We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Came for the Canyon Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hualapai Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hualapai Lodge to your Saves list
Hualapai Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 Route 66, Peach Springs, AZ 86434   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Peach Springs
TX
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Came for the Canyon Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We had been told about the drive down into the canyon all the way to the Colorado river and decided to stay at the Lodge even though we were pulling a trailer. We were ready for nice long hot showers and a good night's sleep.

We were given a room next to the side exit as we have dogs. This put us at the far end from the restaurant but that was no big deal. Our room was spacious with 2 queens. The internet strength was low but adequate, even on the end. I did have to work for an hour or so with the availability of the internet (darnit!) and it was suitable for my needs.

Yes, the trains run all night and there is a crossing next to the hotel. But they do provide earplugs if it's an issue for you. Personally, I kind of enjoyed the rumble of the trains and the horn didn't disturb me too much.

The food was decent in the restaurant and they do have a complimentary Continental breakfast.

I would stay here again, especially if I were to do the road into the Canyon again - an excellent trip by the way!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    97
    59
    33
    20
See reviews for
75
88
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Another stay in our mammoth road trip brought us to the Hualapai Lodge Route 66 which on arrival looked very nice and was our first experience of native Indian hospitality.
We booked in with no problem and our room was spacious, clean and very nice. The lodge boats a gym and spa which we did not use but was a nice added extra. As this place is in the middle of nowhere we ate in the restaurant for dinner and breakfast, both of which were very nice and service was good too. My only gripe is that there is a freight train line that runs next to the lodge and is active 24 hrs a day, and the train drivers obviously find it amusing to blow the train horn every time they pass! There are ear plugs available at reception! This is also a dry hotel due to it being in an Indian reservation so if you want a beer make sure you stop at a gas station well before and stock up! All in all a nice place and probably the better of the ones around the area

Room Tip: If you want a beer buy well before as this is a dry hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I stayed here because I was taking the Hualapai River Rafting tour the next day. It was clean and about average for a 2 or 3-star hotel. Nothing spectacular but horrible, about on the level of a Motel 6 in my view.

There's nothing around for a few miles, so if you are looking for a place to stay it's a good choice for the night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shrewsbury
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed at the Hualapai Lodge for one night durng our trip. It was a pleasant surprise and is well worth staying at. We honestly thought the place was only a couple of years old as it is so clean and tidy and well looked after. I was to our surprise when we were told that it is over 10 years old!
The staff were helpful and the breakfast was the best on our travels you actually got propper cups and plates etc. Plenty of food and so very nice and relaxed.
Our room was quite large and very comfortable with everything you would need.
It does have a small pool, and a spa which we used after our long day, although it was cold in the pool!
The trains go right past the lodge, but that didn't bother us at all.......

It was great.

Room Tip: If you don't want to be woken up by the passing trains at night, its best to stay at the front o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastport, Maine
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

great prices and staff...made us feel very welcome...stayed for two nights...restaurant on site with great food and selctions...not much to do in the area unles driving 20 miles (and the town is dry) but it is greta to just unwind from all the city life...a nice ride before sunset give a very differnt perspective of the area..definately would stay again..

Room Tip: we had no problem with the so called train noises...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carefree, Arizona
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We spent one night here and enjoyed the lodge, the food was delicious and the morning included breakfast was huge! We came to the lodge from the Skywalk and their Ranch. We prepaid our room and booked a half day jeep trip into the canyon. The lodge was extremely clean, services efficient and pleasant. Our room was large and beautifully decorated and we had a lovely evening by the pool and hot tub.They do not serve alcohol so if you want wine, beer or hard liquor you will need to bring it with you. We took the jeep ride early the next morning. It was fabulous and I will write more in a separate review. If you are going to book a room and take the jeep ride....ask ahead for their package deal....it is great and saves $$$ over eating separately and signing for the jeep trip after you arrive.....The one drawback has been mentioned in previous reviews regarding the TRAIN schedules. Yes the trains run regularly and all night - they blow their whistles at the crossing near the lodge....They gave us ear plugs and we used them and slept like babies....Thanks to the Hualapai Indians for a wonderful stay at the Grand Canyon of the West.

Room Tip: Take the Ear Plugs, Use them and you should be fine ... the AC also helps...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This hotel is clean, and the rooms are nice. Nothing fancy, but certainly not bad at all. There is a restaurant and a gift shop downstairs with some really cool stuff.

The hotel is located in Peach Springs, which is the only place with a road that goes directly down to the Colorado River. That is a major plus, very cool.

The only downside to the hotel was the train that is nearby, but it didn't keep me from sleeping well.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hualapai Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hualapai Lodge

Address: 900 Route 66, Peach Springs, AZ 86434
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Hualapai Reservation > Peach Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Peach Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hualapai Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hualapai Lodge is a center of activity for Hualapai Tourism visitors. Hualapai Lodge in Peach Springs is situated on Historic Route 66, the longest stretch of highway left of the “Mother Road” of the 30’s and 40’s, and is the primary road through the Hualapai Nation. The lodge retains the flavor of the period when Route 66 was a main passage from East to West. Hualapai culture envelopes visitors as they pass through the doors of the Hualapai Lodge, featuring native Hualapai artwork on display, the specially crafted river-rock fireplace, and a nest of comfortable seating arrangements. The warm, inviting atmosphere encourages visitors to begin and end their days by sharing their personal adventures. The full service Diamond Creek Restaurant compliments the family friendly atmosphere with breakfast, lunch, and dinner service.Hualapai Lodge is the place where visitors launch many of their Grand Canyon West adventures. Whitewater rafting and boat tours originate daily from the Hualapai Lodge. Visitors can enjoy Native American arts and crafts, hiking, fishing, hunting and more from this location. The Hualapai Lodge is the starting point of a breathtaking drive on the only available road leading to the bottom of the canyon, just 19 miles from the Grand Canyon Hualapai Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hualapai Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hualapai Hotel Peach Springs
Hualapai Peach Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hualapai Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.