We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hualapai Lodge

Save Saved
You added Hualapai Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hualapai Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 Route 66, Peach Springs, AZ 86434   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Peach Springs
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Nice Stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I stayed here because I was taking the Hualapai River Rafting tour the next day. It was clean and about average for a 2 or 3-star hotel. Nothing spectacular but horrible, about on the level of a Motel 6 in my view.

There's nothing around for a few miles, so if you are looking for a place to stay it's a good choice for the night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    85
    53
    30
    20
See reviews for
66
75
6
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
shrewsbury
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed at the Hualapai Lodge for one night durng our trip. It was a pleasant surprise and is well worth staying at. We honestly thought the place was only a couple of years old as it is so clean and tidy and well looked after. I was to our surprise when we were told that it is over 10 years old!
The staff were helpful and the breakfast was the best on our travels you actually got propper cups and plates etc. Plenty of food and so very nice and relaxed.
Our room was quite large and very comfortable with everything you would need.
It does have a small pool, and a spa which we used after our long day, although it was cold in the pool!
The trains go right past the lodge, but that didn't bother us at all.......

It was great.

Room Tip: If you don't want to be woken up by the passing trains at night, its best to stay at the front o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastport, Maine
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

great prices and staff...made us feel very welcome...stayed for two nights...restaurant on site with great food and selctions...not much to do in the area unles driving 20 miles (and the town is dry) but it is greta to just unwind from all the city life...a nice ride before sunset give a very differnt perspective of the area..definately would stay again..

Room Tip: we had no problem with the so called train noises...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We spent one night here and enjoyed the lodge, the food was delicious and the morning included breakfast was huge! We came to the lodge from the Skywalk and their Ranch. We prepaid our room and booked a half day jeep trip into the canyon. The lodge was extremely clean, services efficient and pleasant. Our room was large and beautifully decorated and we had a lovely evening by the pool and hot tub.They do not serve alcohol so if you want wine, beer or hard liquor you will need to bring it with you. We took the jeep ride early the next morning. It was fabulous and I will write more in a separate review. If you are going to book a room and take the jeep ride....ask ahead for their package deal....it is great and saves $$$ over eating separately and signing for the jeep trip after you arrive.....The one drawback has been mentioned in previous reviews regarding the TRAIN schedules. Yes the trains run regularly and all night - they blow their whistles at the crossing near the lodge....They gave us ear plugs and we used them and slept like babies....Thanks to the Hualapai Indians for a wonderful stay at the Grand Canyon of the West.

Room Tip: Take the Ear Plugs, Use them and you should be fine ... the AC also helps...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This hotel is clean, and the rooms are nice. Nothing fancy, but certainly not bad at all. There is a restaurant and a gift shop downstairs with some really cool stuff.

The hotel is located in Peach Springs, which is the only place with a road that goes directly down to the Colorado River. That is a major plus, very cool.

The only downside to the hotel was the train that is nearby, but it didn't keep me from sleeping well.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilmer, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I loved this place: room large enough, great pool, great decor and really good food in restaurant. The attitude of the Hualapai Indians leaves a bit to be desired but I took this as simply a part of their culture and not as rudeness. The land is beautiful and the lodge, although in the middle of nowhere, is a really nice and affordable place to stay. The sound of the train didn't bother us, perhaps because we had a room on the highway side.
D. Kent in Texas

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the highway side so the train will be less loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were considering the 1 day white water rafting trip and with their strict no cancellation policy, were concerned about staying 2 hours away in Flagstaff (you never know i.e. bad alarm, car issue etc). We called the grandcanyon west prior to booking the trip and asked if there was a package deal and there was an unadvertised special, 2 adults, 2 kids, get a free room called the HRR special. We have 4 kids and received a discount on the other two children and were able to get connected rooms. The rooms were really a pleasant surprise, new decor, the continental breakfast was another good surprise, all 6 of us were happy. The manager held my briefcase during the day on the rafting trip, no issue. Like the movie My cousin Vinny, there is a train that passes thru in the middle of the night and blows a loud whistle. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Still looking for a hotel?
Travelers also viewed these Peach Springs hotels
Grand Canyon Caverns Inn 3.0 of 5 stars 83 reviews
View all 2 hotels in Peach Springs, ranked by popularity

Been to Hualapai Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hualapai Lodge

Address: 900 Route 66, Peach Springs, AZ 86434
Location: United States > Arizona > Hualapai Reservation > Peach Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Peach Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hualapai Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hualapai Lodge is a center of activity for Hualapai Tourism visitors. Hualapai Lodge in Peach Springs is situated on Historic Route 66, the longest stretch of highway left of the “Mother Road” of the 30’s and 40’s, and is the primary road through the Hualapai Nation. The lodge retains the flavor of the period when Route 66 was a main passage from East to West. Hualapai culture envelopes visitors as they pass through the doors of the Hualapai Lodge, featuring native Hualapai artwork on display, the specially crafted river-rock fireplace, and a nest of comfortable seating arrangements. The warm, inviting atmosphere encourages visitors to begin and end their days by sharing their personal adventures. The full service Diamond Creek Restaurant compliments the family friendly atmosphere with breakfast, lunch, and dinner service.Hualapai Lodge is the place where visitors launch many of their Grand Canyon West adventures. Whitewater rafting and boat tours originate daily from the Hualapai Lodge. Visitors can enjoy Native American arts and crafts, hiking, fishing, hunting and more from this location. The Hualapai Lodge is the starting point of a breathtaking drive on the only available road leading to the bottom of the canyon, just 19 miles from the Grand Canyon Hualapai Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Hualapai Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hualapai Hotel Peach Springs
Hualapai Peach Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hualapai Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.