We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nostalgic gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Canyon Caverns Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Peach Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grand Canyon Caverns Inn
Save
You added Grand Canyon Caverns Inn to your Saves list
Mile Marker 115, Route 66, PO Box 180, Peach Springs, AZ 86434   |  
Hotel amenities
Arizona
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nostalgic gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

If you are my age (went to sleep away summer camp in the 40's & 50's) this is the place for you! Off the beaten tourist track (thank goodness), so they really try harder. Very friendly staff. Rooms are being updated as an on-going project. Don't expect a modern motel with all the frills, this is the way it used to be when Ma and Pa traveled Route 66 in the station wagon, kids and dog! Enjoyed the buffet meals up at the restaurant (a mile up their private road by the Cave entrance). We spent a week here this summer with an N.A.U. grandparent/grandkid group, and are looking forward to going back after Labor Day. If you live in Arizona and are bored with the usual "stay-cation" places, give this a try!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms that has been updated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    22
    28
    14
    14
See reviews for
32
19
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Slept overnight in the Grand Canyon Caverns Inn Cave Suite! There are the typical Rt. 66 Motel rooms and then there is the..."CAVE" Everybody was excited and or pensive with anticipation about the idea of sleeping overnight in a cave - and I'd say their expectations were met - mine were. I got a lot of "Oh-ohs" and questioning looks when we pulled up to the Cavern Inn - out front were old rusting cars on display and an office - which must have been an old gas station at one time. The place is sun faded and needs "sprucing" up. The young girl inside was really very nice and directed us to drive around back and up the trail to the Cavern's Visitor Center entrance - a building about a 1/2 mile from the Inn on Route 66.

The cave is fascinating! The Cave has always been a main tourist attraction on Rt. 66. Back in the day they winched individuals down on a rope - hand them several matches, a kerosene lantern and let them explore it on their own. It's easier than that now. We loaded our luggage into the elevator and took it down - 200 some odd feet to a paved walkway that led us to our "room". There are several large expansive rooms in the Cave but only one has room for an overnight adventure.

Getting down to the Cave is more modern with an elevator, paved walkways, and electrical lighting. During the 50s/60s - (nuclear threat/cold war days) Civil Defense stored massive amounts of food and water supplies in there - which still remains! They've got dinosaurs, and other guests that inadvertently made it down, but never made it back up. There is an 50 seat amphitheater down there set up for movies, or listening to a Jazz Band - something they're working on. The the cave is quite large - no worries for claustrophobics.

This is no Carlsbad Caverns - no stalactites, no dripping water (It is a very rare dry cave) no bats, no creepy crawlers - the temperature is constant and quite comfortable. Best pure air quality in America! The paved path from the elevator leads you around crystal covered walls and rough huge boulders to the Suite. It's a wooden walled raised platform with two queen beds a couch that opens as sleeper, coffee table, dinette, and entertainment center with TV (no cable - no reception) and a DVD player. We watched a sci-fi thriller about - what else, but - "The Cave". Honestly they could do a bit better with a wider selection of DVDs - you might consider bringing your own. There is an old stereo with LPs that I overlooked until we were leaving (how did I not see it?) - it would have been fun to put a few records on. The amenities included a micro wave, and small refrigerator, coffee maker - and electrical outlets (I had to add that).

If your happy with a motor home type bathroom - cramped shower stall, sink, and toilet, then you'll be happy. I was a little disappointed with the towels as they were bit worn. The water pump is loud if you use the shower. I found it more comfortable to walk back to the elevator and take it up to the visitor center. My wife and I used the bathroom facility there in the visitor center. It's a short walk and the pathway is lit.

You keep some lighting on at night if you want - or - you could like us, just turn everything off to see how dark, "dark" really is. You can explore the whole cave by yourself - all they ask is you stay on the paths, and not "handle" or touch the crystals.

The suite could use some sprucing up and made better than it is. The bathroom left something to be desired - but it's adequate enough that our girls were okay with taking a shower there.

Our family really enjoyed an excellent steak dinner in the older styled cafeteria. We could have had "room service" but it was easier to eat "upstairs". Cody was a gracious host. He served our food to us - opened up the bar and sent us back down with all the candy and beer we wanted. btw...Cody made sure we knew he was on call for anything we wanted at any hour - just like on a cruise ship - call and he'll answer.

Cody, and the super sweet manager, Laura, were absolutely kind, nicest people you'd ever want to work with. I found my interaction with Alexis a bit hard - ask for Laura or Cody. You need to stay on top of your reservation though - a deposit was required but not charged at the time I made it. I called back several weeks later and there was some confusion about our reservation, fortunately our night was still available.

The Cave Suite is not about staying in an ultra modern luxury hotel. It's about doing something different and unique. Overall the place is a little bit worn - not run down, but comfortable. I felt the cost was on the shy side of expensive - but I will say the experience and adventure was very well worth it. Seriously, you should consider staying there if you're going to the Hualapai's Sky Walk - or just traveling Route 66. How many friends do you know that can you say slept overnight in a cave?

