We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was a dry cavern” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Canyon Caverns Tours

Grand Canyon Caverns Tours
Mile Marker 115, Route 66, Peach Springs, AZ 86434
928 422-4565
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Thailand
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Was a dry cavern”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This was a interesting cavern, but being a dry one, there was not too many interesting things to see. The stories about the bobcat being trapped in the cave and how it was discovered, was interesting. You can stay overnight at a cost of $550 per night.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    17
    4
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Ghost Tour”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This is advertised as a two hour tour, but it was over in one hour. That's the first complaint. The young lady guiding us had no experience, and was a dud. We spent a lot of time in the suite the owner wants to rent to tourists, which had nothing to do with the cave. We encountered no ghosts, no noises, no touches, nothing. They handed out little gizmos which were supposed to pick up a presence, but nothing. I understand that ghosts cannot be programmed to appear, however the guide should have told stories of past encounters at least? After half hour, she took us to the bunk house up out of the cave (another sleep-over the owner wants to rent out, hmmmm?). That was another dud, no ghosts, no stories, nothing. I think this is overpriced, and not well rehearsed.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, AZ
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Dissapointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

In a state with Kartchner Caverns and a region with Carlsbad Caverns this was a dissapointment. There really isn't much to the cave and a lot of it has been destroyed over the years. To make up for that they have a lot of stories about the cave. Some are obviously false. That leaves you wondering about the others. You have to go if you are doing Route 66. Just don't miss going to the better caves in the region.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great Cavern Tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

On our way from Las Vegas to the Grand Canyon we decided to take the Route 66 historic loop and it was great. It was nice to get off the interstate and enjoy some wonderful desert views. We stopped at the Caverns on a whim and it was worth it. The tour lasts an hour and you see many interesting sites from a giant Ground Sloth to a mummified bobcat to old civil defense gear. The tour guide was funny and knew a lot. We had our 3 children with us and they liked the tour too. Nice break on the way to the Grand Canyon.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Great underground attraction (bring a sweater!)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Like another reviewer, we visited the caverns after seeing them on Billy Connelly's Route 66 show. The caverns have a lot of history and interesting stories attached to them. The tours happened every half an hour so factor that in when you are planning your day. Our tour guide was a young guy and his jokes weren't very funny but he tried hard to engage everyone, especially as a number of people didn't seem to speak English. The idea of staying overnight in the cavern didn't appeal to me but there is apparently a long wait to even get a reservation so keep that in mind if you want to stay there. This is not an attraction if you can't walk far or have trouble with steps. Also - bring a sweater as it's very cool down there.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Canyon Caverns Tours also viewed

Peach Springs, Hualapai Reservation
Peach Springs, Hualapai Reservation
 

Been to Grand Canyon Caverns Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Canyon Caverns Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.