (The management cheats; there are feeders everywhere). That is the impression of Sunglow Ranch, sitting in the your own patio with a cool drink.
Situated in the foothills at the end of a remote road, Sunglow ranch is a very attractive small resort offering only a half-dozen or so large casita-style rooms. We stayed in Blue Heron, the largest. with a large sitting area and couch facing a fireplace. Our views were out toward the pond where deer wandered in at all hours. We also enjoyed an outdoor private patio.
There is a full size lap pool, hot tub, and a well-equipped fitness room. As warm as the weather was (early May), however, the pool was too cold for comfort.
Breakfast and dinner are served in a separate building. Table cloths and flowers. The food is excellent with three choices for dinner, changed every night. The local wine is very good. Breakfasts begin with berry tarts hot from the oven, followed by your choice from a full menu.
On order, for $12.50, the kitchen will pack a simple sandwich/wrap lunch with chips, cookie and fruit.
The reason for our visit, and probably yours as well, is to visit the Chiricahua National Monument, home to the Apaches, about forty minutes away. There are great hiking trails there, but most are somewhat rough. Bring a staff or buy one from the Ranch shop. And be sure to have a bird book with you and binoculars! (They sell books in the shop as well)
Another possibility is the Cochise Stronghold park across the valley to the west about forty minutes.
If you are a four-wheeler, there are jeep trails everywhere. A particularly enjoyable one was a long eight miles from the Cochise Stronghold to Dragoon along the base of the mountains.
There are horse rides available. I hate horses and they hate me. Enough said!
The only critical comment I can make is timing your visit. Early May is hot and dry. Check Accuweather before you reserve.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    12
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
38
114
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We stayed here in April 2014 for five nights. We could not have had a finer experience. Staff is mellow yet efficient and willing to help in whatever needs one might have.
Hiking, birding, visiting the fabulous Chiriqahua National Monument, or relaxing by the pool watching the deer cavort are among the many possibilities available at the ranch.
Highly recommended for those who like being out in beautiful country but maybe not in a tent.

Larry and MAH

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kentucky
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We recently stayed at Sunglow Ranch for two nights. We initially stumbled across it looking for a place to stay near the Chiricahua Mountains. We thought, "Well, this should do." Well, it more than "did" for us. Although a bit of a drive from Tucson, the ranch is really a lovely destination in itself. It is set at the base of the mountains and if you book one of the outside rooms (we stayed in Casa Grande) you have a lovely view of the surrounding grounds and mountains. The room was large but cozily decorated with a mix of antiques and traditional furnishings and even a fireplace. The bed was very comfortable with extra blankets and pillows as needed. L'Occitane amenities and a stocked mini-bar provided all we needed. The café on-site provided great breakfasts, packed picnic lunches, and multi-course dinners. Breakfast (try the huevos rancheros) and lunch (I liked the veggie wrap and ordered it twice) were fantastic. We even got homemade cookies. Dinner could have been a bit more inventive, but overall the food was good and they had local wines available for order. We traveled here to visit the Chiricahua Mountains, which are definitely spectacular, but the ranch with its "guard geese", 3 mile walking trail, firepit, and pool/Jacuzzi is also worth a visit in itself. Our highlight was horseback riding with Bucky (the wrangler) and Susan (our hostess). We went "off-trail" and got to feel like real cowboys. We are already fantasizing about our return trip.

Room Tip: We stayed in Casa Grande, but any of the rooms on that side of the resort offer spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Our family spent a week at Sunglow, and would have been thrilled to stay longer. This is the perfect place to unwind and recharge - just stepping on the property I felt the stress melt away. Gorgeous, peaceful setting; lovely, extremely accommodating, yet laid-back staff; delicious meals with plenty of choices; very comfortable rooms; and lots to do. Our kids (8 & 6) were in love with Sunglow (“Mommy, I want to live here!”). There was horseback riding (the best way to see the ranch), hiking, bocce ball, horse shoes, tree swings, pool and hot tub, evening campfires (with s’mores!), all kinds of wildlife to watch, and when they needed a break from the sun, a game room with movies, books and board games. Mostly they loved exploring, and with the open setting they could roam free while we looked on from the comfort of one of Sunglow’s many outdoor sitting areas. We took several day trips (Bisbee, Tombstone, hiking the Chiricahuas), but honestly, I would have been just as happy to chill out at Sunglow the entire time.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We had a family reunion with ages ranging from 6-80 and there was something for everyone: hiking, swimming, horse back riding, bird watching, stargazing, games, great food and so much more. The service was phenomenal. The staff was friendly and went over and above to make sure we were all happy. We can't say enough how beautiful the setting is - placed right at the foothills of the Chiricahua Mountains. The casitas are well decorated and welcoming. It was wonderful to light a fire in our room on a chilly night. We also enjoyed s'mores by the outside fire pit. The location is a great place to use as a home base to explore not only the Chiricahuas, but also Tombstone, Bisbee, Cochise Stronghold, ghost towns and the Amerind Museum among others. This is a secret jewel you shouldn't miss.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Casitas that faced the mountains. They had the best views by far. I would recommen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Great views of the mountains, exceptional service, good food, and a relaxing atmosphere made a perfect weekend. Even though this is off the "beaten path", it is well worth the time and drive. Highly recommended....

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful setting. Casitas are OK but not great. Good location if you want to hike the Chiricauas. They offer horseback riding.Big breakfast so we didn't even need lunch. Pool and hot tub.Nice for families. A good place to simply relax.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunglow Ranch - Arizona Guest Ranch and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunglow Ranch - Arizona Guest Ranch and Resort

Address: 14066 South Sunglow Road, In the Chiricahua Mountains, Pearce, AZ 85625
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Pearce
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pearce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunglow Ranch - Arizona Guest Ranch and Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 475 acres in the Chiricahua Mountains,a short drive south of the Chiricahua National Monument. This award-winning, hideaway guest ranch resort is surrounded by the 100,000 acre Coronado National Forest. Comfortable lodging and inspired dining. Dinner and breakfast from our menus are included in room rate. Dining guests welcome by reservation. Guest amenities include swimming pool and hot-tub, bocce and horseshoe courts, mountain bikes, private horseback trail rides and uniquely-decorated casitas with private patios and amazing mountain views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Sunglow Ranch - Arizona Guest Ranch and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunglow Ranch - Arizona Guest Ranch Hotel Pearce

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunglow Ranch - Arizona Guest Ranch and Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.