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff uk
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We wanted to stay about 10 miles down the road in a nice modern hotel with a pool and all the comforts, but they were full, so we keep on driving until we came across the Caverns inn, it was late 6.30ish, I loved the old cars out the front, and to me it was typical route 66 stuff, theres a small store with a few bits and bobs, the dinner was closed it shuts early 5 ish. we drove around the back to our room 36, which in all fairness was very tired, the wife wanted to go but I convinced her to stay, it had all you needed for the night and it was clean and tidy, We had a walk around the motel and it all very tired, there is a pool but its not been used for years, but 50 yrs ago it must of been busy, with over 40 rooms here, but for tonight I could only see 3 rooms being used. we bought a the last of the bread rolls and ham from the store and that was our dinner. The power socket in the bath room only works when the light is on as we trying to charge phones and cameras etc, there is no signal any way, I had a good nights sleep and the wife not so good but she did survive the night(she watches to many crime shows). we left early go get to the canyon and left the key with the maid. looking back now it was one of the most memorable nights of my 3 week road trip, and I would do it again, Americana at it best, you got to go there.

Room Tip: I think there all the Same
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metairie, Louisiana, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

There really should be another Tripadvisor listing just for the cave. When we first drove up, we were scared at the choice we made; the motel you could see was rundown ... but we drove around the back to meet Cody and he brought us into a very nice gift shop/cafe where we went into an elevator that we had to close with 2 sets of doors. We then went down 25 stories into the cave.

It had a few lights so you could see where you were going, and he gave us a private tour. We then went onto the area that was built up with 2 beds and a sofabed ... enough to sleep all six of us. It has been featured in a television documentary; and it is one of the 10 most unusual places to stay. here were DVDs to select from, and the consensus was "The Cave."

It was not a luxury hotel (of course) ... but it had comfortable beds and no insects can live in the cave. It was comfortable and the service from Cody was excellent. The cave was ours all evening; when it was time for bed, we turned out the only light and you could not see your hand in front of your face. It was an experience we'll never forget and we're very glad we did this.

When it was time to eat dinner, they offered to bring it up to us or allow us to eat below -- we ate in the cafe. Very nice .. the entire cafe to ourselves ... we ordered ahead of time after making the reservation. We could have anything to drink and Cody gave us two baskets of snacks we could take up to the room. He was available all evening for anything we needed.

The cons -- the bathroom had a trickly water supply and the plumbing made noise (but it was interesting to hear in the cave) -- but we were below ground in a cave so the fact that they even had it was great. The bathroom was more like the kind of bathroom you would see in a trailor, but an easy 1-minute walk to the elevator brought you to a tremendous bathroom above ground all to yourself.

I would stay there again just to take someone else just for the experience. Wouldn't have missed it. (When you make a reservation, ask for Laura -- she is very nice. We called back to order our food and someone else answered who was a bit rude when she could not find our reservation.)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Based on some of the reviews we were expecting something pretty dreary, but this place is fine. The hotel has clearly been there for at least 50 years, but the rooms were clean and they have been making repairs.

The building with the office is overly kitschy and the antique cars out front are in serious need of repair, but ignore all that and get a good night's sleep, if that is all you need. It's a long way to anywhere else. Many people are staying here before hiking into Havasupai canyon. This is much nicer than the tent will be, although the scenery isn't.

The one problem is the food, and lack of it.

The "restaurant" is back at the cavern, a half mile away. The food there is pretty poor and they close at 5:00 pm. So eat before you get here or bring it with you.

There are snacks in the office if you are desperate. There is also an ice maker with free ice.

Room Tip: Some rooms have refrigerators, so ask for one if you need it. Starting the hike to Havasupai with c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed in The Cavern Suite. It was neat staying in the caverns at night. There's definitely a difference between quiet and night and dead quiet. It's just a little wooden, walled in micro-suite. There's not much amenities. There's two beds, a table, a few chairs, a sofa, a TV, and a bathroom. The place was filthy though. It looked and felt like none of the carpets, bed sheets, and sofa cushions were cleaned or vacuumed for years. The bathroom was filthy. I had to clean out the previous guests pubic hairs from the shower. There was barely any water pressure. It came out like a trickle which made showering next to impossible. And when the water did come on, the pump was broken so it made the loudest racket. The upside is we had the run of the cave at night. And the service (while family run) was nice. They didn't get everything perfect, but they cared and tried and that makes all the difference. I wouldn't stay there two nights in a row, or even stay again; however, I'm glad I went. It was a memorable experience and I would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: There's only one suite in the caves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita, CA
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
232 helpful votes 232 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

No, this is not luxury. This is a basic motel on route 66 and the closest to the turnoff for the Supai Village parking lot 65 miles away. It's fairly clean although they need to re-caulk the shower. There aren't many stations on the television and there are no pools, but it is the only hotel in the area without a train running behind it (the other one hands out earplugs.)

However, the restaurant is only open 11 am- 5 pm!!!???? You have to travel to the other lodge in Peach Springs (which granted is more upscale even with the train) to eat. This cost $85 but I would call and see if you could negotiate since only two rooms were full the night we were there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Canyon Caverns Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canyon Caverns Inn

Address: Mile Marker 115, Route 66, PO Box 180, Peach Springs, AZ 86434
Location: United States > Arizona > Hualapai Reservation > Peach Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Peach Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 48
Also Known As:
Grand Canyon Caverns Hotel Peach Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Canyon Caverns Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.